We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief but superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off and Free WIFI
Ranked #85 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Akron, Ohio
1 review
“A brief but superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I just stayed two-days in the Warwick San Francisco Hotel and we enjoyed it completely. This is a small hotel situated within easy walking of Union Square, several restaurants and major shopping in the heart of the City. The corner room we had (708) was on the top floor of the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable with a fine bed and most adequate bathroom and shower. Check-in was efficient and the bellmen were quick and helpful. In fact, every one of the staff of the Warwick was incredibly helpful, from the desk clerks to the waitstaff in the accommodating and excellent hotel restaurant, to the chambermaids. All these people made us feel extremely welcome and addressed all our questions and needs with patience, politeness and thoroughness. Parking in front of the Warwick (we had a rental car) was on a busy street but there always seemed to be a space available. The bellmen were ready to assist with luggage when we arrived and left. Valet parking was $37/night plus tax, but the cost was far less than the charge at other hotels elsewhere in the City and extremely convenient; the bellmen had our car ready in 15 minutes or less when we called for it. There is no question that my wife and I will first contact the Warwick when we visit San Francisco again. The staff and the hotel itself were gems in our opinion.

Room Tip: We liked our corner room on the top (7th) floor -- comfortable and large with less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear William L,

We appreciate that you would take the time to share your comments with us. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and would be willing to return. It was especially nice to see that you found all of our staff to be helpful and accommodating. We think they are “gems”, too, and lucky to have such a great group of people working with us. Thank you, again, for your time and for your patronage. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you to Warwick San Francisco Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    221
    100
    36
    33
See reviews for
94
234
48
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel has a great location but the decor is somewhat dated and the net curtains are dirty. Bedding was really nice got a really good nights sleep. Bathroom a little weird with sink in the room but overall a good quality stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here three nights in middle of May. Excellent staff & service plus lovely food - breakfast & evenings meals. Only two blocks from Union Square where Macys is located. Be aware there is a charge for internet access of $11 a day. Also the hotel borders Taylor Street which you should avoid from dusk onwards as many beggars on the streets. Probably harmless but I felt a little nervous. We ate evening meals in the hotel to save being out too late and had amazing food with lovely service. Front desk staff were great fun - especially Thomas. We stayed on the fourth floor and found that the double glazed windows were effective to shut out street noise. Paid £384 for Deluxe Queen Room without breakfast and seeing what other people paid - I am a little annoyed - glad I argued for free wifi though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear NottinghamRed,

Thank you for talking the time to share your thoughts with us. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. It was especially gratifying to hear that our staff was able to make such a positive impression, especially Thomas. I will be certain to share your comments with him and the entire Front Office team. It was, also, nice to see that you were able to dine with us for Breakfast and Dinner. Our Restaurant, La Scene Café & Bar, is a great choice for wonderful food and genuine service. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you to Warwick San Francisco Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at The Warwick because of a Travelzoo promotion. The location is very convenient, since it is two blocks from Union Square and the Powell St Cable Car route in one direction, and about 4 blocks from Market Street (Powell St BART station, MUNI buses and street cars). $2 streetcar ride to the Ferry Building, AMAZING Farmers Market was happening there the day I visited (Thursday; also on Saturdays). My only complaint is that the double-glazed windows really didn't do enough to shut out the street noise (and alley next to my room; I was on the fifth floor!). Probably a technical way to fix. Overall, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Havefun54,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I was happy to see that we were able to make such a positive impression during your stay. I do apologize about the outside noise issue. We are planning a renovation for later this year and I will make certain to investigate opportunities to improve on the noise levels. We hope that you will be visiting, again, and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Warwick San Francisco Hotel. Thank you, again, for your time and your patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

arrived from airport and were checked in very smoothly, room was fine, clean and tidy, nice bed linen and had a nice quaint feel to it, we loved it,.
staff on the desk were very helpful, and the hotel is in a fabulous location near union square and walking distance to all amenities, china town, the wharf, the shops, union square. we even walked to height ashbury and spent the day there and in the Golden Gate Park. Famous trams were a short walk too.

all in all a very nice hotel, in a fabulous location in san Francisco, we enjoyed our 5 days

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear CathS1,

It is wonderful to have such great feedback, especially coming from a Top Contributor on Tripadvisor. I was happy to see that we were able to provide a great start to your month long California adventure. We appreciate that you would mention our central San Francisco location and, especially, our great staff. I hope to be able to visit the UK in the future and promise to check on your posts for advice. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back. If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you for your time and your patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Despite a snafu with our reservation (we booked for May, but they entered our reservation for March), we really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and had what we needed. The location was fantastic, in the theater district and just blocks from Union Square Park. We visited the restaurant/bar numerous times, and it was excellent. The only issue would be the noise at night coming from the main road right out front. We nabbed a special deal for this place ($99 a night), which was just incredible for the value - I don't think this hotel is usually so inexpensive, so we lucked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location of this hotel makes it the ideal location for all means of transportation in San Francisco. Three easy walking blocks from Union Square where you can catch the hop on hop off, cable car down the street, and restaurants too many to mention. Small enough to make you feel glad that you chose it. A little dated in appearance but after all you are not buying it. Great beds, clean bathrooms, and feeling of old elegance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear booksVa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I was impressed to see that you have posted 96 entries since 2009. It means a lot to have such a positive review from someone as well traveled as yourself. If I can ever be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome your to Warwick San Francisco Hotel.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick
Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#90 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick San Francisco Hotel, an elegant and popular choice among downtown hotels lies in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable theater district, just two blocks west of Union Square and the famed San Francisco cable cars, world-class shopping and dining. Featuring some of the most elegant San Francisco lodging accommodations, the Warwick San Francisco Hotel offers 74 rooms including 16 suites that are tastefully appointed in the style of Louis XVI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.