We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own San Francisco 'pad'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steinhart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Steinhart to your Saves list
Steinhart
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   952 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Your own San Francisco 'pad'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We recently spent 11 days at the Steinhart and really enjoyed our stay there. It is great to be able to do some cooking for yourself, if you want to, and to get the feel of being a SF resident. The hotel is historic. This means old. Mostly this is a good thing, if you like your accommodation to have character and this hotel has this by the bucketful. If you want on site fitness centres and 24 hour room service, this hotel is not for you.

We had a problem with the shower on our first day and were moved from our studio apartment on the sixth floor to a suite on the fifth floor for several nights and then to a one bedroom unit on the fourth floor. All rooms felt spacious, although some of the hallways were dark. The staff responded quickly to the initial issue and were helpful and proactive during the rest of our stay. The larger rooms have real beds and a murphy bed, so you can sleep four people. In the studio units, there is only the murphy bed, which is adequate - just. Kitchens have all the appliances you might need but have only the minimum number of plates, cutlery, etc. Don't plan to prepare a four course banquet!

The hotel had just begun staffing the front desk at night, as well as during the day, so there should always be someone there if you need them. There can be some street noise if you are in rooms that face on to Sutter Street, particularly the lower floors. Management are obviously aware that this can bother some people and provided earplugs without being asked.

There are some beautiful details in this hotel but in some places it shows its age. As at least one other reviewer has noted, this is particularly so in the bathrooms. In spite of a few limitations, we found many reasons to like this place and would be delighted to return.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face on to Sutter Street are likely to be quieter, if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Steinhart, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review and share it with other travelers. It is very important for us to know the details of what made your experience at the Steinhart so special! Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next trip to San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    48
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
39
49
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clophill
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

You get a pretty good ides from the reviews here that The Steinhart is indeed authentic and full of character, but there is a price to pay for those features. We had a one bedroom apartment which was pretty dark and looked out onto a wall, so you feel somewhat disinclined to spend too long in the apartment on sunny SF days. My tip would be to pay a bit extra and get a higher room with some natural daylight (we were on the 4th floor)
The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the apartment clean and well
equipped but the bathroom in particular was very old fashioned.
The hotel is generally quiet, unless you are as unlucky as we were to get someone directly above who seems to move the furniture around every night and then run what sounded like a herd of elephants through the apartment, good job we had earplugs.
Location wise, not too bad but there is a bit of walking required to get into the heart of SF, and it is indeed hilly, so plenty of good exercise. Not much in the immediate area but SF itself is fantastic, love it
Do not go here if you are expecting the usual hotel luxurious which you actually good get at around the same price, but the apartments to give a bit more homely freedom.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitar S, Manager at Steinhart, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that your stay at The Steinhart was not as pleasant as you may have expected. I wished that you have informed the front desk about the issues, mentioned in your review, during your stay, so we could have addressed them accordingly. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

I hope that you will give the Steinhart another chance in future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally assist you with your reservation.

Sincerely,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights in San Francisco and stayed at the Steinhart throughout. I initially booked it on the basis of value (Sterling was much weaker against the dollar than it is today so accommodation was expensive).

The hotel is in good condition and has a lot of character. We had a deluxe studio, which was spacious and well equiped, especially the kitchen.

The Murphy bed was small for me since I'm over six foot but was comfortable and the hotel was quiet at night.

We walked everywhere in SF. Fisherman's Wharf is at least 30 minutes away (at our "London Pace") and involves two step hills. Union Square is 10 minutes away.

There are a couple of decent restaurants a couple of blocks north but not much in the immediate neighbourhood. The Tenderloin area, a couple of blocks south, is best avoided but not dangerous.

