We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savor Breakfast for Two
Ranked #23 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed 5 nights over the New Year's holiday on a family trip. We brought three kids ages 3-12 and the staff brought gifts for the girls and extra chocolates at turn down and were very accommodating with cleaning schedule. There was wonderful freshly made hot chocolate in the lobby over the holidays which the girls loved. If you are not familiar with SF area this is a great location for families because you can walk which is the best way to get a feel for San Francisco neighborhoods. We walked down the hill to Union Square in 8 min (hub of Hoilday activities ice skating, shopping etc) or walk one block down to china town or catch the trolley down to Embarcadero. We rarely needed to hire a cab even with small kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    222
    104
    51
    13
See reviews for
224
318
41
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I went for a business meeting in July 2010, but I could visit the main points of the city in my free time, due to the great location of the hotel. It is very close to the Union Square. The bedroom, breakfast are perfect! The lunch and dinner done for the meeting were also very good. Every time was a different theme. The hotel employees are very kind and always available to help. I loved my stay in San Francisco!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and loved the attentive personnel in all areas. Reception was extremely diligent in securing a Platinum AMEX promo that AMEX said was not available so she made our day ! Location was convenient to shopping and dining. Room was very comfortable-jr suite. Will return for sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed in a large suite, so I am not sure what the smaller rooms look like. But the suite was very well appointed, I would even say newly redecorated. There was a generous sized Bedroom, with a large and open en Suite bath, large vanity, and closet. The living room was beautiful, opening up onto a terrace. And at one end of the living room I had a small, but adequate dinning room for 8-10. There are easily accessible next door bedrooms, to utilize for a large family.
Room service is spot on, as you'd expect from the Ritz.
The general spaces of the hotel seem a bit run down. The lobby needs to be redone, the bar/tea lounge area needs a huge overhaul in design as well.
All in all we had a terrific stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Ritz for the New Year night thinking it was special, but we discovered a most boring hotel, your average Marriott. The rooms are dated- old fashioned furniture, conservative, but large and clean; the pillows were the hardest we slept on in a premium hotel- had to replace them with towels to be able the sleep. The service was lacking too. I am a platinum member and this is the first time i didn't get an upgrade and a welcome gift. We requested late checkout- 1.30pm was the latest- although we easily got 2pm on the Marriott chain. At 1.35 they called to ask if we had problems checking out and that unless we leave right away we would be charged another day!!! We were leaving- but i never felt so pressured to leave- and the TV checkout didn't work anyway! This is our 5th Ritz experience (maui, dana point, half moon bay, orlando) and besides location which was great and the lobby bar, there was o luxury or luster. The brand is definitely losing steam.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Within minutes of your arrival the staff addresses you by name and through out your visit. They anticipate your needs without a fuss. This is a delight. Any hotel can provide adequate accomodations but the differance is service. The San Fransisco Ritz Carlton has perfected it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The rooms in this hotel were large and comfortable but the hotel is very dated, with peeling wall paper and loose door handles. The staff were friendly enough.
The bed was comfortable and room service meal was nice. The hotel was okay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Address: 600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is nestled in the heart of this amazing city, but miles away from an ordinary experience.Escape to this luxury hotel in San Francisco today. The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is a Tier 3 property in The Ritz-Carlton Rewards.This San Francisco luxury hotel features 336 guestrooms and suites, Parallel 37 - Ron Siegels chic, new restaurant, bar and lounge and a recently expanded, state of the art fitness facility, and much more. All just blocks from mainstay landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Ritz Carlton
Ritz San Francisco
Ritz-Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.