We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off When You Pre-Pay
Ranked #3 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cameron Park, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Inn at Union Square and really enjoyed it. Free wi-fi, great continental breakfast and coffee, wine and cheese in the evening and cookies at night all added up to a fun trip to the City. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and there was always hot water for a shower (water pressure is low but it's an old building). The best part was the staff, always greeting you when you passed through the lobby and offering to help you with any needs. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    243
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
107
668
70
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this gem of an inn during Easter weekend and loved it. Here are our notes and suggestions:

- we got champagne on our arrival - great touch! and an upgrade too for no charge
- umbrella in the room: good for SF rain
- continental breakfast: only suggestion is to change it up since we had the same sort of pastries the entire time
- wine and cheese every evening: nice touch!
- good customer service and friendly staff
- cleaning staff was a bit anxious sometimes to get in and clean though
- great location in union square!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parshall, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Inn after reading reviews on Trip advisor and were extremely pleased with the entire experience. The staff is amazing, making restaurant recommendations, helping with directions, arranging transportation to the airport and overall going out of their way to make our stay warm and friendly. The morning continental breakfast is a perfect way to start a busy day and the assortments are plenty. The evening wine and cheese events were a great touch and we enjoyed this time immensely. you could mingle with other's or go relax in your room with a glass of wine and an assortment of cheese, meat, nuts and fruit. We have been to SF numerous times and have stayed at many really great properties but the Inn surpasses them all. Thanks again to Wayne, Omar, Ann and all the rest of the staff for providing such a great environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a gem! Everything that needs to be said about this place has been said so I'll be brief. We had never been to San Francisco before and arrived after driving from Vancouver, through Oregon's hinterland and Yosemite.
After negotiating the traffic via the Oakland Bridge and admiring the wonderful surrounds at Golden Gate Bridge, the Inn looked quite inconspicuous - but were we in for a pleasant surprise. The staff in the tiny lobby were extremely obliging and from there things only got better. The decor reflected the historic nature of the building and the rooms - although compact - had tasteful fittings and lovely furniture.
Best of all was the location - just a short walk from Union Square and the historic trams which provide great access to all the historic and cultural sites.
Ignore all the big names and try out this place; we loved the Inn - thanks so very much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We found the Inn on TripAdvisor, and were pleasantly surprised by it. Small, somewhat dated, but with all the touches that make a few days in a new city interesting. Advice, courtesy, and service were all appreciated. We were even contacted after we returned home. Central to everything this is a great boutique hotel where we will certainly stay again. (and they love children!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was lucky enough to have a couple of spare days in San Francisco on a recent business trip to the US, and staying here helped me make the most of those days. If a small hotel is to compete effectively with the big names it has to have something special and this place has a few things - exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, really high-quality rooms, excellent bed, free and high-speed wifi. It's also in a good location near to the very busy Union Square, but my room on the sixth floor was lovely and quiet. I didn't have much of a view, and you should be aware that it doesn't have a proper dining room - you either take breakfast back to your room, or sit in the little area at the end of the corridor. But these are minor points only. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Probably best to be away from the kitchen/sitting area at the end of each corridor
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us at the Inn at Union Square. We are very pleased you enjoyed our high speed complimentary internet, central and convenient location, complimentary breakfast and quiet comfortable rooms. Our staff takes great pleasure and pride in providing exceptional service to ensure our guests have a pleasant and productive experience. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Located literally just a few steps away from Union Square; the perfect location for access to public transportation including the cable car. Daily wine reception ideal opportunity to exchange travel tips with other guests while sampling local wines (soft drinks available). Can't speak highly enough of Front desk staff really knowledge and helpful. Wide selection available for the continental breakfast; option to take away for private in-room breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our offerings and service, especially the location on Union Square, our complimentary wine hour and breakfast as well as our personable and knowledgeable front desk staff. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.