We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eligant Hotel with an Amazing Bed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #12 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Eligant Hotel with an Amazing Bed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Highly recommend this hotel. It was a pleasure to stay here. The facilities were immaculate. The bed was amazing and it was appreciated after a long flight. I did find the location a little difficult for less mobile people as it it on top of a steep hill.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    219
    81
    37
    29
See reviews for
225
392
32
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed at this particular Fairmont twice now and cannot fault its quality and customer service. The bedding is absolutely beautiful, deep feather mattress toppers and huge duvets to bed down in.
Location is great, a short walk from China town down the infamous San Francisco hills.
Great breakfast to be had, downstairs and in the room.

Another great hotel in the Fairmont chain.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights in the Fairmont at the end of a tour of California. It has real old world charm. The hotel is split between the new tower and the original hotel. We were in the old section and the room was really lovely. It had been recently refurbished and was large and impressive. We were upgraded to a superior room and had a wonderful view of Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay.

One downside of this hotel are the hills - but hey you are in San Francisco!

Room Tip: Phone the hotel a few days before you arrive and ask for an upgrade - it worked for us.
See more room tips
Green Features: There were Split Recycling bins in all of the rooms.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this Hotel a few times now for weekend getaways, its always pleasant and relaxing. The rooms are clean and comfortable with great views from the tower rooms. The stay it self started a bit bumpy due to a bit of chaotic atmosphere when pulling up to the hotel (too many cars and not enough space ended up blocking the road for a good 5 minutes while trying to pull into the hotel with taxis forcing their way in front of you to pick up fares. The door staff didn't even realize we were there, but they did notice us after we have finished unpacking and carrying our luggage up the stairs to the door is when they asked us if we want parking. Geoffrey, from the front desk, I believe his name was, went above and beyond in assisting us and smoothing all the bitter first impressions. The only thing i noticed every time i stayed is that you tend to receive better service/welcoming feeling from their hourly staff then the managers (ones we encountered), which we found it to be a bit odd(to be clear I don't mean as in complaining, the simple greeting walking down the hall or eye contact when you pass each other, so to be clear we never had a complaint or an issue just an observation).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great hotel overall. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room service was ok, ordered the pizza late at night and I felt like it was a frozen pizza. The restaurant, Tonka Room, very unique and fun. Location is perfect, up on a hill, easy to get to union square, Fisherman's Warf, Little Italy, and China Town.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed at the hotel during Memorial Day. We had a very long trip from picking up my daughter from college at Humboldt State and we were very exhausted. This was the first time we stayed at the Fairmont and I cannot say enough how amazing this hotel was.

The two doorman who we encountered when we first entered the property were very accommodating and cheerful individuals. We arrived around 2pm so please extend my gratitude for there kind demeanor.

We entered the lobby and my entire family, surprisingly my 14 year old son as well, was very surprised how grand and beautiful the lobby was. The vaulted ceiling, the space, the décor and the hustle and bustle with guests inside. Breathe taking.

The front desk agent was splendid. She was very nice and forth coming with information about the hotel and the surrounding area. I asked what I can do with my family in short notice and she recommended a few things. All with a smile.

What set my wife and I back was the spacious room we were given, even if it is on the 2nd floor. Holy smokes, very nice. High ceilings, walking closet (wife enjoyed) and the room space. I was very surprised with the walking space inside the room. The beds, though, were hands down the best feature/benefit of the room. With tired minds and body, the bed felt like we were sleeping on clouds.

Two things that caught my eye that was negative, nothing too bad, but still should mention, was the bathroom. When taking a shower, the amount of water dispensing did not match the drainage of the tub. It seemed you were standing in a puddle while taking a shower. Also, several dirty hand/finger marks on the bathroom ceiling lights.

Other than the two items mentioned, my family would definitely stay again and soon. Thank you Fairmont.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The property has a lot of character and it is well maintained.
Location is very central whether you are in SF for business or pleasure.
Very friendly staff and they make sure you feel special - Particularly if you are a member of Fairmont President Club (and you receive complimentary internet during your stay).
Parking at the property can be expensive. Street parking is hard to come by.
We had a corner unit on the 12th floor in the Tower over looking a good portion of downtown SF. Excellent view.
Will come back to this property again next time we're in SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floor in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.