We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tour and Panel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rowland Heights, California
1 review
“Amazing Tour and Panel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As aspiring hoteliers and restaurateurs, the Ritz Carlton executive committee did an amazing job in touring us of their property and providing sound advice. Bruce Gorelick, GM of the property, organized and conducted a tour for us (20-person hospitality college group from Cal Poly Pomona). The hotel looks absolutely astounding after its recent renovation. Their philosophy in providing service is almost unmatched. Thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
661 helpful votes 661 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family of 5 stayed enjoyed a wonderful seasonal stay….lovely suite…..wonderful team…excellent hotel. I reviewed it but for some reason my review has disappeared along with everything else posted about San Francisco even though I posted a wonderful review. Odd that my review disappeared so here is a much shortened version.

In particular, the concierge was terrific and thanks to this service our stay in the City was greatly enhanced.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce G, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Greetings from The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco,

I was delighted to read your review and so happy to see you enjoyed the hotel. I was especially pleased to read about how attentive the Ladies and Gentlemen were and be assured I will personally recognize them and share your comments. I appreciate your sharing your comments and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel has been recently renovated and it looks wonderful. The guest rooms, lobby, restaurant are well designed. The Club Lounge is well appointed, and the staff is amazing. The staff is professional, friendly and hospitable. This is not my 1st visit to this hotel and will meet t be my last.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ritz had a lot to live up to, it was the last leg of a long holiday which included stays at the four seasons whistler (incredible place), a Fairmont and the iconic Rosewood Georgia in Vancouver.

Our room was the least nice room we had out of the four hotels we stayed in. It was recently renovated and fairly spacious but what let it down was the bathroom. They had renovated it but doesn't look like they bothered to replace the bath or toilet. The bath was outdated, small, and it has been a very long time since I have seen a luxury hotel have a bathroom without a separate shower - and certainly not seen one with a bath and a shower curtain.

With that criticism over, the hotel otherwise surprised us. The furnishings in our room were excellent but what pulled back up to a 5 out of 5 was the service and staff. City hotels often have a different more impersonal feel about them, but the staff at this establishment were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble, everyone was friendly and would go out of their way to be helpful and make you feel welcome.

The breakfast was expensive but good, the lobby bar was well furnished and a really nice spot for lunch and evening drinks.

The location at the top of nob hill was great, a pain to walk up, but fairly easy to get to the places you want to go. The car service was good too. All in all a very good stay, and although it didn't really come close to the all round level of brilliance offered by the Four Seasons Resort Whistler, it was one of the best city 5* hotels we have stayed in and we much preferred it to the Four Seasons Vancouver and the Rosewood Georgia hotel's in Vancouver, despite the bathroom. If we travel to San Francisco again we will without doubt stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth checking on rooms which separate showers if you don't want an old bath tub with a shower c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The entire place -- lobby, gym, bar, restaurants and now rooms are remodeled. And they did a fantastic job! Have always loved this hotel - but it was getting tired. Not anymore -- PERFECT! New furnishings in room are terrific and main bar in lobby is super regal and relaxing. Best place to stay in SF

Room Tip: Club floor is really nice. And facing courtyard is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room at the RC was very nice and, because the Club Level is on a high floor and the hotel is on top of one the many hills in SF, we had a nice view of downtown. However, the thing that really made our stay special was access to the Club lounge. While there was not a huge variety, the quality of food offered at breakfast, lunch, evening hors d'ouevres and dessert was really excellent, as were the booze, beer and wine offerings. The only item (of the many I tried) that I thought was sub-par was the bagel (but it's hard to find a decent bagel west of the Hudson River). Another great perk is having the full time concierge on the floor, who was really helpful in making and confirming reservations.

The gym is also outstanding and has separate men's and women's steam rooms.

Room Tip: Club Level rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton SF for an overnight to celebrate my wife's birthday. As parents of a toddler it was also a great escape to spend time alone as a couple for a romantic evening.
Upon making the reservation I mentioned to the reservation desk that we were celebrating a birthday and night away as a couple and I mentioned I wanted to make it special. They offered to have some complimentary treats in the room and even asked if my wife had a favorite song that they could have playing in the room.

The Ritz hit the mark for both goals - upon checking in the front desk wished my wife happy birthday and were extremely pleasant setting a great first impression. When we entered the room, my wife immediately was excited to see that not only was her favorite song playing in the background, but there was a birthday card signed by the Ritz and even a nice little care package for our son when we returned.

We had room service that night and breakfast in bed that morning - both were outstanding. The room overall was perfect for an overnight and delivered on the expectation we had of a great romantic evening at a luxury hotel.

Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Address: 600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a 1909 landmark building in the scenic neighborhood of Nob Hill, The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, the city's only AAA Five-Diamond hotel provides convenient access to the best of San Francisco and features the historic cable car right outside its doors. Offering globally-inspired California cuisine and seasonal cocktails at Parallel 37, the largest luxury Club Level experience in San Francisco, and recently renovated guest rooms and suites as well as meetings and special events space, the 336-room Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco provides the ultimate in personalized Ritz-Carlton service, comfort and luxury. The hotel received a "World's Best Award" by Travel + Leisure for 2014 and Conde Nast Traveler has placed the hotel on the "Gold List" as the top San Francisco hotel for 17 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Ritz Carlton
Ritz San Francisco
Ritz-Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.