We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oceanport, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loved this hotel. Planned to stay only two nights and then move on to another location, but was so impressed that we decided to stay 5 days. Wonderful location. Clean, comfy room, albeit small. Awesome staff- couldn't be more helpful or gracious! Free breakfast was an unexpected array of better than average choices. Free wine and cheese every day at 5:30. Tea and apples available throughout the day. Fresh bakery quality cookies and chocolates awaiting our return in the evening. Also free bottles of water placed in room every day! Every little bit of extra attention to detail adds up to a super stay. Big thanks to our Innkeeper, Wayne and his staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    273
    47
    17
    6
See reviews for
124
744
73
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the first leg of our trip to California. So very happy we chose this hotel. The room was very clean, the staff was so pleasant and helpful, cleaning help were just super, our every need was accommodated. The room is quite small as the other reviewers have mentioned, but really no complaints. The bed was very comfortable. The only negative was the carpet needed to be cleaned....we were told they were going to replace the carpet in the near future. All in all, and very nice stay and appreciated the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback from your June visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodating staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds. As mentioned, we have indeed replaced all carpeting in the guest rooms. Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This small hotel is exactly as all the previous reviews describe. Spotless, friendly and helpful staff, great location and more than adequate breakfast.

The 5pm drinks and nibbles are a great way to meet fellow guests (in our case attending the same conference as my husband), and we welcomed free access to the room internet and hot drinks at the end of the corridor.

I needed daily medication to be kept in the fridge, and it was never a problem for the staff to get it for me.

When we left, the staff ordered a taxi from the service known to them which was great, and at no extra cost.
We arrived via the Bart, and that was an easy short walk up the hill.

As one of our bags was delayed on arrival, we had to buy a few items, all very close by.
The Walgreens pharmacy nearby even had my eye drops ready made up once a doctor had phoned them through- all very convenient for tired travelers.

Nice Aveda toiletries and a chocolate on the pillow in the evening.

No room air-conditioning but windows easily opened for fresh air.

Noted many homeless people around this area, possibly due to the very nearby park.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the corridor may be quieter than near the lift and kitchenette area.
See more room tips
Green Features: No room air-conditioning but windows easily opened.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our central location, spotless rooms, friendly and attentive staff as well as our complimentary breakfast, evening wine hour and WiFi. The staff take great pride in providing an exceptional experience to our guests and appreciate your comments greatly. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent a week in San Francisco and we are so incredibly happy we chose the Inn at Union Square. The location is perfect, the staff is so friendly and accomodating and very kind. We enjoyed talking with them every evening. The room was very clean and very comfortable and very quiet. We slept with the windows open every night and heard no disturbing noises from the street or in the hallways. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful!! We enjoyed having a quiet breakfast in the 6th floor kitchen area every morning. The Scones were Awesome!!! The wine/cheese hour was fantastic. We looked forward to that every evening. We also loved the Chocolate chip cookies every night and the complimentary turndown service with the chocolates as well!!! All the little touches this hotel provided was greatly appreciated because this made our trip all the more special. Even the fruit in the kitchen areas were great. All in all we LOVED this hotel and would defintely go back in a hearbeat!!!

Room Tip: The 6th floor rooms are very quiet! No disturbing street noises or elevator noises from guests goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We came from the Napa Valley and were allowed to bring our bags the morning of our arrival which saved us lugging them through the BART - which was a great start. We then got a call informing us when the room was ready that afternoon. When we finally arrived to check-in we found we had been upgraded for our anniversary and upon entering the awesome room found chocolates and a bottled of champagne with a nice note expressing their warm wishes for us. The staff was SO friendly from the front desk to the room service staff. We really felt wanted. THe room was very clean and bed extremely comfortable, and we were right in all the action on Union Square. I highly recommend staying here as they are very reasonably priced compared with neighboring large hotels, and as I said make you feel appreciated and wanted. We only partook in the afternoon wine / snacks once but was nice to have coming off a long day of walking. Great place to stay in SF!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at the Inn. Have traveled extensively for over 30 years and this experience was one of my favorites. I didn't expect the property to truly live up to the reviews but it exceeded them. All of the employees were great, but the innkeeper Wayne and Ann from the front were truly EXCEPTIONAL. I'm not typically a "problem child" but had a couple of very unusual requests - they went above and beyond reason to accommodate me, and seemingly did so with pleasure. This property makes guest satisfaction their top priority, and Wayne takes great pride in the Inn.His commitment and love of the property is evident in every aspect of their service and amenities. The Inn at Union Square is the best of both worlds - you receive the warmth and personal attention of a B & B and the privacy of a hotel. I asked a housekeeper if the BART strike was affecting her and learned she'd spend 3 hrs getting to work, yet she was sincerely happy to be there. Happy employees make for happy guests. Great job, Wayne and Ann - we will never stay anywhere else when visiting San Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Truly an outstanding hotel! The staff is so accomodating and friendly. Our room was well appointed and spotless. There's a lovely continental breakfast, coffee, tea and cookies mid-day and wine and cheese in the evening- all complemetary! There's even turn-down service complete with a chocolate left atop the pillow .The location is ideal for exploring SF too.

Green Features: The Inn at Union Square is very pro environmental awareness and encourages guests to be thoughtful about it.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are pleased you enjoyed our clean, well appointed rooms, complimentary evening wine reception and breakfast as well as our fresh baked cookies each night. We are looking forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.