If you are looking for a decent value base then the Steinhart is for you. If you are looking for premium service and proximity to the main attractions then it isn't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Steinhart, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi Neil,

Thank you for staying with us at The Steinhart. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and found value in your stay. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This little hotel on the fringes of the Tenderloin is a residential hotel meaning it has no amenities such as room service and limited hours on the reception desk (it is not staffed between 11pm and 9am). There is also no air conditioning at all in the hotel. It has had an update but be aware it is only the superior one bedroom apartments that have had this update, the studio rooms are old, dated and look out onto the walls of other buildings. We upgraded from a dingy studio to a superior one bedroom suite (extra 40- per night which is not bad) which was spacious, light and airy and also had an extra murphy bed in addition to the double bed so it will sleep four people. There is a fully equipped kitchen with stove and all crockery, microwave etc and Sutter Fine Foods is just three or four doors away, a medium sized superette, be aware it is a touch expensive, the closest supermarket though is four blocks away. Avoid the hotel's laundry, it is down a steep flight of stairs and very creepy, you will find a laundromat only two doors away.
Nicole and Marc who are the hotel reception clerks are friendly and welcoming and very willing to point out sights and offer suggestions.
There is a small lounge on the second floor, if you've been toting books around in your luggage, have read them and now want something else to read or to leave them behind to make room for shopping (do people even do that any more in these days of kindles?!) you can do that here.
Hurray! the hotel offers the European cleaning system, a weekly arrangement, ie the day you check in on is the day next week when your room will be cleaned. This is so much better than housekeeping wanting to get in and clean your room everyday. If you want to empty rubbish or recycling, there is a recycling room and trash chute in a room on every floor which is useful.
You can walk to Union Square which is about 10 mins away. You can also stretch out your legs and power up your running shoes and huff and puff your way down Hyde street to Fisherman's Wharf or up and down the Streets of San Fransico, it is not for the faint hearted, it is a steep and hilly city, those movies don't lie!! (You can also cheat and get the cable car too and of course that is one of the quintessential SF experiences.)
If you're in town to see Alcatraz try to book your tkts online before you get to town, because you can only buy your tkts at pier 33 in SF and that's a fair way from Sutter Street, you will need to take a taxi down there, the streets are steep.
The hotel is charming and offers apartment living for those who want to experience something other than your run of the mill chain hotel vibe. You feel you're living in SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior one bedroom suite facing Sutter Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great family Spring Break trip to SF, we decided to stay here to experience 'living' in the city with the family. Buying groceries, taking the bus, hitting the Cup O'Joes for coffee, and staying in and watching TV from time to time. It was great. The room was large enough for four - we had five, but we made it work pretty well. Clean and friendly, and a great location. Easy grocery on the block, Trader Joe's a block away, and close enough to walk to many places. Get a bus card - bus stops frequently and right on the corner. We would definitely stay again as a family, and I'll probably stay here for business in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, General Manager at Steinhart, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear SailingEric1,

We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your time at the Steinhart. Sounds like you had a wonderful San Francisco experience and we are so pleased to have been a part of that. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Dimitar Stanev, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

For an extended visit to San Francisco that included some work and some vacation, I wanted a place that had charm, some space and a kitchen so I didn't have to eat out all the time. The Steinhart was an almost perfect choice, it's in a very central location, room 606 was spacious with a nice bathroom, big closet, small office, big windows and a bright kitchen. We also had a west facing room with a great view of Sutro Tower and the colourful sunsets. The staff were very helpful when we needed something; the housekeeping was good but you have to keep in mind it's only once per week, which is fine as the room is more of an apartment than a hotel anyway. The two drawbacks are the lack of comfort of the murphy bed (and variable pillow quality) and the lack of supplies in the kitchen for the times we really did one to cook up something. Overall, I recommend this place to anyone staying in SF for a period of time wanting some real character and a great location, and I would likely return myself for any trip more than just a few days.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and it was bright and quiet with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, General Manager at Steinhart, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear robertshea,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Steinhart. We are happy to hear it was an enjoyable stay and appreciate the feedback on what we can improve to make it the perfect home away from home next time around. We hope to see you again during future visits to San Francisco!
Best,
Dimitar Stanev, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was looking for an historic/old hotel in order to enjoy the essence of San Francisco. This hotel did come close but I would have preferred to sleep on something other than a Murphy bed. The lift was great to use and the location was good. If I went back to San Francisco I'd look to stay at Fishermans Wharf as it is more central to to touristy stuff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitar S, Manager at Steinhart, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Wendy D,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as you have expected. Please note that all of our one bedroom apartments are furnished with regular queen size beds and I highly recommend them to guests that find the Murphy bed uncomfortable.

Best regards,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steinhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinhart

Address: 952 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Steinhart 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steinhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steinhart Hotel San Francisco
Steinhart San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steinhart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.