We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location; nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bolton, CT
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“great location; nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

We stayed between Christmas and New Years. Got an amazing deal at Hotels. Room was very nice. Concierge was extremely helpful. Location was excellent. Parking was a rip-off. Park across the street for 1/3 the price. Also the front desk upon check in offered us a room upgrade - the "upgrade" had a view of a construction site. We asked for our Hotels room and it was a better view and just as nice a room (just a bit small). This is a great deal for SF if you get a discount room and park elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    469
    153
    54
    22
See reviews for
211
353
56
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel after reading the reviews of it on Trip Advisor. I was never so disapointed in my life. For the price of this hotel I expected alot. I didn't get it. This hotel is not attractive in the least. The rooms were cold and sterile, all white, plain. The 2 beds in the room were tiny, not even doubles. They were each like a slightly bigger twin. The only nice thing was the bathroom. But how much time do you spend in there? The worst part of the trip was the bellhop pounding on our door at 1am, he said he was there to check us out and take our bags? I guess someone wanted to check out in the middle of the night, it wasn't us. The bellhop was confused so we called down to the front desk. They could care less, they didn't know what was going and frankly didn't seem to care. No apology, nothing. Also, parkiing was $42 per night plus 14% TAX. If you want a 5 star hotel experience in San Francisco go to the FAIRMONT, they know how to treat their guests right.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2005

The location of this hotel can't be beat. It's right in the middle of it all and you can walk everywhere. However, I was unimpressed with the service. I was here with a group from work for the Builder Show last June, but the staff did not seem very hospitable. The only person who cracked a smile was one of the doormen. Other than that, don't expect much hospitality or warmth.

The rooms were very spartan but the bathrooms were magnificent. I loved having the tv in the bathroom. Plus you had a separate tub and shower, though the shower was pretty small. The amenities were really nice too. But other than that the room was very basic and dull.

Did not eat at the restaurant as it was very expensive. For a great meal walk down to Maxwells for a great meal at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2005

What a wonderful hotel. My husband and I were from the San Francisco area and recently moved to Hawaii. We were back for the holidays and stayed here right before Christmas and we loved it! The staff were so pleasant and greeted us each night when we came in. We felt like they went above and beyond to be pleasant. The location is close to all, near Union Square and close to good restaurants. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2005

My Wife, Daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at the Pan Pacific in November and would rate this hotel very highly after staying at the Fairmont Orchid Hawaii and the Bellagio. The location is perfect for the shops (we found the Pier 39 area to be tacky) and the rooms are fantastic - spacious, with lcd tv, large windows and a huge bathroom with tv! We didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on that but the staff were very friendly even though we were clearly one of the poorer guests! As I used tripadvisor to book all our hotels I thought I should share this with you - basically the tripadvisor reviews got it right in all of the hotels we stayed at!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex, U.K
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

My husband and I have just returned (10/01/05) from 14 nights at this hotel, it is not our first stay at this hotel, yet each visit is just a special stay.The staff are the most friendly, happy and informative you could hope to meet.The rooms (we received a free upgrade as frequent visitors) are spacious and very comfortable.The new flat screen plasma t.v's are excellant quality, as are the choices of channels and pay to view movies,also the BOSE radios are an excellant quality,being left on for you at a very low volumn,if you choose to ask for turndown, another free service. The bathroom is just dreamy,all marble with seperate tub and shower,I loved the miniture t.v. in the bathroom, a nice touch.The butler service is excellant and so quick to respond,with nothing being to much trouble.The location is perfect, half a block from Union Square,and right in the middle of some great theatres and restuarants,(try SEARS, just round the corner, to avoid the line of this popular restuarant for breakfast, you need to be there before 8:00a.m, but even if you are later, the line moves very quickly,lunch and dinner are equally as popular).If you fancy the theatre,try TICKET MASTER, located in Union Square for half price tickets,we managed to get tickets for every show we wished to see, all at half price.All in All an EXCELLANT HOTEL at the most excellant location where you are made to feel so welcome and everybody is so friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2005

We stayed at the Pan Pacific for three nights and the room was huge, clean, and had all the amenities for a family of four. The bathroom was perfect with a separate shower and tub and the water pressure was great. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant to work with for directions and assistance. We would highly recommend this hotel to any family travelling to San Francisco. We have stayed at other smaller boutique type hotels and this by far will be where we come back to when we visit again.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Address: 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.