We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ... not up to usual Fairmont standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #11 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing ... not up to usual Fairmont standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Currently staying here ... I've stayed at other Fairmonts so was really looking forward to this stay but sadly I'm really disappointed for the following reasons (they may be little but it's the small things that count):

- It's 2014 and wifi is free pretty much everywhere (including on the street in front of the hotel) but nowhere inside the hotel (not even in the lobby!) So be prepared to pay $14 per night for that!

- Booked a room for 2 people but they wanted to charge $90 extra a night to put us in a room with 2 beds!!

- Needed to print 1 page off but found out we'd have to pay $5 dollars to do that

- When we arrived no one was there to help us with bags up the stairs ... the doorman didn't see us until we were already up

- Housekeeping is extremely noisy at 7.45am

- You don't even get slippers here!!

I most recently stayed at the Fairmont Shanghai and expected similar service but I know better than to trust the Fairmont name in future and will do more research before the next booking ... the overall meanness of the hotel just leaves a sour taste ...

Some good things are:
- The building (but you can look at that without staying here!)
- The location
- The cafe is OK for breakfast

We went down to Ghirardelli Square and saw the Fairmont there ... wished we had booked it instead! Great location and free wifi :)

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    118
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
105
203
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Absolutely super hotel, everything was amazing, our room had a view of the ocean, bridge & Alcatraz (high tower room) which made our stay in San Francisco so extra special, Elena at check-in was super helpful & friendly, breakfast was excellent but a bit pricey, location is brilliant with the trolley immediately out the back of the hotel, walked to Fisherman's Wharf & Union Square as the weather was also wonderful,
Fairmont Hotels always seem to have the very best location everywhere !

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This Hotel is truly part of the Fabric of San Francisco. A place you should stay at at least once in your life. The Hotel is beautiful and the staff is helpful. Truly a Historic experience. I will stay there again.




  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first experience at the Fairmont in San Francisco and our trip had some highs and definite lows. First, the renovation of the lobby areas and rooms looks lovely. The lobby is opulent, gilded and luxurious. The rooms have an art deco vibe. I enjoyed the black and white photographs throughout the hotel. Now for some of the lows, we were there during the World Series and when we pulled up to the hotel the entrance was blocked by four or five large tour buses which made it difficult to enter the hotel. Unfortunately, our room smelled of stale cigarette smoke, not pleasant. We went downstairs to the lounge area and it was extremely busy, which I completely understood given that the game was on. However, it took a very long time to get a drink and forget about food. Even when we went down during non game times, service was still an issue, even worse. Unfortunately, during our entire stay the hotel staff seemed overwhelmed and understaffed. I've heard so much about the concierge service and I must say it was lacking. Maybe the issues were due to the World Series, but whatever the case, we will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the suit of this hotel during my recent trip to SF during its busiest days. This is a historical building for sure which is hard to find nowadays but unfortunately It lacks attention to details. The flower at the main corridor seems not to be taken care. The display in the cabinets along the hall looks really cheap. The clock in the room is not properly set. The bed light on/off button is not working. The cleaning of the room can be better. I am hoping more from Fairmont for sure. Overall it's an ok 5-star hotel to stay. Not bad, but will try others for a better experience.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this is a 5 star plus hotel. I responded to their arrival email and suggested our ETA. The room however was not ready, so we received an upgrade to our requested upgrade. Wow did they deliver. A wonderful view of the Bay and Alcatraz from our room. If you have a chance to travel first class, but choose the Fairmount Hotels - they are second to none!

Room Tip: ask for the 8th floor (or up) tower - Bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the moment we pulled up to the circular driveway to the breathtaking view from our room and the excellent service, it made our trip a vacation of a lifetime. The suite was roomy, clean and had all the touches and more expected at a luxury hotel.
the ONLY reason i did not give it 5 stars is becasue housekeeping was inconsistant.
The best bellhop EVER is Rahsaan. He was just the right combination of professional, personable and talk about prompt! Some others that we appreciated were Devin at the front desk and Steve was the most helpful of the several eemplyees i spoke to on the phone and after arrival at concierge. If there are 2 Toms, i did not like one so much. He seemed annoyed by me when i would repeat what he said, so i made sure i understood, not that he said anything wrong. Jesus from maintenance worked to get us a telescope that was missing from our golden gate signature room. he went and got us a telescope until he got just the right /best one for us. Our TV did not work properly, but was fixed in a timely manner.
A MUST is a meal or at least drinks at the Tonga Room. That is an experience all on it's own The kahlua pork was excellent. The floating band was fun too. Be sure to take time to look at and read the pictures in the hallway to the tower. historic and fun.
Housekeeping, even though they come twice a day was uneven the last 2 days we stayed. Dirty towels were left on the desk chair, the toilet was not cleaned and we found a few pieces of our garbage on the floor next to waste basket. Do NOT let that stop you from staying there. I notified the front desk and it was promptly fixed. When i mentioned this to Devan upon checkout, she responded with appreciation, rather than defensive. I always say anyone can make a mistake, it is how it is handled that counts. Best hotel i have ever stayed.

Room Tip: be sure to sign up for the Fairmont Club to you get free wifi and any or all of 3 newspapers. the c...
See more room tips
Green Features: good recycling . not sure where to put this, but i would suggest the hotel put some sort of trash container on the "roof top garden" since it is a pet friendly hotel.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Candid guest feedback is critical to our improvement as a hotel, so we certainly value yours. We pride ourselves on delivering engaging service so it's great to hear of your encounters with the staff. I look forward to sharing it with the team, I know they'll be thrilled. I'm sorry for the inconsistency of housekeeping and will definitely forward your feedback for review. Thanks again for your kind (and detailed) words and we hope to welcome back to The Fairmont again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotel.de, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.