We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for those who want high class individuality rather than chain hotel sameness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel for those who want high class individuality rather than chain hotel sameness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We booked a Junior Suite (Room 501) here for our 6 nights in San Fran, & couldn't have hoped for better. Plenty of storage in the bedroom, & the lounge area was terrifc with a view of Union Square. Great bathroom amenities. Our room was right near the 5th floor 'lobby', one of 2 floors where the complimentary breakfast & evening wine & cheese was served. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, to eat either in the 'lobby or take back to your room, and the evening wine was a fabulous opportunity to meet other travellers & exchange tales. Extra chairs & seats from our room were regularly moved to the 'lobby' to accomodate the group. Whilst there are no coffee making facilities in the room, all day coffeee & fruit is available on the second floor. Goodnight cookies & a bottle of water is also left in the lobby of each floor every night . Most guests seemed to be returning guests over a number of years - a sign of the quailty of the hotel. All staff were exemplary in service. It was lovely to be recognised by room staff as well as reception staff, and this adds to the feeling that the whole hotel is like a big family home. This atmosphere & its location, a few steps from Union Square, make this an ideal place to stay in San Francisco. We wouldn't choose anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    264
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
119
723
73
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This is a wonderful little hotel just off Union Square, with comfortable & well maintained rooms. The breakfast is a great start to the day, juice, breakfast cereals, fruit scones, good coffee and fruit. The added bonus of wine & cheese in the evenings is an entertaining start to your night off & a relaxing way to meet fellow travellers!
The staff are always extremely friendly and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Right off the Square! Easy access to shopping, restaurants, cable cars- the whole SF experience. Pass on the overpriced and overbooked monster hotels and opt for charm, service and wine & cheese in the evenings.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This hotel is convenient to main shopping area of San Francisco. However, its main feature are the staff and other travellers. During our four night stay we enjoyed the happy hour. The staff were most caring and obliging although the rooms were a bit "tired".

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding the Inn at Union Square. We are indeed a favorite with travelers around the world for just the reasons you mention- the staff, and our guests! Our hotel turns 100 in 2011, and we take care to ensure that our guests receive an authentic San Francisco experience in one of the oldest and most charming boutique hotels in town. We continue to lovingly restore our “gem” of an Inn that is a favorite with so many visitors from all around the world. We are so very thankful for your comments regarding our staff and the daily wine reception. It is truly a pleasure to host our guests and as staff we hear so many interesting stories and are always willing to give our guests the “insider tips” to get the most out of a visit to San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to be of service!

Thank You again for your visit and your comments, we appreciate them!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

the inn at union square is a fantastic little hotel in the smack middle of union square. a friend & i went to SF for a 3 day weekend and we were really excited to stay here. the staff were super helpful even before we arrived, promptly answering email and phone questions. we got there rather early on our check-in day but they graciously checked us in early. our room was fantastic -- actually rather spacious (i had feared a tiny little room based on some of the other trip advisor reviews) with a large bathroom and a fireplace.

the breakfast is a really nice touch. there is nothing hot to eat, but plenty of pastries, yogurt, granola, boiled eggs, tea, coffee, etc. we did not go hungry. we only partook in the evening wine/snacks one night (accidentally napped through it on the other night) and it was lovely.

location was perfect, surrounded by shops and art galleries. despite this, i didn't think it was too loud in our room. also, it's super easy to get to. we had taken the BART from the airport and it's just a short walk from powell station.

this is a small hotel with the feeling as if it's family run. there's no gift shop or gym or bar, so if you're looking for that, you will be disappointed. instead, if you're looking for a charming little european style hotel, this is a perfect bet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

To start, the staff at the Inn at Union Square is amazing! Polite, happy, and helpful - even when you arrive at 1:30 in the morning or go out shopping (Black Friday) at 5:00 a.m. Our room was a nice size, with plenty of storage, and very clean (loved this aspect). Every morning there is a continental breakfast on each floor, the evening brings a wine and cheese tasting, and cookies to tuck you in at night. The breakfast and wine hour makes the hotel seem like a little community. Location: less than a block from Union Square and only a few blocks from the San Francisco shopping center. Tons of shopping and eating to be done right in the neighborhood.
The Inn at Union Square will be my home whenever traveling to San Franciso!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Soulful old hotel with exceptionally friendly, helpful responsive staff. Not a large hotel nor are the rooms hugs as it apears to be a late 1800's/turn of the century building that has been updated. Beatiful decor. Nice (free) continental breakfast each AM and (free) wine every PM.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.