We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off When You Pre-Pay
Ranked #3 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Came here on the back of the great reviews and was not disappointed. This is a truly great hotel.

To start with, probably the easiest check in we've ever had and we were told our room had been upgraded to a junior king suite (we'd booked a king room). Also told we could go up to wine and cheese session if we wanted. Room was at the back of the hotel and quiet away from street noise. Bed large and comfortable with good shower. Clean room with water and chocolate given in the evening with card of the next days weather.

The hotel is in a great location only steps from Union Square, the cable cars etc. The staff at the front desk are pleasant and helpful with recommendations for things to do and good restaurants.

Breakfast is a spread of very good pastries with coffee, orange juice and water to drink. The wine and cheese in the evening is a good way to meet other guests, and the white wine we tried was really very nice.

Overall we had a great stay, and if we ever returned to SF I would definitely stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    243
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
107
668
70
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not only was the location fantastic, (super close to great shopping, restaurants & sights) but the entire hotel is so clean, cozy and comfortable. The breakfast and complimentary happy hour were great. But the best of all is the staff, everyone were exceptionally warm and welcoming, helping us with what ever we needed. And do not leave with out meeting Wayne the Inn Keeper. he has so much knowledge about every aspect of San Fran, and he's a great guy to have a drink with at the happy hour!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. Ann at the front desk was fabulous! She found out we were celebrating my boyfriend's 50th birthday and had champagne, chocolates and a rose sent up to the room!
Great location, very comfortable bed.
The hotel is older but very nice. Continental breakfast was average. Evening wine and cheese was very good!

Room Tip: The only con is the elevator is very small. I chose to take the stairs, even though it was 4 flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at Union Square and that you found our staff, beds and wine hour to your liking. Once again, Happy Birthday and thank you for your patronage and your feedback.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed in many many hotels worldwide in my time and Inn On The Square, San Francisco has to go down as one of the best ever. The hotel is ideally located a few steps from Union Square with all its shopping, restaurants and entertainment. Our room was comfortable, spaceous, spotlessly clean and so quiet and peaceful. The management and staff are extremely welcoming and provide the highest standards of hotel service and helpfulness in getting the the best out of our visit to San Francisco, even bookking tickets for us on the spot. A lovely complimentary continental breakfast is provided which we took to our rooms, a rarity I find, in America, there is even a daily wine and hors d'oeuvres party, also complimentary. Coffee, tea and fruit are available at all times. In the end we didn't want to leave, my wife and I both highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again if we return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This small hotel was fantastic - we can't say anything bad about it. Our suite was lovely and large, with free bubbles (great surprise). All the staff were friendly and Wayne the Inn Keeper is a bundle of knowledge and very entertaining. Lovely breakfast and very welcoming evening wine and nibbles after a day's walking, cycling etc. Very close to Union Square, shops and great restaurants. This was our final hotel after a 5 week holiday and very hard to leave - HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ALL.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, which was a very quiet rear room and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel does not look like much, sandwiched into a very narrow building indeed. However, it is warm, welcome, friendly, and the folks who work here really are consciously helpful. Though there was no real office work space, they were very supportive when we took over one of the brunch areas all day in order to work. The rooms are bigger than you would think from the hall sizes (which are really incredibly narrow!). Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again at any point.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have light-bearing windows, with only a view of a brick wall a meter away. This i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had our best hotel experience here! Everyone we came into contact with was exceptionally nice and helpful. We were expecting big city feel but received a small town welcome! From the amazing breakfast to the wine reception, fresh baked cookies and turn down service with bottled water and chocolates every night we had trouble going home! Thanks Wayne for your amazing hospitality and suggestions of things to do/see and eat in the city. We loved the boutique feel of the hotel and thought it was exceptionally clean. The hotel has a super great location on a quiet side street but right downtown in the middle of everything. Everyone was so nice and helpful from booking our hotel room to reserving a cab for our departure we sure felt spoiled! Thanks again for everything. We'd make a trip back to the city just to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.