We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a privilege to pay for a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Room/Double Miles
Ranked #21 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It's not a privilege to pay for a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We lucked into a half price deal for the Fairmont, but on arrival we felt like 2nd class citizens. Our next stay was at the InterContinental Monterey (also at a half price rate)and the two hotels were chalk and cheese. The Fairmont suggested we pay $90 a night for a view, the IC upgraded us without their hand out. The room was poorly serviced at the Fairmont. The IC was fabulous. On a positive note the Fairmont is a beautiful old hotel with great older style (but newly updated) rooms in a lovely spot. I'd be back there tomorrow if I felt at home there like I did at the IC in Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
59
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easily one of the loveliest hotels in SF! We stayed in one of the tower rooms, in the newer part of the hotel. Our room was glorious, with impeccable furnishings and a perfectly-appointed bath--great for luxuriating! The lobby and public areas were stunning, and we enjoyed looking through the shops and various lounges--each prettier than the next! Also enjoyed the numerous photo displays documenting the many notables who'd stayed there over the years and historic events that had taken place there--very enlightening! Staff were extremely polite and service-oriented, and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Tower rooms were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here July 2 to 6. When we checked in we decided to upgrade to a corner tower suite. Well worth the extra money. The views of the city were spectacular. The service was in true Fairmont style. The location is great for this hotel, central from Union square and Fisherman's wharf. Lots of restaurants in walking distance also.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the time you pull up to its elegant entrance, the 'wow' factor just increases! The lobby is majestic and awe-inspiring. Service is impeccable. The hallways are plush and luxurious yet bright and refreshing. The room was refined and elegant, very comfortable. New decor is refreshing yet maintains the luxury feel to the room. Love hearing the trolley bells as they go by, from the room. I will never stay anywhere else while in San Francisco! The breakfast buffet at the Laurel Court is amazing!!! Make sure you join the Fairmont Presidents Club before arriving to get the free wi-fi!

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower have better views and larger bathrooms with separate walk-in shower and bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mckinney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great Place to stay, especially the view. Super Friendly Staff and a great place for romantic trip or business...........................................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is a little pricey but worth it. It was incredibly beautiful. Staff was friendly & helpful. We used this Hotel not only for the amazingly delicious restaurant inside called The Tonga Room but also for our family/guests of our wedding to stay here. Meghan was very helpful and took care of us from the first moment we spoke with her. Being that we we're setting up a room block for our wedding guests, we had lots of questions and she always kindly & promptly got answers back to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is beautiful and there is so much history here. Every president since Taft has stayed here and the charter for the United Nations was drafted at this hotel!

The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very helpful! My Fiance and I came out to SF to get married and were staying at the Fairmont for 4 nights. When Scott at the front desk realized we were there to get married he upgraded us to a beautiful room with an amazing view. We watched the 4th of July fireworks right from our room as we have a view of the bay, the wharf and Alcatraz! They delivered us champagne and also recommended some great places to eat.

Location can not be beat there are three cable car lines that all intersect right by the Fairmont. It is so easy to take the trolley! If you are looking to be pampered and feel like celebrity this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay/alcatraz, 6th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.