We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, never slept better in a hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drunk with Love Package
Ranked #44 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, never slept better in a hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Upon arrival this hotel is a little confusing as the check in is on the 3rd floor, where a giant lobby bar welcomes you as you step off the elevator. Bettina at check in was extremely helpful and even checked on my loyalty program. To get to your room you step back into the same elevator that whisks you up the center of the building to your room that is located around the peripery of the building. If you are afraid of heights I do not recommend this hotel. The club lounge is located on the 21st floor and pretty well stocked. The gym is open 24 hours which is great for those of us travelling from the east coast working out at 3 am PST...you'll have the gym to yourself, but please get some updated bikes. Those lifecycles are seriously outdated! As for the room it was spacious with a granite bathroom that was gorgeous. For someone that does not sleep well in hotels I was surprised at how well I slept every night. This must be due to the fact that the rooms are very well noise insulated since I never heard anyone else in the hotel although they must have been there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    416
    138
    44
    18
See reviews for
180
317
50
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

When thinking of staying at a JW Marriott, I expect something great. What this place has going for it was the location near Union Square and a very reasonable price for this brand of hotel. I would much prefer the Marriott Marquis up the street. I have stayed there many times. This hotel was slightly outdated and still charged for the extras like it was the top tier of JW Marriotts. I have stayed at some other JW properties around the world and this didn't match the quality that you come to expect. I will skip this place on my next trip.

One thing that could help is if they would update their beds and pillows. The other major brands have gone to things like sleep number beds, etc for their higher end properties. It is time for an investment as I found the sleep comfort to not be great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Easily the best Marriott I have stayed at last year. I have over 150+ nights last year alone and most of them were at Marriott and SPG properties, however JW Marriott in SF was easily the best property! Very new, very clean!

Staff was very good and service was top notch! Love staying at JWs when I can as the standard is very similar at each property.

Location was perfect as it was just a block off the busy touristy streets and close enough to restaurants and bars. The valet staff was very efficient as well.

The only issue I had was while checking in, there were a lot of people in line. This hotel is definitely very busy and they probably should think about adding additional stations or mobile check-ins.

All in all, one of my favorite hotels and would love to go back there soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Location - 2 min walk to Union Square.
Service - excellent. Even if one was fault finding, you'd find it hard to fault its level of service.
Good value for money.
Breakfast buffet spread - nothing to shout about.
Room service - food was good especially the Rebuen Sandwich.
Would definitely return to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in San Fran for one night after 4 nights in Napa. We figured we'd chill out/dry out before our trip back home to MN.
I booked the room on Booking.com for about $400/night for a King Bed w/a City View. Valet parking is $50/night - but that's not unusual for SF.
Check in was quick and friendly and we were in our room in less than 5 minutes!
We were in room 1720 and it was lovely. The usual stuff, super comfy king bed, two side tables, a chair w/ottoman, desk/work area, dresser with a large flat panel TV.....but the bathroom...holy hannah! It was gorgeous! All marble with a tub/shower combo PLUS a separate shower. The vanity area was one sink, but had lots of room for all of my girl stuff. Bath products were Aromatherapy Associates - not familiar but I did like them.
In the hallway from the bedroom to the bathroom is a large closet with robes, iron and board as well as an umbrella (nice!)
There is also a mini bar but it's one of those that is fully stocked and you can't take anything out without being charged....and there is no room for leftovers or beverages of your own.
The location is great if you want to do some exploring by foot - it's an easy walk to lots of shopping, restaurants, galleries, etc. And you can always catch a cable car to get up/down those crazy hills!
We've stayed in many hotels in San Fran and I think this one is my favorite thus far. Our interaction with the staff was great, the hotel was immaculately clean and our room was so comfortable I didn't want to leave the next day. We will definitely be back to stay at the JW Marriott!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 30 December 2012 to 2 January 2013. Very nice experience in a well managed and clean hotel.

Check-in was easy and quick, and the front desk staff was very helpful on a number of occasions.

We had no issues at all during the stay, with any aspect of the hotel.

The room, albeit a bit small, was immaculate, right down to the corners (and I really pay attention to cleanliness). The hot water was HOT, another plus. Lots of on-call service, and they were quite responsive.

Most definitely would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Know which way you want to face, so you can ask for the view of your choice. We faced west, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas. Checking in was a BREEZE as we were met by a women as we exited the elevators. The roll away bed arrived minutes later. The lounge called Level 3 was excellent. I left my iphone in the car and the valet retrieved it for me the following morning. Love honest valet parkers in a city! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Address: 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.