We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5-Diamonds hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savor Breakfast for Two
Ranked #23 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not a 5-Diamonds hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

When we stay at a 5-Diamonds hotel, we expect impeccable service. That's what separates them from 4-Diamonds hotels. Ritz-Carlton SF is the only 5-Diamond hotel in the city, but based on our experience staying there in November, 2013, I have to say it's not quite up to the standard set by other 5-Diamond hotels we've stayed in the US and abroad. One incident was especially alarming that the bellman who brought our luggage to our room was quite aloof and arrogant. We've never had to endure such a poor behavior at a 5-Diamond hotel. We have a plan to visit San Fran in June, 2014, but we won't choose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    222
    104
    50
    13
See reviews for
224
318
41
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I love this hotel -- great location and helpful staff. The remodel of the lobby, bar, restaurant and workout facilities are perfect! But --- time to refresh the rooms to match the lobby. I spend about 20 nights (both club level and regular floors) a year at the hotel and the hallway carpets and bedroom furnishings are worn, outdated and in need of a re-do. Bathrooms in most of the rooms have been redone and are in good shape. So management -- time to spend some capital on the rooms to have them match the beauty and quality in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton in mid November. I work in the industry, and have had a lot of my own clients stay here, so I wanted to experience it first hand.
Jasmine at the front desk was amazing. I enjoyed my conversation with her, and she was able to upgrade me.
I stayed on the top floor, and had an amazing view. I was overlooking the whole city, could see the bay and much more. The room was immaculate, and was well designed. The bathroom shower head as well was also fantastic.
I booked the bed and breakfast package, which included breakfast in the morning as well as valet parking in the rate. Great deal. I LOVED my breakfast, and must admit it was probably some of the best breakfast I have had in a while. In addition, although I forget their names the room service employees are amazing.
At checkout I also encountered some fantastic employees. The whole valet squad was great. Very friendly and personable. Felt like I was on the team.
Overall, I love this hotel and location. I would much rather spend money and feel it is worth it than to spend so much and feel guilty afterwards. The Ritz was absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: The top floors have great views, but I feel almost any of their rooms would be great since they sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just returned from a girls weekend at the Ritz Carlton. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and it helped that it was all decorated for Christmas.

We upgraded to the Club level which is beyond worth it. The food was pretty amazing, especially the dinner offerings. If you are there on Saturday nights, they have a caviar cart. I was in heaven. The drinks are also pretty darn good and there is something about enjoying a glass of champagne mid-day that makes you feel extra pampered. Thank you to the staff at the club level for making our stay an extremely enjoyable experience.

There were four of us that shared one room. The beds are a little bit on the small size, especially considering the size of the room but that's okay. The bathrooms were well appointed and housekeeping always kept up with us, and our towel needs.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I think it's worth the extra cost, especially if you like to have cocktails, to upgrade to the club level.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club level. We were on the street side of the hotel and even when the window was open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is all you would expect from a Ritz, clean and very upscale. The service is also top notch. My only complaint, if you can call it that, is the location. It is uphill from most places which is not really a big deal but could be for some.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice, the staff were always quick to greet us and very helpful. My only complaint is that the bathroom didn't have a fan. Room overheated quickly and felt like a sauna, made it hard to get ready. It was my first time in Arlington and DC and I would recommend this hotel. Valet was always prompt.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed in the San Francisco Ritz in September and had a wonderful time. The concierge, Daniel, was absolutely fantastic and gave me terrific ideas that proved to be memorable experiences. . It's in a great location- accessible to many things - but quiet and not full of hustle and bustle. This hotel really lived up to all of my expectations about what the Ritz should be

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Address: 600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is nestled in the heart of this amazing city, but miles away from an ordinary experience.Escape to this luxury hotel in San Francisco today. The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is a Tier 3 property in The Ritz-Carlton Rewards.This San Francisco luxury hotel features 336 guestrooms and suites, Parallel 37 - Ron Siegels chic, new restaurant, bar and lounge and a recently expanded, state of the art fitness facility, and much more. All just blocks from mainstay landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Ritz Carlton
Ritz San Francisco
Ritz-Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.