We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #16 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From check in to check out the staff and service was outstanding. We received a room upgrade and were in the tower with a bay view. Room service timely and food terrific. Highly recommend. Convenient location, walk to many restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    209
    78
    35
    27
See reviews for
206
363
32
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went to San Fran with my fiancée for a week over NYE. We became engaged over Christmas in NYC so we were excited to be staying at a five star hotel for the last leg of our trip.

Standard Room was good, bed was reasonably comfy. Pretty good view of the bay. Shower was very old and water pressure very low. The general service was okay but pretty slow. I understand it was a busy time of year.

The worst part had to be the room service food. Revolting! For what you pay, it was very disappointing, probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great hotel, great experience and such a friendly staff. I'm don't believe I ran into a single staff member who wasn't smiling or above and beyond what I consider helpful. If you can afford to stay, stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We traveled as a family in April. 2 adults 2 kids 2 rooms. we got a great rate by booking early plus 20% off all in hotel dining. everyone was excellent. valet front desk check in concierg servers room service everything. We stayed in the tower on the 19th floor. rooms were spacious clean great amenities. loved the Keurig coffee machine in room. just a grand hotel that is a jewel for the city.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall, a nice 3-day stay. The rooms (standard, in the tower) were attractive with new furniture, art and photos on the walls. Good views of the city. Lovely, big marble bathroom. Comfy, big bed. Great drapes which block out the light almost completely. We appreciated the highly professional bellmen for everything they did for us. Congrats to that team: tip-top. Valet parking is a little rusty: some mix-ups had us waiting 15 minutes in the garage even after calling down 10 minutes beforehand. Polite spazzy (in a good way) check-in / check-out.

Then, there is the secret weapon of the Fairmont... the Tonga Room or simply "Tonga" as they put it these days. It's a long way from Nuku'alofa, a capital city which I have actually spent some time in, but this is one of the more bizarre and wonderful watering holes in San Francisco. Established in the 1940s, presumably influenced by South Pacific island imaginings of returning GIs who saw action there, this place should be declared a National Landmark/Park (with extended opening hours). Fun cocktails, great tropical downpour and faux lightning. While I had a Mai Tai, I envied those who ordered the Zombie, the presentation of which is unforgettable. Why didn't I bring that little green ceramic tiki-man mug back with me to Switzerland, I don't know...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you had such a nice visit and were able to experience much of what the hotel has to offer. As we pride ourselves on service, I'm pleased to hear your kind words about the staff. As you mentioned, Tonga Room is one of a kind not to be missed. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I couldn't have had a better time in San Francisco during our stay at the Fairmont. The facility is modern enough for today, with still maintaining the historic charm of the early 1900s building. We had breakfast in the hotel every morning and we were always so delighted with the options. We will definitely look at staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. We're thrilled to hear you had such a great stay and enjoyed such great service. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a week in April in a standard room with king bed (view of air conditioning units). Foyer of hotel is very grand and our room was big with a huge walk in wardrobe. There is a lovely rooftop garden as well. Bathroom ok but could do with a bit more space around the sink. The room was quite warm at night and the duvet quite thick, not sure the sheets were cotton either which is my personal preference.

Used in room dining in our first night after a long flight, club sandwich and fries which was big enough to share.

If you want free wifi join the presidents club online before you go otherwise you will have to pay.

There is a cafe if you want a quick breakfast before going out which was useful on the days we went out on trips. We didn't try the Laurel Court restaurant. We did visit the Tonga room and had a Mai Tai, very strong cocktail!! Standing room only unless you wanted to wait for a table.

Overall a pleasant stay, reception were very polite upon check in and check out.

Location is good. Yes it's at the top of a hill, but there are hills everywhere in San Francisco so unless you take public transport or drive everywhere you will be walking them anyway to get anywhere. We walked a lot and it was fine. 5 mins to Union Square and Chinatown and about 30 mins to Fishermans Wharf. Obviously slightly longer to get back due to the hills!

Overall a pleasant stay.



Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It sounds like your stay was a pleasant one overall and I'm happy to hear you were able to visit Tonga Room. It is definitely one of a kind and a San Francisco institution. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.