We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second-to-none service and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second-to-none service and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I have never bothered to write a review of a hotel before, and now, four months after our stay, I still wanted to take the time to review the Inn at Union Square. That says something in and of itself. We stayed in August for a small segment of our honeymoon, which I noted when I booked the room. When we arrived we'd been expected and were excitedly greeted by the woman at the front desk when we gave our name. They gave us a room upgrade and had champagne chilling when we got upstairs. They went out of their way to welcome us in a way you won't find at the big corporate downtown hotels.
The innkeeper (I want to say his name is Walter but I can't remember) escorted us to our room and was a WEALTH of info the entire time, as it was our first visit to S.F. He told us where to eat, drink, and how to get there--he know everything. He also hosted the evening wine and cheese gatherings, which really make this place special because you get to know strangers from all over the world and sit around a diverse group laughing and enjoying good wine before heading out for dinner. Our suite was cozy and quiet on the fourth floor and we enjoyed the breakfast and of course free wi-if. Very charming and unique boutique hotel that has sold me on the concept. I will never bother with another hotel when I visit San Francisco again, which I hope to do soon. Stop looking and book it already.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in August and for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and your kind words. We pride ourselves on providing a unique experience for each guest. We are pleased you enjoyed Wayne's company and Ann’s greeting. Complimentary breakfast, wi-fi and our wine hour are all things we like to pamper our guests with. Congratulations again on your recent nuptials and we look forward to your return visit, perhaps for your anniversary?

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    261
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
117
719
73
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Inn at Union Square knows how to treat its' patrons. Each staff member is friendly, courteous and eager to help. Our room was small, but elegant, with a king-size bed, two reading chairs and a desk with free wi-fi access. The continental breakfast offered excellent coffee, juice, a variety of breads, cereal and hard-boiled eggs. We felt well fortified as we prepared for a day of touring and Christmas shopping each morning. The evening wine and cheese gatherings were very nice, with good quality choices in each category. We drove to San Francisco from southern California, so we had to deal with the traffic and the steep parking fees. The long wait for the valet to retrieve our car was inconvenient. Next time, we will probably park our own car, so that we will be able to reach it as soon as we need it. However, we do plan to return to this boutique hotel. It's location near beautifully decorated Union Square, high-end stores and outstanding eateries is worth fighting the crowds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn during a wedding weekend and enjoyed our experience. The nightly wine and cheese gatherings and the continental breakfast in a "parlor" setting were quite nice. Very convenient for shopping. The entire staff was quite pleasant and helpful. I would recommend getting a suite for the added space.

Room Tip: get as large a suite as you can for the additional space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased you enjoyed our convenient location near all the best shopping in San Francisco. We are even more pleased that you enjoyed our pleasant and helpful staff. They take great pride in providing every guest with a great experience. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I go to the Inn at Union Square every year near Christmas time to see the lights and take in the holiday spirit. We do our Christmas shopping and find the location so conveinient to rest in between stores and dinner. The Inn is very friendly, well located and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Inn is centrally located within the very active union square location. The location is a dream for the keen shoppers! Easy walk to the bart station for those using the bart from the airport and the cable car runs literally 50m away with an easy walk to the first / last stop on powell.

Special mention to Wayne the house keeper who is very welcoming and the nightly wine and cheese hour is an additional treat!

Staff are very friendly and super helpful.

Site manger was kind enough to work me down to the bart station when i had done a little too much shopping and had one too many bags.

Highly recommended and family friend place.

Will return one day and have started advising all family and friends to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words and for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased you found our location near Bart and Union Square, our wine hour and personalized service to your liking and that you will recommend our hotel to your friends and family. Wayne and the rest of the staff are very appreciative of the mentions as we all enjoy pampering our guests and accommodating their needs. We do hope you return soon.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife recently stayed here while celebrating our 25th anniversary and could not have been happier with our choice. They were gracious enough to provide us with a bottle of champagne and chocolates to help celebrate. The entire staff (especially Ken) were terrific and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast and wine tasting were a wonderful touch. The room was neat and clean. Much more personal attention than staying at something sterile and unfriendly like one of the major chains. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for your patronage. We were so happy to be a part of your 25th anniversary and glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of the staff (especially Ken) and the personalized service you received and we hope to see you back for your 26th anniversary.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Small but enjoyable hotel providing great value. Location so close to Union Square was great. Accommodation was clean with well appointed rooms. Loved the wine and cheese touch late in the afternoons. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are very pleased you appreciated the complimentary wine and cheese hour and our clean and well appointed guest rooms. Our prime location makes visiting the sights of San Francisco quite easy. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.