We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Fairmont.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Room/Double Miles
Ranked #16 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Fairmont.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our three-day weekend at the Fairmont was lovely. All staff members we encountered were friendly and very helpful. At a hotel of this caliber, though, I expect a bellman to take my luggage from my taxi to the front desk, but there were none to be found at 2pm, so we lugged our own luggage inside - a minor pet peeve, to be sure, but still a peeve.

The lobby was grand and made us feel like celebrities of days gone by, and our recently renovated room in the tower was nicely appointed, peaceful and cozy. The city view was very nice, especially at night.

On our last night, we had dinner in the Tonga Room. The decor was kitschy at it's best, and the food and tropical drinks were delicious. The band started playing at about 8, as it was a Sunday night, and they were very enjoyable. Quite a few couples and teens got up to dance. Most people we could see were quite obviously enjoying themselves, as were we.

This was our first time in San Francisco, but we had such a great time that we'll be back, next time with our teen daughter, who enjoyed our stories of what a nice time we had. She will love the Tonga Room in particular, so we'll be back for dinner, even if we decide to try a different hotel.

We would definitely recommend the Fairmont.

Room Tip: City and bay view rooms in the tower offer lovely views at a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    53
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
92
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St-Jean (Qc)
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Fairmont SF is in the middle of everything. Chinatown is two blocks away. Union square is very close and we walk down to Fusherman's ward easily. The rooms have been renovated so everything was perfect for our 3 days stay in San Francisco. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a 5 star hotel for a stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Fairmont for four nights in two interconnecting rooms. Our reception at the hotel was great, from the doormen who took our luggage to the fast and easy check in. The rooms were much larger than expected and were in first rate condition. We stayed in what we think is the older part of the hotel but the rooms felt fresh and clean. The only slight disappointment was that the view was mainly of the hotel on the opposite side of California street rather than of anything more interesting (we had booked an exterior room so we cannot really complain). The small cafe downstairs was perfect for a morning coffee and the staff in there were so friendly. We ate once in the bar and the food was excellent and quite reasonably priced considering it was in the hotel.
The most important thing to think about when booking the Fairmont is its location. At the top of Nob Hill the locality is nice and quiet but everything feels quite a long way away and even walking the few blocks down to Union Square makes for a hard slog back up. The hill down to Fisherman's Wharf is easier but at 20-25mins it is quite a hike back up. Two cable car routes do stop close to the hotel but getting on a car is not easy and can require a long wait.
Even so the Fairmont was a fabulous hotel and fully deserves a top score. We would happily stay there again (although I think we would try to get a better view next time!)
TIP - join the President's Club for free Wifi!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon before moving on to Yosemite. The hotel is great. Swift check in on arrival. We were allocated a recently refurbished exterior view room. Only downfall is that the walls are so thin you can hear a pin drop. This wasn't good on 2 of the nights when slightly jetlagged, trying to sleep when the guests in the room next door came back drunk and were very loud and kept slamming their door. If you get quiet neighbours then it won't be a problem. We were just unlucky.
Great location at the top of Nob Hill. Right turn out of the hotel and a 30 minute walk to pier 39. Left turn out of the hotel and a 15 minute walk to Union Square. Did not use facilities at the hotel so cannot comment on them. Stupidly we had not pre booked tickets to Alcatraz and asked concierge to get some for us. We did not realise the Alcatraz ferries get so booked up in the peak season and were advised it would be very unlikely to get any. Somehow or another wonderful Charlotte managed to get us a couple of tickets to also include the hope on hop off bus tickets. Thank you so much for all your help Charlotte it really made our trip!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and congratulations on your wedding! We are honored that you chose to spend such a momentous occasion with us. I'm sorry for the noisiness of your room. I can imagine how frustrating that must have been, but it sounds like it didn't too negatively affect your experience. We are thrilled to hear of your experience with Charlotte. She is an amazing team member and I look forward to sharing your kind words with her. Most people don't realize just how difficult Alcatraz tickets are to obtain, so I'm thrilled she was able to work some magic for you. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very beautiful property, extremely friendly staff, especially at Concierge desk where despite the long queue they always notice one. As well the team at the breakfast was excellent! Thank you so much for the wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. We pride ourselves on service, so it's great to hear your of your interactions with the Concierge team. Thanks again and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff, I know they'll be thrilled to hear it.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a great experience - starting with Scott at the front desk - a real gent!
WE had to extend our stay by one day which was easily sorted by the staff.
Great breakfast - where we 'bumped' into Arnie Schwarzenegger
Only downside - no pool [ which the fairmont had until 1945 but renovated to a bar ]

Wonderful stay !!! Perfectly placed between wonderful shopping and Fisherman's wharf.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks very much for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice stay and not only received excellent service, but also a glimpse of Hollywood. We agree that our central location makes us the perfect location from which to explore the City. Thanks again and it definitely sounds like "you'll be back!". (I couldn't resist) Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel on top of the hill. Very helpful staff and possibly one of the most comfortable beds I slept in. Impressive reception hall and romantic piano bar - however the advertised sexy rooftop bar (as per web site) is closed down and no free WiFi which was a bit of a disappointment. Worth staying as an extra treat

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased you had such a nice stay with us and found the bed so comfortable! I'm sure that was a nice treat after the long walks up the hill. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and it sounds like you agree. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.