We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas. Checking in was a BREEZE as we were met by a women as we exited the elevators. The roll away bed arrived minutes later. The lounge called Level 3 was excellent. I left my iphone in the car and the valet retrieved it for me the following morning. Love honest valet parkers in a city! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    385
    121
    43
    17
See reviews for
165
291
49
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is outstanding and our rooms were nice, roomy and clean, but we expected more, especially since the Ritz recommended this to us when the Ritz was booked...plates that were outside one of our rooms when we checked in, that we did not use, sat outside our room for 36 hours even though we made two calls to the front desk to have them removed. Sink backed up in one of our rooms. Club level service not worth the additional charge, as you have to pay for any beverage other than coffee and soft drinks, which is not the norm in other club lounges with which we have had experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

JW Marriott is a very impressive hotel line (e.g., the JW Marriott in Seoul sets the standard very high!) - this one was struggling to meet the high standard. Clearly a renovated conversion from some earlier hotel, it feels somehow incomplete. The open bar/dining area is nice, and we had excellent service and drinks prepared by Ryan. The gym was very good with lots of equipment, earphones provided, chilled towels, fresh red apples, etc. Parking is valet only and predictably expensive but it was efficient every time we left and returned. The hotel was very nice for a comfortable stay with two rooms for several nights but there were some small things that seemed annoying. Check in was inefficient, with only one person handling the entire reception desk. A nice complimentary cup of hot cider was a nice touch but with an overflowing trash bin under it, in view of the reception desk. The concierge lounge was a nicely appointed large suite with a great view of the city; most U.S. Marriotts see businessmen as their mainstay and close the lounges on weekends - to their great credit, this one did not. On the other hand, the one espresso maker was continually in and out of service, with staff fussing with its cleaning, restocking, or just perpetually confused. Surprisingly low quality wines (e.g., Meridien) were available upon request - it was kept on display in small locked glass wine refrigerator (for $10/ glass). Standard breakfast items were available but not well organized or managed (e.g., giant spoons don't fit into small yogurt containers; plain scrambled eggs could have some kind of food pairing, salsa, etc.; they seemed to stock the lowest grade bagels and English muffins; and so on...). Evening hors d'oeuvres were also limited (e.g., satay and coconut shrimp). Overall, the hotel just seemed to be a bit understaffed and/or undertrained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Bring your earplugs! Rooms facing...central restaurant/lounge area could be heard from rooms late into the night. Management offered a complimentary breakfast, but then charged it to our credit card. Tried to get it reversed but wasn't worth the hassle after calling multiple times. If you don't mind noise, location is great for walking! Love JW's but will stay somewhere else on our next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Visited December 2012. Great experience. Rooms are decent size, staff is very helpful and accommodating. WI-FI internet available free to Gold and Platinum members.
Executive lounge good breakfast daily, until 9:30 am, warm dishes around 5:30 pm, free sodas, coffees, teas,hot chocolate and cappuchino. Drinks are expensive in the lounge and not really worth the cost.
Nice lounge in main lobby.
Location great near Union Square. Can walk to Chinatown or wharf, but better to take taxi.
Near shopping Macy's, Bloomingdales, Nieman etc

Room Tip: Try to get access to concierge lounge. Some rooms have refrigerators which can store drinks. Can wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi, Usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location to union square for shopping. Stayed here the week before Christmas. Love the bed and bathtoom (separaye tib and shower) and because I am a Marriott gold elite member, I have access to the lounge on the 21st floor for breakfast and dinner and free wifi. A tat noisy as some reviewers have noted even on the 16th floor but not a major issue for me, at least at this time of the year, it is music streaming in and not traffic noise. Wait for good rates to stay here. Highly recommended. Excellent wifi connection on the 16th floor. Fast enough to watch videos on my tablet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Rather shocked that, after touting itself as an "affordable" hotel chain, they have the temerity to charge $65 for an overnight parking fee. Worse, even when we parked for just three hours, they insisted that it was a a full charge of $65! We had no time to argue as we had to get to the airport but it was certainly akin to highway robbery. The Four Seasons charged less for more time. The Four Seasons!

Also, it's a massive, soulless place and doesn't give the feeling that you're in one of the most beautiful cities in the world but just another mega hotel in just another city. Try a smaller, sweeter place than this beast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Address: 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.