We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay in San francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #16 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“comfortable stay in San francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

our room was spacious, clean and welcoming. we stayed in the tower on the 20th floor with a breathtaking view over the city and the bay. we picked up our car on our last day from hertz in the lobby, which was very convenient, on our last day. the restaurants and bar were pricy, but that is to be expected. the only complaint is that when we arrived, the door man took our bags and we waited 1/2 hour in our room for them until finally we went down to the lobby and found them with the bell hop...3 of them standing around chatting and we took our own bags to our room. the hotel is located in a lovely neighborhood, close to all sights

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    210
    78
    35
    27
See reviews for
206
367
32
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This was a lovely place, and you will enjoy the history behind it. It survived the 1906 earthquake and has hosted heads of state such as JFK. The rooms are comfortable but not as quiet as hoped. Another highlight was the Tonga Room and Hurricane Bar. Convenient to cable car lines; buy the multiday passport at Walgreens.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stunning place to stay. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Fabulous atmosphere. Great staff. I had a lovely balcony room. The staff could not be more helpful and the location cannot be bettered. I would recommend this hotle to travellers. Though expensive compared with others there Re deals. And it's an experience.


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a beautiful landmark hotel. The place is spectacular as you approach, and the main lobby is simply old world gorgeous. The staff is professional and very polite, but not snobby.. The rooms are very clean and simple, but very comfortable and well appointed. Step outside and hop on a cable car, its pure San Francisco

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Dorset, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited this hotel while on a word cruise. The highlight of the trip. Only went for dinner and dance with P&O but I have to say it was a great occasion with a brilliant band and singers. We always remember this night.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From check in to check out the staff and service was outstanding. We received a room upgrade and were in the tower with a bay view. Room service timely and food terrific. Highly recommend. Convenient location, walk to many restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went to San Fran with my fiancée for a week over NYE. We became engaged over Christmas in NYC so we were excited to be staying at a five star hotel for the last leg of our trip.

Standard Room was good, bed was reasonably comfy. Pretty good view of the bay. Shower was very old and water pressure very low. The general service was okay but pretty slow. I understand it was a busy time of year.

The worst part had to be the room service food. Revolting! For what you pay, it was very disappointing, probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.