We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I Stayed Here vs..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off When You Pre-Pay
Ranked #3 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Glad I Stayed Here vs..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

..another place I'd been booked, which was not well reviewed. This is a small, European-style hotel just off Union Square, about 4 blocks (slight uphill, easy walk) from the Powell Street BART station. Staff are very friendly. My room was small, but nicely laid out; comfortable bed; window faced a wall, but the it opened and there was a nice fountain bubbling in the alley. They offer a nice continental breakfast, wine/cheese, and cookies. No fitness center, but they can get you passes to one nearby. Wifi is free, worked well. Overall, not particularly high end, but a great value for SF. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    772
    243
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
107
667
69
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel has a excellent location in Union Square,close to everything: cable car, restaurants,15 minutes walking to Fisherman Wharf.
Friendly staff , especially helpful reception and confortable rooms.
Coffee and tea were available all day in breakfast area, at 08:00 p.m with fresh baked cookies.
Problems:
Hotel has small area for breakfast,at the end of corridor,same area used for cheese & wine happy hour, in each floor. Space is small,enough for a table with four chairs, and a bench. Sometimes guests to have to take wine standing or give up.
And I had to take breakfast standing because of no place to seat. Quality of breakfast was OK, but sometimes without seats.
It´s too much for a hotel that costs around US$400 a day.
No AC in rooms, and sometimes was warm inside room, because of warm weather in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff, central location, comfortable rooms and fresh baked cookies each evening. We are sorry to read of your challenges with our breakfast area in the mornings as it appears this detracted from your stay. This is valuable feedback and will be taken to heart to ensure our guests are completely satisfied with their experience. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon, when travels return you to San Francisco

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Inn at Union Square provides better service than most four star hotels. From the continental breakfast, to daily wine/cheese tastings, evening cookies, and nightly turndown service with chocolates and complimentary bottled water, and complimentary shoe shine, the service could not have been better. The front desk staff were welcoming and attentive and always willing to assist with any request. The King Deluxe room was small, but spotless and very comfortable. Location was amazing. We were half a block from the cable cars and within two blocks of all other transportation options. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby. The only amenity that was lacking was air conditioning. We were there during a fairly warm period in September and the room was a little stuffy at night, even with the windows opened.

Room Tip: Breakfast and afternoon Wine/Cheese receptions are served daily on Floors 3 and 5. Floors 4 and 6 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Inn at Union Square and were very pleased with our choice. The location is perfect, breakfast is quite good, and the afternoon wine and cheese was a bonus. Our only disappointment was that the rooms were not air conditioned and the weather was quite warm during our visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great location right next to Union Square within reach of all tourist areas and within walking distance of a variety of places to eat. Breakfast is provided in a central area and we took it back to our room to enjoy at our leisure. A plus was the evening wine and cheese event. After a day of sight seeing it was lovely to meet up with other guests over a glass or two of wine and enjoy a chat before heading off for dinner. Coffee and tea were available at the end of the corridor all day and the evening cookies were freshly baked. What singles this hotel out is the customer service. Wayne-the manager- provided us with maps and complimentary wine tasting tickets when he heard we were heading to the wine country and Ann at reception even helped us to the car with our luggage.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite for a bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel in the heart of San Francisco. From our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour to our great central location in Union Square and our personalized and friendly service, we strive to provide the very best experience possible for our guests.

We hope to again have the pleasure of your company soon, and often.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We knew this hotel had a high rating, but we were certainly pleasantly surprised at the quality of service, immaculately clean room and great location. No complaints whatsoever! We had a suite, with a living room, which not only had a wet bar and another sink/chaning room off the bedroom, but also had another powder room! OMG! We had no idea. Two bathrooms in a hotel room- who would have ever thunk it! You must stay here when in SF! BTW, no view- oh, well....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield,MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked the Inn at Union Square because of the great rating and reviews on TripAdvisor. We LOVED this Inn and stayed for 2 nights. Our room was on the 5th floor at the end of the hall; we had a king bed with a sitting area. There is no AC in this hotel but since the weather was moderate while we were there, (high 70's days/60's nights) our room was always very comfortable. The service was second to none and all the little extras made it a fabulous place to stay! The location was perfect for touring San Francisco. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Be aware, there are a few rooms that look out on the next buildings air conditioning unit and that c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We pride ourselves on providing personalized service to each and every guest and are pleased you enjoyed our central location in the heart of San Francisco. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.