We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn at the Heart of San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Union Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Inn at the Heart of San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Location, location, location. All the requirements of a successful visit are within steps of the front door. Restaurants, shopping, theatres, transportation links, tourist sites, bars and car rentals are easily accessible by foot. The staff, no problem is too big, no problem is too small, for them to help make your stay easier and more enjoyable. They were friendly, engaging, knowledgable, they addressed our concerns professionlly and with a smile on their face. What a pleasure dealing with people who take their job seriously and do it well. Their service was first rate. As often happens with our travel plans, they changed on the go. Rather then returning to the airport with a car rental to go home, we decided to return to SF for a couple extra nights. Not having anything booked and the Inn booked, we asked to be emailed if anything opened up. Before we had returned, the staff had notified us of an opening and booked us in for our last two nights. Having to return the vehicle by noon we were prepared to wait to check but upon our arrival we found a room ready. The rooms we stayed in were the '06 rooms. They are a jr. suite room. There was room to spread out in they were clean and well kept and the bed was comfortable. Don't worry about no air conditioning SF is a maritime climate and cools at night. Open a window and leave the fan on you'll be fine. What a convenience to be able to have a quick light or more sustaining breakfast in the sitting rooms on the third and fifth floors. Over a cup of coffee with a stranger, we discovered we had a mutual friend, how cool! In the evening these sitting rooms were set with snacks, drinks and wine. Staying twice over a period of time we literally visited with fellow travelers from around the world. These conversations at times were so interesting that evening plans often got pushed back. The one time this didn't happen was the evening a busker was playing a wonderful jazz trumpet in the square. His music kept drifting in the open window, we finally walked over to listen. It was really a San Francisco treat. If we left our heart in San Francisco it was at the Inn at the heart of San. Francisco, we totally recommend this wonderful hotel and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    258
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
116
713
73
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Spent 3 nights in this small hotel ideally located just steps away from Union Square. The front desk staff are superb. Our room was beautiful and an adequate size although some rooms appeared smaller than ours. The bathroom was small but it was updated and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Yes, the only view was a brick wall and finished private alley but I expected this situation and it is a fair tradeoff for the great location and lower price than the large impersonal hotels nearby (e.g. the Westin St. Francis or the Marriott). Note that there is no air conditioning which was not a problem during our stay with open window and ceiling fan. This could be an issue only if a "heat wave" hits San Francisco which is relatively infrequent. Hallways are narrow but the hotel is small with only 5 to 6 rooms per floor so there is very little traffic. Breakfast in morning is best brought back to the room from small parlor at end of hall since there is only one table for 4 people located there. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to people who prefer small intimate boutique hotels with fantastic personal service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

Small hotel in the center of town. excellent rooms, comfortable and well appointed. nice touches like free wine tasting each evening and a tasty continental breakfast each morning. no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and were able to attend the evening wine reception. Hopefully you will be able to return to the Inn at Union Square soon!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel. It's position is perfect, next to Union Square and all the shops. We had a suite on the 4th floor. Have to mirror what other people have said; the staff are very good, being helpful regarding the assistance requested.

I used the internet quite a bit, which was very good and reliable. The breakfast was at the end of corridors on some of the floors and due to space constraints it was easier to get a tray of food and take it back to our room. The food was as described and perfectly adequate.

All in all very satisfying, but it's the staff that make this such a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Small, but oh la la! Very courteous receptionists. Great little extras in form of a wine reception every evening on our floor (3rd) as well as a continental breakfast buffet - help yourself on the same floor. Convenient location for (walking) visits to Chinatown, the Ferry Building, Market Street, etc.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms ending in'05' and '06', especially on the 3rd and 5th floors, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed for four nights while we explored San Francisco. As a central base, it was ideal. It was comfortable, clean and caring. The furnishings and facilities were more than adequate & the staff were always helpful and, occasionally, entertaining. Nothing was too much bother.

The evening cheese & wine gave us an opportunity to meet other guests and to swap experiences & tips that enriched our stay. We met people from all over & it was a great way to relax. Wayne, the manager, joined us & added his local knowledge and stories. Great fun.

We would highly recommend the Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I spent four nights at The Inn and it was perfect for us. This is an informal Inn rather than a luxury hotel. It does not have a large lobby, restaurants and bars, but It did offer nightly wine and cheese, a great continental breakfast and conversations with fellow travelers from around the world. It is close to everything and we walked everywhere: no car and no taxis.

Room Tip: We had the princess suite on the 6th floor, and it was roomy and comfortable. It overlooked the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.