We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #13 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
uk
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A let down ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel is in a wonderful location . The rooms are fantastic , they are a good size with a great bathroom . The hotel is let down hugely by it's waiting staff , and the front desk . William the door man is great . I booked this hotel for my family for Xmas . Travelled from the UK. The hotel has a large Christmas tree and a gingerbread house which has attracted many locals . The problem is it has made the lobby very busy for the people staying at the hotel . Went down for breakfast this morning , was told there was a 30 minute wait , then when we were given a table another hour for the breakfast menu . The buffet was 32 dollars as that was the option but really was not worth it.

The issues are that if the hotel takes reservations for breakfast from people NOT staying at he hotel it is not going to cope . This means the hotel residents get a poor service and then write poor reviews .

Would I stay again at this hotel NO I wouldn't . Take a look at the place hotel in Monterey for a great hotel .

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    138
    54
    21
    15
See reviews for
126
246
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This a a nice hotel with historic visits of manỳ head of states.Nice view of San Francisco from top the hills
The holidays were special with gingerbread house with many visitors.
You can walk with short distance to the Union square shopping center and also mny restaurants with walking distance.
The staff from President Club, Scott is very nice and courteous. The suites is spacious with nice city view very beautiful room.
The hotel location are very convenient, the view ìs beautiful.
This is a nice hotel especially holidays season

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very rude and unacceptable customer service. valet was so rude when we parked our car. Had a reservation for 12 for Christmas Eve morning brunch. It was made a month ago. They didn't have the reservation and made absolutely no attempt to work with our party. Never apologized. Way too arrogant on any level. Gingerbread house is awesome and gal patching it was very nice. We went to Ritz - fabulous breakfast and service. We will be going there from now on This year on... Don't bother staying here.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful hotel from days gone by, well maintained. Parking is 56. A day. Room service is good.
Dining room, undersized and just OK. Staff congenial enough. Lobby is a tourist destination for its average Xmas decorations so it's kinda hectic there with kids, people taking pictures etc. HINT-
Park in/out from garage level instead of valet in front of hotel. Quicker.
I stayed in the tower which I am told is newer! The rooms are comfortable and fine.
Location is in the middle of everything but the walk down the hill to stuff is fine, back up is brutal
Love San Fran

Room Tip: Use parking garage instead of valet for in/out during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent service, comfortable sleep, strategically located. Try to stay at least once during the holiday season. They have this magnificent Ginger bread house made out from the real thing, complete with trains, animatronic elf and sometimes real life almost authentic Father Christmas (not your mall variety!)
The restaurant was no slouch either. Breakfast was excellent, although if you or your partner not a big eater, the a la carte is a better value (maybe).The only thing about SF hotels kitchens, they seem all closed exactly at 10 PM so if you're hungry and it's 0945 PM, you better off get your meal somewhere else or you can order room service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on you recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and the holiday decor. As you mentioned the Gingerbread House is a sight to be seen and fast becoming a must-see in the City. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Gerren took great care of me upon check in, he helped me identify a room better than the one I'd booked for an optimal view and touched base to make sure I was happy with my choice. Can't ask for better. The property, customer service and location were fantastic. Only feedback would be to have a more convenient food option onsite, other than the restaurant which was more of a formal experience than I wanted and wi-fi that is included, which is pretty standard in this day and age. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering engaging service, so it's great to hear of your experience with Gerren. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team, I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Disappointing arrival with no access to the front entrance of the hotel because of bus loads of non-residents blocking the entrance, drive way and the road to enter the hotel. We stayed in our car for so long we could not stay any longer so we were forced to carry all our luggage ( 7 pieces) without any assistance from the street curb to the front reception.

On entering the hotel we were confronted with an overwhelming noise and an unbelievable number of non-residents camping in the foyer and lobby areas. The noise was unbearable and one could hardly hear oneself think. We could hardly move in the lobby areas because of the masses of people (I have photo proof). When we asked the staff what these non-residents are doing the staff told us that they have come to see the popular ginger bread house. We don't mind others coming to see the hotel and it's splendour but the hotel management should make sure their paid guests are their first priority and provide the guests with all comforts. That's the whole reason we paid so much money to stay at the Fairmont and not stayed at a cheap motel !!!

The management should have a rule for non-residents to come in groups of 10 or less to enjoy the beauty of the hotel and leave as soon as possible. Not sit around and camp making a nuisance to the paid guests.

With the "soothing" background noise we could hardly hear the receptionist at check-in. Surprise number 3 followed. It took more than 3 hours for our luggage to be delivered from the reception to our room despite following up twice.

Then the icing on the cake: Our Christmas Eve dinner reservation that was made 4 months ago was "LOST". Our names were not even in the restaurant system. Luckily we checked! Thanks to Kevin who managed to secure us a special table as the restaurant was already fully booked.

We also spoke to Cristine at the reception regarding our disappointment and wanted to speak to the hotel manager. Cristine went in to the office and came out in a few seconds saying that the manager has gone out and promised that the manager will speak to us today. Few hours have passed and we are still waiting to hear from the hotel manager............ We haven't heard from the reception either.

In short, highly disappointed with the service in what is supposed to be an upper class establishment. We expected more from the Fairmont San Francisco.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear of the challenges you experienced while with us. I would like to put you in touch with the hotel manager so that he can address your situation directly. If you could email me at lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again and I look forward to your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.