We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the little stuff - GREAT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off When You Pre-Pay
Ranked #3 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Augustine, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All the little stuff - GREAT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The attention to detail was fantastic! Besides the obvious; being a beautiful, clean, small inn in a fantastic location ~~ The Inn at Union Square has all the necessary amenities I look for. The beautifully decorated rooms, with a well lit bathroom and great make-up mirrors, comfy robes, powerful blow dryers (that don't overheat!). The fresh smelling, clean, cushy towels and great Aveda products to shower with. Then you have to mention the nice breakfast to get you going, the afternoon wine and cheese to savor before heading out to dinner and then to return to warm baked cookies. The front lobby staff was great! From the moment we pulled up and all the attention to help us get luggage in and checked in, to helping us with restaurant choices (since we were entertaining customers), and sight seeing suggestions, to finally getting us checked out and to the airport --- which I must say was a very sad day!! We stayed a total of four nights and wished it were 14! We will be back!! Thank you all at "The Inn"!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    242
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
106
656
69
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This place is footsteps from Union Square and the Powell Street Cable Car lines. What's not to like about the wine and cheese served in the afternoon, the fresh cookies put out in the evening, the free wifi, the very helpful front desk, the complimentary cold breakfast buffet and the value. Public spaces a little small - nothing grand here, but overall quite delightful and I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had the junior suite for only $15 more than a regular room and it was so spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I highly recommend this sister hotel to the King George. It's a well-maintained, pretty boutique hotel with decent-sized rooms. They have a professional and friendly staff - Ann was especially helpful when we needed a room on short notice. Sounds cliche, but the front desk staff was truly personable and happy to chat and offer help.

I appreciated the things provided for comfort and convenience like bottled water in the room, an oscillating fan, lots of pillows on the bed, good light in the room, bathrobes and in-room safe. The bed was very comfortable - slept like a log every night. The rooms may not have a view but I would trade a good night's sleep in quiet (unlike some of the city's hotels without air conditioning) for a view any night! It's what we paid for and got.

The perks made the stay even more enjoyable: a better-than-typical continental breakfast with good coffee, wine and cheese in the evenings and cookies in the afternoon in the nice little sitting rooms.

Location is primo - right off Union Square, short walking distance to shops, restaurants, cable car stop, BART station and good people-watching.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

This little hotel is in the heart of San Francisco! Conveniently located in the middle of everywhere! We stayed in room 506 which is convenient as they have breakfast with delicious treats and varied spread. In the afternoons the have wine, cheese, nuts and more! The only drawback is two doors in the bathroom, where they only need one. Also room 506 has no view only to the air handlers, you will have a gentle hum in the evenings. I would certainly stay at the Inn again! Every staff member was exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your patronage of our hotel, your kind words about our excellent location and staff, and for your valuable feedback. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and on behalf of our exceptional staff, we all look forward to your return

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked at the Inn because of it's location and the good reviews on Tripadvisor.
Let me get to the positive first.
The hotel is extremely clean both floors and rooms. The whole staff is nice and welcoming which makes a huge difference. The breakfast is small but tasty and there are newspapers as well as bottles of free water in the room.
I would definatly visit again.
As for the negative I think it is a little too expensive compared to other hotels with bigger rooms and a more convenient valet service. Getting there with no spot to park is just a hassle.
I also wish there was a fridge in the room.
That's my honest review.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your honest review. Guest feedback is vital for us to ensure we are providing the right amenities and services to our valued visitors. We are glad to hear how our staff, clean rooms and complimentary breakfast enhanced your experience at the Inn at Union Square.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was an unexpected gem in the City. I originally was supposed to be at another hotel but due to overbooking ended up here. That is the best mistake that ever happened. My room was appointed wonderfully and the bed was fabulous. The nice touch of water delivered to the room was sweet and the wine and cheese reception was the BOMB! The pampering continued with warm delicious cookies at bedtime and then to awake to a fabulous breakfast spread?....Oh my!

The entire staff from the hotel manager to the front desk to the housekeeping were always welcoming and offering to do anything they could to make me comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you for a most memorable time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased you enjoyed our little "Gem" of a hotel in the center of the city and are so happy for the "mistake" that brought you to our door. I'm glad that you were pleased with our complimentary extras such as breakfast, evening wine and cheese and irresistible fresh baked cookies each evening. On behalf of the entire staff, who take great pride in pampering our guests, we look forward to welcoming you back.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Inn has a small town feel in the heart of San Francisco. We were greeted by the inn keeper who was very friendly and helpful. He pulled out a map and showed us areas we should check out, and showed us where we can get public transportation. The Inn was conveniently located to shopping, to the Market Street F-line for transportation, and we could easily walk to many places.

Though a little small, the room was very clean and quiet. Our one complaint is that there was no air conditioning or central air circulation. Luckily the weather was mild, but the room did still get warm and stuffy. The room did have a ceiling fan, which provided some air circulation.

The continental breakfast was lovely. It was so nice to not have to worry about going out to find breakfast each morning. And the wine tasting in the evening was a nice perk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.