We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One for the Bucket list......do it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Francisco to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One for the Bucket list......do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Ok, it is expensive and it is in one of the most beautiful cities in the USA, but sometimes you must stay at a landmark hotel that you feel is part of the city. With that said and I have said the word expensive it is wonderful in many ways.I have to say the architecture and ambience of the Fairmont still radiate the historical splendor of this grand lady. What is such a wonderful yet quirky restaurant is the Tanga Room which has wonderful tropical drinks and great Asian food. The interior design is in the lower floor of the hotel where the pool once was and now a band plays on a raised platform. We stayed in a tower suite and the view is just simply to die for. It is a time we will not forget. We were spoiled and we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. We aim to turn moments into memories for our guests and it sounds as if we did so in your case! We are truly the grand dame of Nob Hill and offer a unique perspective on the City by the Bay both literally and figuratively. Tonga Room is a one of a kind experience not to be missed, so I'm thrilled to hear you were able to experience it. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back and create another lasting memory.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    140
    54
    21
    16
See reviews for
128
250
22
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is Beautiful. Very Quite Rooms. Comfortable beds. Great Customer Service. Gift shop was very nice and informative. Room décor was amazing I could have stayed longer. No noise was ever heard from the hallways. Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great views. Great service. Exquisite rooms!! Royalty should stay here. Only complaint was no extra room in fridge. You move it, you buy it. Gets ugly at checkout. I avoided that. Won't say anywhere else in San Fran Tom now on. Awesome experience. Stay here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you had a great stay with us and had a wonderful experience throughout. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It's always fun for me to see the faces of other passengers in the Super Shuttle when the driver pulls up and stops for me to check-in at The Fairmont. I expect that my face has the same expression as theirs, something like "Wow, this feels SO privileged!" It is a blessing to be able to visit a city with a historic hotel like this, one of the few buildings that was still standing after the Great San Francisco Earthquake. It's also the hotel where the agreement to create the United Nations was negotiated and finalized AND, most importantly for me, the hotel where Alfred Hitchcock and the cast of the classic film Vertigo stayed while shooting the movie way back in the 1950's. Unlike some of the other luxury properties in The City that have nothing distinguishing about them so they feel like they could be anywhere, the Fairmont "feels" like San Francisco. One of the most recognizable buildings in the film Vertigo is right next door and if you take one of the Vertigo Tours now offered in the city, they'll bring you to this hotel. With architecture by Julia Morgan, the designer of Hearst Castle, and interiors by the legendary Dorothy Draper, this is the most visually stunning hotel I've ever seen. Views of the bay from rooms in the tower are mind-blowing, and rooms in the main building are large and comfortable with windows that open enough to enjoy cool breezes and the sounds of passing cable cars. Main building rooms are old style spacious and feel like the famous hotel rooms of other Hitchcock movies. You might feel like you're just about to see Cary Grant walking through the lobby. Since the Fairmont San Francisco is at the highest point on Nob Hill tourist landmarks are all an easy walk DOWN the hill. Score! Take the cable car back. Three lines stop just outside the hotel. The bathroom is larger than some apartments I've lived in, and everything about this hotel feels luxurious and special. The only problem is at check-in. It's kind of cold. Unlike the Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton, etc. there's nothing in the computer system to let staff know your room preferences or that you've stayed with them before, or even your requested room preferences made at 3rd party sites, and that's kind of lame these days at these prices. So the things you always ask for like extra pillows, more shampoo, etc. have to be requested again, and you don't hear "Welcome Back!" There's also no turndown service. However, on the whole if the atmosphere and crazy opulence that's associated with San Francisco is important to you, you could do no better than the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main Building with exterior views or in the Tower with bay views are best. Windows no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and were thoroughly impressed with the hotel. As you mentioned, we are a very historic hotel and you definitely know your history! Though admittedly biased, we feel we are the quintessential San Francisco hotel and the only place to experience "Old San Francisco" in a contemporary setting. I apologize for some of the lack of warmth you encountered during your stay. We pride ourselves in delivering engaging service, so that is troubling to hear. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope your next stay is as wonderful as your last one.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is the most amazing hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying. The service is excellent, the hotel is beautiful. We were close to all the attractions. The room was very spacious and clean as was the rest of the htel. We got a fabulous rate. The food was superb. Can't say enough about the Fairmont!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear what a positive experience you had and that we were able to make such an impact. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service, so it's always gratifying to read reviews such as yours. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is classic elegance... they don't build hotels like this anymore! We stayed in the Singapore Suite, which had the most beautiful balcony. The room was also beautifully updated, the view was spectacular! The staff was very helpful. The Concierge desk had fantastic recommendations, especially Charlotte; we got ideas every day from them. Everyone needs to experience this Fairmont at least once in their lifetime! Also check out the Tonga Room, great happy hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The suite we stayed in had been recently renovated and it was absolutely beautiful. Everything about this hotel is exemplary. Be sure and visit the Tonga Room (restaurant) as it is an experience in itself. Also, the breakfast buffet that is served daily in the Laurel Court is exemplary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at The Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel so beautiful and appreciated our renovation. As you mentioned Tonga Room is a San Francisco institution and not to be missed. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Each of the San Francisco hotel's spacious guestrooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, Frette linen ensembles, pillow top beds, and MP3 docking stations.In addition to its 591 guest rooms and suites this luxury San Francisco hotel offers fine dining with three renowned restaurants and lounges, as well as 55,000 square feet of spectacular function space. With a panoramic view of the City and the Bay from high atop Nob Hill, The Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an unmatched blend of luxurious accommodations, elegant meeting spaces and superb services, which make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.