We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Inn at Union Square is a San Francisco bargain. The price is outstanding compared to many other SF hotels and by far beat the large chains. The rooms are small, but luxuriously appointed and clean. The breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese bar are generous. And the service from the staff is excellent. Top off with a great location within walking distance of several tourist attractions and just a few steps away from public transportation and you have a winner. There is a business center that has area tourist information, a computer with internet access and a printer. The downside is if you bring a car, as the parking charges are expensive. If you are staying in central SF, I recommend ditching the car and relying on your feet and public transportation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Yay! We're thrilled that you chose us, and that you were delighted with your decision! We are very proud of our little gem of a property, and we hope you were able to see the care and love that our staff has for the Inn at Union Square.

We believe that those parlors, wine hours, and breakfasts are places where people can experience some of the best memories San Francisco can provide- we're a favorite hotel of people from all around the world, and some great discussions go on in those parlors. :)

Come back and see us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    263
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
117
719
73
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lpr4444
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We just came back from three nights at this gem of a hotel!!! Our room was charming - the linens were yummy and all of the toiletries were first class. We loved walking down the hall (in our robes!!!) to the parlor to have a delicious breakfast and meet people from all over the world. The cocktail hour was also a wonderful touch - not to mention the home baked chocolate chip cookies each night. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly!! Wayne made our trip so memorable. He will definitely plan our next trip to San Francisco. We can't wait to come back to stay at this charming hotel in the most amazing location in the city!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Well thank you! :-) We'll take the honor of being your favorite hotel in SF! Wayne is truly the best Innkeeper in town. He has quite a fan following of guests on TripAdvisor for good reason!

Our small, home-y, intimate feel is really unique for downtown San Francisco- ok its probably unique anywhere!! We do indeed have a big following with international visitors, so its a great experience to be lucky enough to have chats in our parlors at the end of the day, sipping wine, and discussing San Francisco adventures with a diverse crowd.

Come back and see us soon! We'd love to have you! If you are interested (because you love us) you should check out our website and sign up for our e-mail newsletter- we'll keep you aware of packages and specials, so we can tempt you back to the "City by the Bay!"

Kind Regards,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We only stayed two nights but we had a great time. Great locaion- we walked everywhere! Our room was TINY... and it didnt have AC... so that was kinda a bummer... but luckily it didnt bother us too much, but if we were there for any more than two nights, we would have went crazy in such a tight space... the wine and cheese at night was very nice.... and the breakfast was yummy! Front desk is super nice!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
We're thrilled you had a great time at our little Inn! It really makes our day to be able to login to TripAdvisor and feel the LOVE!

We also appreciate your comments because we indeed do need constructive criticism sometimes. Its important, because your review will make a difference for visitors in the future, and for you too- when you come again!

Like most of the historical properties in the city, the Inn at Union Square does not have AC. This is usually fine, but there are those couple of days a year when even native San Franciscians will complain about it being hot. We have ceiling fans, and portable fans just in case. Our property will be 100 years old next year- which is pretty exciting for us!

On the plus though, we're glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and our staff was on the mark! Our location put you in the center of it all, so we hope the visit was not dampened by the lack of AC! Hopefully you got some good shopping done in the Square, and made some San Francisco memories!

We'd love to host you again!

Kind Regards,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My wife took me to San Francisco for my 30th birthday in August/2009 and it was my first visit to San Francisco. I realized quickly that The Inn at Union Square is a great location while visiting SF. Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. The room size was plenty big for the two of us, with a separate bathroom/shower area and a "lounge" area with love seat. The bed was incredibly comfortable! Each morning the staff would set up free breakfast areas on every floor, so no need to all gather in one area. They also had free wine/cheese socials set up in the afternoons. Speaking of the staff, they were exceptionally friendly. Every time we walked into the hotel we would be greeted and also on the way out. They would even offer to hail a cab without even asking. It wasn't just the front desk staff either, as the cleaning staff were constantly saying hello and asking how you are doing. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Francisco. We only stayed for 2 nights but it was perfect! *Also had free WiFi access for those interested.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
The reason we're so nice is because we love guests like you! :-) Our tagline is: "experience exceptional service" and we try to have that show through all interactions with our guests.

Everyone who works here loves San Francisco, and we love orienteering guests about the city, and we love to make sure our guests get as good of an impression as we can make for them! We're really lucky that we have such a great location, because 30-room Inns with the services we provide can be few to come by in large Metro cities. Being in San Francisco makes us all the more special, if you ask us!!

Guests have always commented on our intimate parlors- how the parlors encourage conversations with other guests from around the world. If you were to ask us our favorite part about working here, I think we'd all unanimously say its the experience of meeting kind people from far away places!

Next time you're in San Francisco, please think of us- we'd love to be your hosts!

Kind Regards,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Charming, European feel boutique hotel with excellent service. My husband and I spent a weekend here and were very pleased. First, the location is excellent. Our room was not huge, but had a small sitting area and plenty of space for the two of us. The only negative in the room was the tiny bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable with high quality linens. The wine reception every evening was fun and a great way to start off our evenings. Similarly, the morning breakfast buffet was impressive, especially for a hotel this size. Finally, the service was exceptional. We were particularly impressed with Omar, who was friendly, attentive, and bent over backwards to make our trip go smoothly.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Thanks Mindy74! Next time you're in San Francisco, we'd be sad NOT to host you!! :-)

We're glad you got good impressions from Omar (he's practically famous on TripAdvisor!!) and the rest of our staff. We know we have an advantage being in our location, offering the services we do- like a B&B. We are really lucky to have such a dainty 30-room property where we CAN focus so much on customer service!

It's reviews like yours that keep our hotel legendary, and for that I sincerely thank you, and welcome you back anytime! (Chocolate chip cookies before bedtime- on us.)

Kind Regards,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

As others have said, the lobby is small but the hotel has character. We had a "King Suite" and I was shocked at how small it was. There was not even room for a sitting area. I was a little worried after reading that there was no AC but that was not a problem at all. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. All in all this is a decent hotel but we definitely did not get the service other reviews are raving about. The front desk always seemed understaffed. When we arrived it took a long time to get bell service and valet and when we left we ended up just having to go get a luggage cart and bring down the luggage ourselves after 2 calls asking for assistance. We called in advance and they asked when we needed our car and bell service but 20 minutes after the requested time we had received neither. The wine reception and breakfast were nice touches but the areas where these are held are tiny. Not really big enough for more than 5 people. Like I said, it's a decent hotel but should not be at #3 given all of the other options in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My girlfriend and I visited San Francisco for the first time and decided on the Inn at Union Square based on the images available online and due to the fact that we didn't want to rent a car.
The "Inn" was situated in a prime location right next to the Union Square shopping district. They served a complimentary breakfast everyday and the staff was very helpful when it came to asking for directions.
The cleanliness of the rooms was good overall. The design of the hotel was quaint and my germophobic girlfriend loved how clean the washroom was kept.

The only complaint was that the window in our room didn't close properly, so it was always a little chilly at night.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel, the value was decent, there are definitely places more affordable, but you won't find another place so unique and convenient as the Inn at Union Square.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.