We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off When You Pre-Pay
Ranked #3 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“lovely small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a treat! An incredibly quiet room right off Union Square, soo comfortable, with a nice sitting area. Great breakfast buffet and terrific staff. Nice wine/cheese selection at cocktail hour, and yummy cookies in the evening. I felt quite spoiled, and loved the bathrobe, high quality hairdryer and amenities as well...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    781
    246
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
106
651
68
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a wonderful 4 day business stay at this lovely inn in April.

This hotel was quite special. The service was spot on - not intrusive but always ready to assist: the manager was welcoming, Ken and Omar at the front deck were helpful with restaurant advise, and cleaning staff provided turndown service with bedside chocolates.

Nearly every detail has been refined to meet the travelers needs: from the complimentary breakfast and evening wine/cheese (3rd & 5th floors), morning paper SF Chronicle (can substitute with NYTimes, but Chronicle's tech section is quite interesting), coffee/tea/hot chocolate 24/7, complimentary water in rooms, Aveda bath products and small placard with turndown service that has the next day's weather forecast.

Lastly my room was very quiet, not only with respect to my neighbors but also from street noise, which was surprising since this hotel is almost right on Union Square, which has nearly constant car and foot traffic.

Although my company would have paid for any chain hotel, I was quite happy to find this hidden gem in this bustling city.

Room Tip: breakfast & evening wine/cheese are served on the 3rd & 5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding your recent business trip to San Francisco. We are certainly pleased to hear you enjoyed our amenities including our complimentary breakfast, evening wine and cheese, turn-down service with complimentary bottled water and morning newspapers. Our quiet yet central location allows for easy access to bustling city outside our front doors. Ken, Omar and the rest of the staff look forward to your return visit, which we hope is soon.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week during our fourth stay in SF. Absolutely agree with other reviewers that the staff were delightful and that the breakfast and wine reception each evening was lovely.
We did however find our Queen room to be quite small and the bed in particular felt more like a double than a Queen. The entire hotel is tiny - yes I realize it is a boutique hotel - so small in fact that you need to walk single file down the hall way to your room. Rooms are quaint but a little dated.
Can see why so many people rate the hotel highly - it has such a comfortable, homely feel but based on the above, we figured it just wasnt right for us. We will stick to a more modern, larger place next time.
This may suit you if you're looking for a Bed and Breakfast type of place in the city, but for those used to a little luxury it's not the place for you. We have found the Intercontinental to be fantastic in SF previously.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the elevators as possible. This will minimize elevator and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights from April 3 - April 6, 2013. I had never (!) been to San Francisco before even though we live in San Diego, and was delighted with this updated, yet comfortably old hotel. Loved Wayne (I think that was his name...apologies if not) who was part of evening complimentary wine and cheese on the 3rd floor...he appears to know everything there is to know about this city...and made some great dinner recommendations! Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly...would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife had a lovely 4 night stay. Our purpose for travel was mix of business meetings and pleasure. We opted out of the corporate rates at adjacent hotels in favor or the I@US.

Upon arrival friendly Ken & Omar greeted us and literally within 5-6 minutes we were in our room. Comfortable beds and pillows--heck, we have already been on www.downetc.com (located in SF) to purchase pillows they use in the room. Super comfy.

Mind you, the hotel is "shotgun" style, narrow hallways, cozy rooms, and small bathrooms. But that said, these are not negatives, just descriptors. Very quiet. On the 3rd and 5th floors you will enjoy continental breakfast with delicious coffee in the a.m., Wine and cheese "hour" from 5:30-7:00ish, and warm cookies every evening. The complimentary turndown service with chocolates adds to the feeling of being spoiled.

Innkeeper, Wayne, makes his rounds as roving, friendly concierge. The general customer service is second to none and locations is ideal. You will be staying in between two signature restaurants, Morton Steakhouse & Farallon Restaurant. Union Square is at the corner. You will be in the heart of endless shopping and dining options but the rooms are very quiet. We were in 404.

TIP: shut the drapes before leaving. The morning sun comes in and will warm the room up.

TIP: Sir Francis Drake Hotel is directly across the street, a favorite for Moscone Center shuttles for conference attendees, so when I didn't feel like making the 15 minute walk to Moscone, I'd hitch a ride.

TIP: SPEAKING OF RIDES, I may be the last one to learn of this service, but for taxis, I used Über. Amazing app for the iPhone or android! From your phone you summon a black car and it shows up at your hotel door or wherever you're at. It texts you arrival time etc, pays your fare online and emails you your receipt. Use the following link to get $10 off your first ride: http://www.uber.com/invite/uberInn@UnionSquareDiscount

TIP: For general cab service, most of them don't know he the Inn is located. A simple way is to direct them to Farallon which is 8 steps away next door.

Make reservations with confidence! You will be very pleased in your choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests for four nights. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Inn. Our staff strives to provide exceptional service to all our guests and spoil them with special extras such as evening turn-down service, fresh baked cookies each night, our complimentary wine hour and morning breakfast. We are glad you found our beds comfortable and our location ideal. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the near future.


At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a lovely three day stay at the inn last week and would definitely stay here again. It is central yet quiet and the breakfast and wine/ hors douvres are a big plus as well. Also cookies are waiting for you at night. The inn keeper is friendly and present and the desk staff are courteous helpful and knowledgeable. Couldn't ask for more. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Union Square for 3 nights the last weekend of March. We absolutely LOVED this hotel. I read a million reviews on so many hotels before we booked and I could not have been happier with our selection. From the amazing service off the staff to the evening happy hours you can't go wrong staying here. I can't say enough about this place. I don't think we have ever spent so much time inside the hotel when we have been on vacation before. This place truly felt like "home" and we were sad to leave when our 3 days were up! We will not stay anywhere else when we got back to SF. Do not hesitate booking here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to have had you as our guests in March and we appreciate the feedback. Our staff prides themselves on providing each guest with an individualized experience to ensure an enjoyable, productive and pleasant stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back which we hope is soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.