We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond all my Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savor Breakfast for Two
Ranked #23 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beyond all my Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just returned from a girls weekend at the Ritz Carlton. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and it helped that it was all decorated for Christmas.

We upgraded to the Club level which is beyond worth it. The food was pretty amazing, especially the dinner offerings. If you are there on Saturday nights, they have a caviar cart. I was in heaven. The drinks are also pretty darn good and there is something about enjoying a glass of champagne mid-day that makes you feel extra pampered. Thank you to the staff at the club level for making our stay an extremely enjoyable experience.

There were four of us that shared one room. The beds are a little bit on the small size, especially considering the size of the room but that's okay. The bathrooms were well appointed and housekeeping always kept up with us, and our towel needs.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I think it's worth the extra cost, especially if you like to have cocktails, to upgrade to the club level.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club level. We were on the street side of the hotel and even when the window was open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    224
    104
    51
    13
See reviews for
225
319
42
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is all you would expect from a Ritz, clean and very upscale. The service is also top notch. My only complaint, if you can call it that, is the location. It is uphill from most places which is not really a big deal but could be for some.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice, the staff were always quick to greet us and very helpful. My only complaint is that the bathroom didn't have a fan. Room overheated quickly and felt like a sauna, made it hard to get ready. It was my first time in Arlington and DC and I would recommend this hotel. Valet was always prompt.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed in the San Francisco Ritz in September and had a wonderful time. The concierge, Daniel, was absolutely fantastic and gave me terrific ideas that proved to be memorable experiences. . It's in a great location- accessible to many things - but quiet and not full of hustle and bustle. This hotel really lived up to all of my expectations about what the Ritz should be

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourges, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ritz Carlton San Francisco. Our car doors were opened for us, we passed through the elegant lobby and checked in, and were whisked up to the seventh floor by the courteous bellman James. Our junior suite with a pullout sofa was very comfortable for the four of us. We enjoyed the restaurant and chic bar, as well as quality in room dining service. We woke up one morning and loved watching the workmen assemble the beautiful Christmas tree right outside our window. The staff was very attentive and helpful over our Thanksgiving week stay. Don't miss the fantastic workout facilities, steam room and spa. Utilized the concierge service to recommend restaurants and my nail salon. Close proximity to Union Square and Chinatown. Complimentary overnight shoeshine service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights and it was a good choice when visiting San Fran. The room was comfortable and maid service was very good. You couldn't walk through the lobby without being greeted by a half dozen Ritz associates. The only service complaint is that on check-in the bellman took our luggage from the car but it didn't make it to the room. My wife and I were hoping to get changed before going out for a walk but after waiting 20 minutes, calling at the halfway point and being assured our luggage was on the way, we decided that getting changed wasn't that important. As we walked through the lobby we saw our luggage sitting on a cart off to the side! It was in the room when we returned.

We walked to dinner a couple of nights, to the wharf, and to shopping as they were all convenient to the hotel. There are quite a few hills "to climb" as you walk around but that is San Francisco. We did stop in the lobby bar on two nights but it was pretty dead. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed there for a couple days with my wife, had a small issue with a noisy air conditioning but the management moved us to a club floor suite with great views over china town, the hotel is located on the top of a hill, so going down is easy but better use the tram on the way up! Breakfast in the club lounge was ok nothing special but very friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Address: 600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is nestled in the heart of this amazing city, but miles away from an ordinary experience.Escape to this luxury hotel in San Francisco today. The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is a Tier 3 property in The Ritz-Carlton Rewards.This San Francisco luxury hotel features 336 guestrooms and suites, Parallel 37 - Ron Siegels chic, new restaurant, bar and lounge and a recently expanded, state of the art fitness facility, and much more. All just blocks from mainstay landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Ritz Carlton
Ritz San Francisco
Ritz-Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.