We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at The Inn @ Union Square at the the end of May 2013 for 4 nights. We had a king room, which consisted of two rooms - a bedroom with really comfy bed, very tastefully decorated and a second sitting room, a nice added bonus. We found The Inn to be in an excellent location, close to everything yet nice and quiet. We liked the tea/coffee room on our floor where would also get cookies in the evening. The overall feel of The Inn is elegant and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. If you like Thai food there is an excellent Thai Restaurant just up the road called Ah Roi. Will definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and we were on second floor not far from lift which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased that you enjoyed our quiet, comfortable rooms, our friendly and helpful staff and our central and convenient location. We hope to welcome you back soon and often.


At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    295
    49
    17
    6
See reviews for
134
799
76
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 while in SF for a conference. The hotel is very central, and within easy walk of the CBD, Chinatown and the Moscone Centre.

My room was clean, well-stocked and comfortable. Breakfast is served as a continental buffet, and there are also wine and nibbles each evening.

The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are knowledgeable about local amenities, tours etc. and were very efficient at booking taxis etc.

Because of an error on my part (I forgot that I crossed the date line and got my date or arrival wrong), I arrived a day earlier than my booking. However, the staff were excellent at arranging alternative accommodation for me at a nearby hotel just for that night, at a very reasonable rate.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. Will be staying here again when I next come to SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are glad to hear you found our central location just off Union Square enhanced your stay as well as our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour. On behalf of the entire staff at the Inn, we look forward to your return visit.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
662 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose a junior king suite for a 3 night stay. It had plenty of room, was very nicely appointed and being located at rear of property provided a very peaceful environment. We had 3 great sleeps with no annoying noises. All the staff are very pleasant, a great team that are willing and able to assist. It felt a very well run establishment. Its smallness allows the right level of personal interaction so you feel like you are in a B&B rather than a city downtown hotel. A good continental self serve breakfast is included. Little touches like complimentary wine and cheese with the innkeeper and other guests each evening is part of a quality experience. Very good internet. Located half a block from Union square and trolley car to Fisherman's Wharf, you are very central and among main retail section of San Fran with many transport options to other areas whether walking or via bus, tram or train. Plenty of nearby quality restaurants for dinner. I highly recommend with my only complaint what you pay for car parking, but no different to anywhere else in this town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

With all the hotel choices, we couldn't have been happier with The Inn at Union Square. The service and the friendly staff make this place top notch. The large room with living area, second bath and dressing area was a nice surprise. The wine and cheese and warm cookies nightly and the continental breakfast are just more things to love about The Inn. Well done and in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your patronage and for sharing your feedback. Our staff takes great pride and pleasure providing exceptional service to our guests and our grateful for the acknowledgement of their efforts. We are pleased you enjoyed our amenities including the complimentary breakfast, evening wine reception and fresh baked cookies. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when travels return you to San Francisco

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Based on tripadvisor reviews we chose this Inn and were so glad we did. We stayed 3 nights in room 403. The room is quite dark as it is very close to a brick wall but as we spent most of our days out and about it was perfectly fine. All the room doors are older and heavy and can make a noise when they close so can be heard along the corridor. As others have mentioned there are open spaces on each floor with windows onto Post St where there are fridges/ice tea and coffee. On the 3rd and 5th floors there is a buffet breakfast laid out in the morning and wine and cheese each evening. We met so many interesting people, shared a cab to Alcatraz with guests from Toronto, and drank some lovely wine as we were hosted and entertained by Wayne. These times of being a community even while travelling in a foreign place really made our time here in SF very special. The Inn also has a business room on the 2nd floor which has a PC and printer which was helpful for printing out tickets and downloading pics from my camera to my data stick. Wireless Internet is offered for free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wonderful staff! Shout-outs to Omar, Anne and Oliva (front desk). Also to Wayne, the most unassuming Innkeeper and a great story teller. Some of the rooms are small and some aren't
so what some people have written about small rooms can be true. We had a junior king suite and it was a nice sized room. The hotel itself is squeezed in a very tight spot such that if you don't get a room in the front (xx1) or back (xx7), I imagine that your view is the brick wall of the building next door. The continental breakfast is a nice touch, just a little something to get you going in the morning. The evening wine and cheese reception is also nice. But what really impressed me was that the staff was willing to set up an earlier wine and cheese reception for a group that was going out earlier in the evening and would not have otherwise been able to enjoy the reception -- that is great customer service!!

Definitely not a typical American type of hotel - big common areas, tons of people, tons of amenities. So if this is what you want, suggest you go to the Westin's around the corner. Reminds me more of a European hotel - tight spaces (2 extra-large people could not walk side-by-side in the hallway), quaint, comfortable. According to Wayne, a little under 50% of their guests are international so striking up a conversation during breakfast or the wine reception can be very interesting.

Great location, within a block, you have Union Square, cable cars and tour buses (hop on, hop off variety). Tons of shopping. We didn't drive but took the taxi everywhere -- Embarcadero, Pier 39, ATT Park. Probably a bit cheaper due to parking rates, definitely more convenient and easier on the nerves (they drive crazy). Be careful walking southwest - go too far and you will be in some not so good areas (Tenderloin district) but beyond that is the Civic Center and Theater district. China Town is close by (northeast) but it's uphill so make sure you are fit for that trek. If you like being in the center of things, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the sounds of the city and can afford it, take the 2-room suite in the front (xx1). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and helpful tips for future travelers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at Union Square and that you found our central location, great service and complimentary offerings, such as evening wine hour and continental breakfast, added to your experience. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon and often.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Let me start by saying it was a close call as to whether this was a "four star" or a "five star" review (I wish there was a "four and half": it's a really really good hotel...but dated. Location was fantastic. Room size was small (as you'd except for central San Francisco) but value was excellent and the personal service was superb - the staff were friendly, attentive, helpful and personal. I loved the 'cheese and wine' every evening whils the hotle staff regailed stories! I would definitely stay again and recommend to others. It's an Inn (not a full service hotel) but there's a Mortons next door that does in room dining deliveries. It was a great touch that Wayne had a bottle of champagne sent to our room for the special occasion we were celebrating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.