We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centralized perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off and Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #89 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Centralized perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Love the non chain hotel feel. Very unique for sure. We loved how close we were to it all. We saw and heard a bit of everything each time we stepped out the front door. So why we came.
Thank you for being a huge wealth of knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear WinLPark,

I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you found our non-chain environment comfortable. We take pride in delivering a comfortable and enjoyable hospitality experience in the heart of San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your candid remarks and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    227
    102
    36
    34
See reviews for
97
241
49
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Warwick is located in a central area - close to the BART trains and MUNI buses/trains - so it is convenient for getting around the city and the entire Bay Area (you can take the BART to Oakland and Berkeley). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not try the restaurant/bar, but it appears popular and they give you a 20% off coupon when you check in. However, be aware that the hotel is dated and our room (1 queen bed) was small. Some of the guest rooms are under construction - so if you plan on being in the room during the day - you should ask to be put on a quiet floor. The room was mostly clean. Very small lobby/public area. The "business center" is really just one computer in the lobby. The decor feels very antique/B&B... if this is your style, you may like it here... I would suggest calling the front desk before booking a room. It sounded like they were giving better rates over the phone than what I saw online. Or book through Priceline, like we did, and we were happy to find out that wireless internet access was included in our payment. Note also that the location "lower Nob Hill" is quite different than Nob Hill (which is a fancy, mostly residential area). Lower Nob Hill and the nearby Tenderloin neighborhood are both a little rough around the edges. Powell is the nearby high street (tram, BART stop, shops, etc.) and many of the surrounding neighborhoods have good restaurant choices for a local dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear RoadtripReviews,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We have just finished two model rooms in preparation for a renovation planned for the end of the year. We trust the work did not have an impact on your stay. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences. I would like to point out that we have a range of room types and many of our rooms are larger. If you need more space consider upgrading to a larger room (note: we do offer an Upgrade Package here on Tripadvisor). We appreciate that you pointed out our convenient location right in Union Square. Again, thank you for your comments and for your patronage. We hope to see you, again, in the future.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I would recommend the Warwick for anyone going to San Fran. The staff was very helpful especially with tourists. We only had one problem, we were put in a room with two twins instead of a queen size bed, but this was fixed the following day and we were given free wifi for the rest of our stay. The queen size room was a great size, not cramped at all. The location was amazing, close to everything and there was a tourism company right beside that has Alcatraz tickets for sold out days.

Room Tip: Corner Queen Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear DRNolin1212,

Thank you for the recommendation. We appreciate that you would take the time to share your thoughts and comments with us. I was disappointed to learn there was an issue with your room type upon arrival. Thankfully, we were able to correct this the next day. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience. We hope that you get a chance to visit from Vancouver, again, in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first time to San Francisco, and the location of this hotel couldn't have been much better. It seemed to be walking distance to just about everywhere we wanted to go, and the valet parking was crucial in a city where parking is a nightmare. We didn't take advantage of the bar/restaurants on site, but the rooms were plenty spacious and decorated with a nice, older style (while not appearing old or out of date). Comfortable beds. Excellent, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bart W,

It was great to hear that we could be part of a wonderful first trip to San Francisco. Thank you for pointing out our very central location and excellent staff. Maybe next time you can visit our restaurant for breakfast or dinner. A little tip; we offer a discount for dinner and brunch to guests who book directly through the hotel. We look forward to your next visit to San Francisco and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Warwick is starting to look it's age in a few areas but it is clean and the rooms are comfortable as are the beds, of course being in such a great location in downtown San Francisco you are not going to be able to leave your windows open at night to get some fresh air just due to city noise. Rooms were reasonable in space and being an older hotel had no closet space but a large antique wardrobe is provided along with other antique looking furniture in the room which I think looks really good, bathroom was a little on the smaller side but no big deal, I've seen in other reviews that clients had a problem with the water, I also had this but it was not so bad only without water for a couple of hours and had already showered and changed, would have been a pain if I hadn't though. Not sure if all rooms are the same but water pipe noises from other rooms were also common, toilets flushing pipes whistling that kind of think. Didn't try the restaurant always seemed to go out and at breakfast for the price they charge $12.95 I think for continental, just walk on the street and you will see and find lots of coffee shops, bakery's and diners for a lot less money. Couple of other small problems which were no big deal but however did happen. T.V. was not working for two days, mini bar in room was never re stocked all week. As I said it is a great location and you can walk pretty much to anywhere of interest, or take a cable car but value for money on this trip it was certainly not, can't blame the hotel I guess for this, there was a fairly big convention in town and also the America's Cup had started so I guess it is supply and demand as I notice their prices for the next few weeks are at half of what I paid, just doesn't make you feel good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear eerzaweepieanbovril,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I was disappointed to learn of some of the issues you experienced during your stay. We are planning a renovation for the end of the year and will be addressing some of the concerns listed, such as the water pipe noise and adding air conditioning. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences. Thank you for pointing out our excellent location. We hope that you will choose us if your future travels include San Francisco. We appreciate your time in posting a review and your patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel had there boiler go out and we were without hot water for a day. They worked very hard to make a bad situation tolerable. The hotel staff went out of there way to satisfy the needs of all the guests. This is a older hotel but but the location and care of their guests make it a place I will be coming back to.

Room Tip: Corner room with lots of natural light was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Murdena1

We appreciate that you would take the time to share your thoughts with us. Unfortunately, we did have a hot water problem during your stay. In this case the solution was not a repair, but rather, a new boiler. As you can imagine, this was not an easy task to complete in a short period of time. Thankfully, we now have a new boiler. I appreciate your comments regarding the efforts of the staff to make the best of a difficult situation. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you, again.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

While the Warwick was a smaller property than I expected, it exceeded my expectations in all ways. As an older, classic hotel it had older fixtures and decorating, but it was clean, comfortable, nicely appointed, welcoming and very nice in all aspects. My friends and I had a junior suite (slept three) and the beds were comfortable and even had 2 bathrooms...a great thing for 3 women!

The Warwick has good rates (considering the market in San Francisco), its location near Union Square is central for upscale shopping and on-your-doorstep transportation options. The staff, especially Glenn and Ben, were helpful, welcoming, and very accommodating. I'll come back to the Warwick for sure.

Room Tip: The junior suite was very nice. Overlooked the alley way, though, so be prepared for a little bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear HappyRetiree721

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I was happy to see that we exceeded your expectations. We strive to provide a comfortable and enjoyable hospitality experience in the heart of San Francisco. I was especially happy to read that our staff was able to make such a positive impression during your stay. I will be certain to share your comments with Ben, Glenn and the entire team. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you, again, for your thoughts and comments. We appreciate your time in posting a review and your patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#83 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.