We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the fish market !!!! (20/12/2014)” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #11 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Welcome to the fish market !!!! (20/12/2014)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Disappointing arrival with no access to the front entrance of the hotel because of bus loads of non-residents blocking the entrance, drive way and the road to enter the hotel. We stayed in our car for so long we could not stay any longer so we were forced to carry all our luggage ( 7 pieces) without any assistance from the street curb to the front reception.

On entering the hotel we were confronted with an overwhelming noise and an unbelievable number of non-residents camping in the foyer and lobby areas. The noise was unbearable and one could hardly hear oneself think. We could hardly move in the lobby areas because of the masses of people (I have photo proof). When we asked the staff what these non-residents are doing the staff told us that they have come to see the popular ginger bread house. We don't mind others coming to see the hotel and it's splendour but the hotel management should make sure their paid guests are their first priority and provide the guests with all comforts. That's the whole reason we paid so much money to stay at the Fairmont and not stayed at a cheap motel !!!

The management should have a rule for non-residents to come in groups of 10 or less to enjoy the beauty of the hotel and leave as soon as possible. Not sit around and camp making a nuisance to the paid guests.

With the "soothing" background noise we could hardly hear the receptionist at check-in. Surprise number 3 followed. It took more than 3 hours for our luggage to be delivered from the reception to our room despite following up twice.

Then the icing on the cake: Our Christmas Eve dinner reservation that was made 4 months ago was "LOST". Our names were not even in the restaurant system. Luckily we checked! Thanks to Kevin who managed to secure us a special table as the restaurant was already fully booked.

We also spoke to Cristine at the reception regarding our disappointment and wanted to speak to the hotel manager. Cristine went in to the office and came out in a few seconds saying that the manager has gone out and promised that the manager will speak to us today. Few hours have passed and we are still waiting to hear from the hotel manager............ We haven't heard from the reception either.

In short, highly disappointed with the service in what is supposed to be an upper class establishment. We expected more from the Fairmont San Francisco.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    135
    53
    21
    14
See reviews for
124
246
22
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Positives: pretty lobby and rooms.
Negatives: gingerbread house in lobby is a tourist attraction, so those paying over $200 a night can't enjoy the lobby and lounge area because it is loaded with small children. Service as a whole was disappointing considering this is a "5 star hotel". I would not waste my money staying here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My favorite hotel! I always feel at home when I come back to the Fairmont. I prefer the main building for the more historical rooms and now that they're remodeled they're even better! The furniture is more modern but doesn't take away from the features like the coved ceilings that give these rooms so much character. If you can splurge for the balcony room, you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building. There are some larger rooms in the same category - so tell them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The room was lovely. Service was fabulous. Everything about this
hotel was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful with where to dine around the area and places to visit.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Gorgeous hotel. My room was in the tower and was spacious and luxurious. The lobby holiday decorations were absolutely breathtaking. Staff were very nice and helpful. I had an early morning meeting and there was complimentary coffee in the lobby since the cafe was not open yet. How nice is that! Hotel is in a great location and close to everything for a solid trip to San Fran. Top of the hill so be prepared to work your glutes if you plan to walk.

Room Tip: I was in the tower on floor 10 and thought the view was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stay at the Fairmont San Francisco every year. It is a lovely hotel and my home away from home. The staff is extremely professional and friendly and the location of the hotel couldn't be better for me being a few blocks from Chinatown. I ride the cable cars to get around to fisher-mans wharf which are right outside the hotel. The world famous Tonga Room cannot be missed!

Room Tip: I love the main building for its charm. The tower affords the best views of San Francisco. All roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and for being such a loyal guest. I'm thrilled to hear a trip to the hotel has become an annual ritual and that we make you feel so at home. The holidays are an especially memorable time at the hotel and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I made a reservation late last night for next week , and needed to cancel it within 12 hours due to confusion over the reservation. I was passed the buck to six different people, two of whom laughed at me, and finally to the manager that refused to give me 500 dollars back for the error. Bad customer service, especially under the circumstances and within 12 hours of the reservation. Merry Christmas fairmont hotel. I will never return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Amex, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.