We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savor Breakfast for Two
Ranked #27 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Initially we selected this hotel simply due to its location (being in town on business), but when we visit again we will choose the SF Ritz for the quality of the stay. They thought of everything a traveler would want and provided it all with the impeccible service and luxurious quality you would expect in a world-class hotel. I had one of the best nights of sleep in that bed, as did my husband. Loved that the windows opened (nothing worse than stale air), complimentary wireless, complimentary overnight shoe shine (marvelous job I might add), plus we forgot our laptop charger upon check out and the lost and found department took our info, found the charger and phoned right back for us to collect it. Great restaurant recommendations from the front desk + fast/friendly check in/out. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    562
    201
    94
    45
    12
See reviews for
200
283
40
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week in April 2013 on vacation. The staff is top-notch! The one bellman remembered our names all week (nice touch)! We were fortunate to have a large suite on the top floor with access (via private stairway) to the Club lounge. The suite was huge and the bed very comfortable. The view of the city was great! The room service was great! Always left extra water and chocolates! The food in the club lounge was great! A large selection and plenty of sugary snacks!! We used the fitness center and spa, as well. Very nice facility! Good massage! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Honestly one of my favorite hotel stays, EVER. It's right on the edge of Chinatown and our view was great. Being on the club floor, we were able to take advantage of it's offerings and they were superb. From the croissants and tea in the morning to the champagne and desserts in the evening, the food was excellent, as was the service. A nice, quiet hotel in the middle of San Fran, the location was fantastic and we were easliy able to get to anywhere we wanted to go. The hotel car service was prompt and the driver was friendly. This hotel is one of the finest.

Room Tip: Club level is a must, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Ritz Carlton San Fran remains a favored hotel of mine with prime location, attentive service (the concierge desk and bellman were exceptional), and a generally high-end, comfortable atmosphere.

That being said, a hotel of this caliber is held to a different standard, and the devil is, indeed, in the details. A collection of "small misses", any one of them insignificant on their own, left me curious (not quite disillusioned, but curious) as to whether the "Marriott influence" is negatively effecting this service-oriented brand.

Over the course of our stay, we were surprised to see worn out paint (on office doors behind front desk), room service trays left unattended in hallways for hours, and crumbs on the bar floor (at opening time, and not a small amount). It became our joke..."is this the new Ritz standard?" In addition, a burnt out closet light took two phone calls to be replaced, and on two different occasions we called the front desk and never got an answer.

Although these items might seem like a deal breaker, oddly enough, they weren't (and I'm VERY picky). All our issues were small and spread out, and their staff, when face to face, were excellent. We left willing to give the Ritz another shot, although with the caveat that we expect to see improvements. It's also worth noting that the hotel appeared to be under a bit of a transition (contemporary common spaces, traditionally decorated rooms), so I'm hopeful that management has it "under control", things will look up, and that they're not permanently losing their edge. It's not perfect, there's room for improvement, but this hotel still affords an excellent San Francisco experience.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk, make sure you're not at the end of the hallway. It could tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a suite on the club level and it was wonderful -- quiet, comfortable, excellent service! If possible, opt for the club level. Food and drink are always available -- hot breakfast, cold breakfast, sandwiches, soup, fruit, snacks, huge glass jars filled with creamy, puffy homemade marshmellows, meringues, caramels, snacks, etc. And the concierge service at the club level was mostly good.
The suite was ample in size with an entryway, medium-sized parlor and a large bedroom with an ample closet. In addition to the masterbath, there was a powder room off the main entry to the suite. The light in the powder room was weak and really not adequate but otherwise the suite was excellent.
I was very impressed by the housekeeping service. They were always prompt and I had the unexpected surprise of receiving a note from the housekeeper thanking me for gratuities left over the course of our visit.
The Ritz is conveniently located for Chinatown or the shops of Grant St. And actually, it's only a 15" walk to the Moscone Center. But beware, you'll get a good stretch of the legs on the return trip -- it's a steep walk up Stockton St.

Room Tip: Ask for Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excelent room, staff and location.
The restaurant, for breakfast, lunch or dinner, is also a great option.
The Concierge was always very helpful, irrespective of the professionals in charge. They provided very good indications of restaurants, museums and other local attractions.

Room Tip: The room at the California Street side was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very beautiful hotel. Great service over all. The location is great just a little up hill walk which is not a problem. The beds super comfortable. The lobby was very pretty and rooms very sumptuous. I am not sure they are particularly child friendly or try to be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

Address: 600 Stockton Street, at California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is nestled in the heart of this amazing city, but miles away from an ordinary experience.Escape to this luxury hotel in San Francisco today. The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco is a Tier 3 property in The Ritz-Carlton Rewards.This San Francisco luxury hotel features 336 guestrooms and suites, Parallel 37 - Ron Siegels chic, new restaurant, bar and lounge and a recently expanded, state of the art fitness facility, and much more. All just blocks from mainstay landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Ritz Carlton
Ritz San Francisco
Ritz-Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.