We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hotel but not the Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savor Breakfast for Two
Ranked #28 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Leoti, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel but not the Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As always ...the service was fantastic!!! The hotel is beautiful, the hotel staff extremely attentive, bar and restaurant delicious. **They kept our room stocked with water and that is a huge plus for me!!!

We had dinner in the bar on Saturday night and the live music was wonderful. The food was great and served very quickly.

My only real qualm about picking this hotel was the location. If you are a tourist, it is away from most of the sites and a little out of the way. If this is not a concern; then the hotel is wonderful (and there were cabs always available).

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    192
    88
    43
    12
See reviews for
192
268
40
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Travelled to San Francisco for business and pleasure. Chose this hotel due to location (Union Square, Chinatown and Embarcadero/waterfront) and club floor experience. Both exceeded our expectations.

Upon check in a slight glitch occurred and was handled promptly. Service was personable yet professional from entry to front desk to room service. Every meal in the hotel was superb with an emphasis on local cuisine. Top this off with the chocolate covered strawberries wishing my husband Happy Birthday and we ranked this hotel as one of our top North American experiences.

The hotel was originally a professional office building in the 1900's. After historic conversion, it retains it's authentic charm without feeling dated or dowdy.

Room Tip: Our room windows overlooked the Union Square and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Ritz has a commanding view of the city from near the top of one of the highest hills in San Francisco. Good access to 2 Trolley Car routes. The hotel is pretty much self contained - and there isn't much in the way of food or shops in the area. Well decorated with beautiful and functional furniture. Good Wi Fi and wired network - and they charge. Very Clean. Room Service is pricey but good. Evening turn-down and chocolate. Classic and great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived at the Ritz on a Thursday afternoon for a long weekend. We had booked the club level because the last time we were here, it was phenomenal --caviar in the lounge! Because we had roller bags, we went up to the room by ourselves, without a bellman. That was a mistake. We didn't realize at first that we were in a handicapped room. We had already unpacked and settled in when we did. But when we did get settled, we noticed that the furniture was oddly placed so that there was wheelchair access to everything. And the bathroom was really a disappointment - the toilet had no separate door and the shower had handhelds as well as an overhead with not much water pressure. Okay. My mistake for not asking for a room change.

We were really hungry so we went in the lounge for lunch. Presentation was nice, but there were not many choices. That was true for our whole four night stay. Actually, our biggest disappointment with the food was no eggs on the weekends, only quiche, which we don't like. Bummer.

When you got their attention, the concierges were lovely, but they did spend a lot of time on the phone or away from the desk. Not what you would expect in a hotel of this caliber.

So all in all, we had a great time in San Francisco, but the Ritz did not contribute to that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I flew to SF for one night to see family visiting from England. Our lovely room (thank you for the upgrade!) with a comfy bed and big bathroom faced an inner courtyard with views of the city beyond, and despite keeping our windows open at night, we never heard a peep - not from neighboring rooms or the city beyond. Everyone was warm and welcoming, from the front desk to staff we encountered in the halls. The hotel was a mix of families, couples, and business folks, and we felt at home when our family with 3 kids (ages 1 to 4) joined us in the hotel lounge for a visit. The hotel sits atop the SF hills, so it's well located but you will climb steep hills if you walk anywhere close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at the Ritz and was quite disappointed. This property is not on par with the typical Ritz. You are better off at the St Regis which is more central, or if you like this neighborhood you can choose from the Fairmont or the Intercon.

The exterior looks palacial. But that is where the royal treatment stops.

I had a superior room (an upgrade from a deluxe) which means a higher floor.

Lack of knowledge
The front desk staff could not tell me the difference between a deluxe and superior. They didn't know the square footage or amenities. They also took 10 mins to find me a room and check me in.

Lack of follow through
I called requesting bell service one night and was told someone would be right up. 4 hours later, I had to follow up, finding out that it wasn't possible for the bellman to assist. I would have liked to have known that when I first called.

I called because the in-room coffee machine was running and it wasn't turning off. I conveyed the urgency of water spilling and was told someone will be right up. 10 minutes later, no sign of anyone and I found a way to drain the machine.

Poor Comfort and Not Clean
I found the bed and pillows uncomfortable. I also found hair and lipstick on two towels. And some other areas that showed it wasn't very clean. A lot of dust on the phone too.


In general, the service level is well below a ritz hotel. In contrast, the St Regis makes you feel welcome every time you walk in, and will go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable.

If you are deciding where to stay and want a nice comfortable stay, I would recommend the St Regis or one of the other hotels.

Room Tip: Floor 2 is the ground floor, below the lobby - under the courtyard level. Some rooms have views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It was my first visit to this hotel. It is a classic Ritz, beautiful and very captivating, with excellent service. We got a great room with a view of the courtyard. The lobby area and the bar looks great. We had a wonderful dinner and fantastic wine at Parallel 137, the onsite restaurant. Overall, it was fantastic visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Address: 600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is nestled in the heart of this amazing city, but miles away from an ordinary experience.Escape to this luxury hotel in San Francisco today. The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is a Tier 3 property in The Ritz-Carlton Rewards.This San Francisco luxury hotel features 336 guestrooms and suites, Parallel 37 - Ron Siegels chic, new restaurant, bar and lounge and a recently expanded, state of the art fitness facility, and much more. All just blocks from mainstay landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Ritz Carlton
Ritz San Francisco
Ritz-Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.