We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel...but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great boutique hotel...but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights over the July 4th weekend. The hotel has a fabulous location, great staff and service. They offered wonderful features like an evening wine & cheese hour and a great continental breakfast. We booked our room using Expedia, which makes me wonder if this had any affect on the location of our room assignment. We were located right beside the breakfast reception area. The noise from staff setting up the breakfast each morning distrubed our sleep. We were woke up at 6:45 a.m. to the sounds of clanging dishes and other usual kitchen noises. We also heard other guests enjoying their breakfast all morning long, as we tried to catch a few more moments of sleep. We did request a room change, but the hotel was fully occupied.

But all this said - we would stay at this hotel again. I would just request a room towards the back of the hotel, to ensure a quieter morning.

  • Liked — The wine & cheese reception, breakfast and location
  • Disliked — The noise from the breakfast area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    262
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
117
719
73
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

While traveling to Napa and Sonoma Valley we stayed on either end of our trip here. What a great little boutique hotel at Union Square. From the minute we arrived, the front desk was nothing but cordial and helpful. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The evening wine and cheese was fun because we had such great conversation with other guests including a couple from New Zealand. The late evening cookies and tea were a nice touch before we went to bed after dinner on the town. The morning breakfast of pastries, croissants, yogurts and various breads to toast was filling. The coffee was outstanding and kept us going for the morning. We highly recommend this little gem to all who are traveling to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed here for a week in May and loved the place. We normally stay in the bigger, more anonymous type of hotels and were a bit sceptical about staying in such a small hotel but it was wonderful.

Staff - Ken was fabulous and seemed to work a lot of hours - he was great in restaurant and bar recommendations and was really friendly and helpful with everything. The maids and room service staff were also really worthy of a mention. Each night the rooms were turned down, chocolates and bottles of water left for us too.

Rooms - Modern, spacious rooms with very comfortable beds, nice seating area, desk and large LCD TV. Bathroom was quite small but the shower although looked quite old was a brilliant powerful shower. Loved the robes that were left for us, a nice touch that you normally only get if staying in superior class rooms in the bigger hotels. Only downside about the hotel was the lack of air conditioning in the rooms as it was over 100 degrees when we were there so it was a bit on the hot side.

Extras - As you'll have seen mentioned numerous times, the wine & cheese put out each evening was brilliant - not just your cheap plonk either, quality wines with an assortment of soft and hard cheeses, crackers, grapes and soft drinks too. This together with the brilliant breakfasts and the cookies at bedtime were fantastic little extras. Also free wireless internet in the rooms was a bonus.

Location - First class - 1 minutes walk from Union Square, 1 minutes walk from the tram line and about 5 mins walk from the modern shopping centre.

Little recommendations - if you want to treat yourselves to a nice place for a drink, head down one block to the Clift Hotel. Amazing place for a couple of drinks and a nice relaxing evening. Best trip we did is the Fire Engine tour - go aboard an open top big red fire engine and cross the Golden Gate Bridge - it's brilliant fun!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, lovely rooms, extra little complimentary touches
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We had 3 weeks in California planned for our honeymoon and chose San Francisco as our first stop. We absolutely loved the city and The Inn at Union Square was the perfect location. It is small but perfectly formed with fantastic but relaxed service. We arrived late on our first night and we were recommended a wonderful place for breakfast the morning after which was fantastic. The relaxed 'help-yourself' breakfast in the hotel was also great and really well done. The location was great; near to shops, all types of transport for exploring the city, car hire facilities around the corner, restaurant, cafes, bars etc. This place is exceptional value!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — View from room window
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

I went to San Francisco in June on business and since I book short notice all the chain hotels were really expensive. I searched for boutique hotels and found The Inn at Union Square with a great rate less than half of the big guys. Being a little wary of unknown hotels I always rely on Trip Advisor to help me make decisions and this time was no exception. The reviews were all fantastic and for good reason. This is a really nice hotel with great staff. It's a little old but that adds to the charm especially in San Francisco. You can hear the cable car bells running down Powell Street which you are literally only steps from. I couldn't believe how close it is to Union Square. You are also only a few blocks from Nob Hill and China Town (five minute walk).

Bed was comfortable, there is a business center, wine and cheese every evening and a decent continental breakfast with real pastries every morning (not the Courtyard buffet junk - if you are a frquent traveler you know what I mean). Turndown service is a nice touch too. The staff were all very friendly and David at the front desk was really helpful in helping me select a restaurant. Parking is a little step if you vallet but the Union Square garage is only a block away.

They are located right next to the JW Marriot and across the street from the Westin St. Francis and I just smiled to myself that I was staying in this great little hotel, enjoying the same location and paying less than half the price of those guys.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No airconditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

My husband and I visited San Fran for five nights in early June with my in-laws. I was appointed "hotel finder." After reading countless positive reviews and finding an outstanding rate for this hotel on their website, I confidently booked two rooms.

Our stay was perfect in every way, and I won't go into all the details because the amenities are described in almost every review here, but please know that we all agreed this was one of our all time favorite places to stay. Right off the trolley line and union square, breakfast and snacks included, ROBES in the room, friendly & helpful staff, and extremely comfortable rooms. I read on a few reviews about the rooms being small, but I have to disagree with this. We stayed in a regular king, and there was more than enough room. A side table with two chairs on one side, and a desk/vanity on the other side. The bathroom is a good size, not massive, but I have stayed in places with much smaller. No AC, but had a ceiling fan and opened our window. Our view was a brick wall, but we didn't mind because our room was quiet as can be.

I love staying at hotels, it is always a thrill for me, and I have stayed in a lot of hotels. This place goes on the top of my list, seriously. I'm sure you could stay at a very fancy/expensive hotel and love it, but why not spend the bulk of your money on meals, shows and shopping? This place has incredible value, without short changing you on amenities or comfort.

  • Liked — Breakfast, snacks, location, comfortable & quiet room
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We found the Inn at Union Square in San Francisco very charming, a small scale hotel with lots of service and suggestions from the very friendly front desk concierges. The rooms were small, but very comfortable and clean and provided well with a nice size flat screen TV and other usual expected hotel equipment. The only snag I experienced there was that my phone was not working initially and after being serviced, I never received the hand-set, but got by using speaker phone.

Loved the extensive complementary breakfast set ups in the kitchen/sitting areas at the end of each floor, and the wine and cheese presentation from 5:30 p.m. until 7:00 p.m. was a nice way to get to know other hotel occupants and experience some good wine and snacks--a little briefing to what we experienced on the second leg of our trip, Napa and Sonoma Valley for wine tasting!

Great suggestions from the front desk personnel on places to go, eat and see. The hotel is so centrally located, we were within walking distance to most attractions: Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco Center Shopping Mall, Chinatown, and great restaurants with diverse ethnic cuisines. We walked around the corner from the hotel one night to take in some good blues at a club called Biscuits and Blues. The last night of our stay, we took a short walk to a lovely French restaurant called Cafe Claude. It was the favorite of our stay in San Francisco--cozy French ambiance with an especially informative wine educator, who gave a lengthy list of suggestions for our visit to Napa.

My highest compliments go out to Inn at Union Square and I would enjoy another stay there unquestionably.

  • Liked — Small scale, comfortable atmosphere with friendly service
  • Disliked — Really nothing that I could not deal with
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.