We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Donatello to your Saves list
The Donatello
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We could not hace chosen better than this brilliantly located hotel. Only 100 metres from Union Square park the hotel is close to just about all attractions. Shopping (huge number of outlets) starts close by and trams can take you to the popular Fisherman's wharf. The rooms were really impressive being well furnished, quite large and very clean. This was a great experience and we will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: I would be surprised if all rooms weren't similar to our room. We were extremely pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Our location is indeed very convenient. Close proximity to shops, restaurants and public transportation. We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to having you again on your next trip to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    719
    109
    35
    16
See reviews for
478
1,006
97
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kópavogur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at the Club Donatello for 4 nights in July on 11th floor, room facing away from the street. The service was great and the rooms were very large and clean. The bed was big and comfortable and the sleeper sofa was good as well. The WI-FI and TV were excellent. The location is very good, about 2 min walk to Union Square and the cable cars stop a block from the hotel and also a short walk to a bus stop.

But beware of the timeshare folk that are sometimes behind the front desk :-)

Overall this is a great hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor was quite and rooms facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Traveler,
We appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your experience here at The Donatello. We appreciate the review posted and we will pass this information to Club Donatello, which is a separate entity sharing the building with us.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager - The Donatello Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A Giants day game brought us to the City and one night at the Donatello. Online, I could not book less than two nights but one week out I was able to drop the second night and keep the same per night rate. At some point Shell Hospitality was taken over by Wyndam so not sure if that’s the reason for the minimum stay or that it is summer but in the end was happy that I was able to drop the second night.

We arrived early (like at 10:45am) only expecting to store our bags but a room was ready so off we head to room 601. We have stayed in this room before and noticed how the room had been refreshed and updated (headboard, TV, wet bar and mirror in bathroom (with TV)). The extra comfy sofa/lounge previously in the room had been replaced with a single sofa bed (there were three of us) which we made up ourselves (linens in closet), I would imagine for quads it would be a double sofa bed. I was thinking there was a toaster was in the room but was not, just the microwave, mini frig and coffee maker. The coffee maker is a 4 cup that you can use the mini coffee filters with ground coffee so for those of you (like us) that need coffee first thing, you can bring some filters and coffee and not be limited to the one regular and decaf pod that is provided. Only two of the kitchen stuff is provided (cups, wineglasses, silverware) but you can call housekeeping for more if necessary.

Since there is no turndown service in the evening if you shower, be sure to hang your towels to dry so you will have dry towels in the AM. Our call to housekeeping in the morning for more towels took over an hour, by then I had walked down to a housekeeping cart in the hallway and grab one towel off the cart (which I should have done in the first place). I read that you can pay for daily housekeeping (new since our last visit) but since we were only there for one night have no first -hand experience with this or what the fee is.

Our room was on the 6th floor (601) and was a corner room on Mason. Just across is Ruby Skye which is a club/bar that can get pretty noisy after the club closes so if you are noise sensitive bring earplugs. We actually used them this time and I still could hear the racket but it was just for a short period. Next time I will ask for an odd numbered room closest to the “inside” of the hotel which will be the quietest. BTW, on the 5th floor there is a garden terrace that has seating outside the room, this is a cool place in sunny weather (consider noise level for these too).

We were not approached with a Timeshare presentation and was happy about that, not sure of it might have been because we checked in so early. I did recognize two of the staff from previous stays (over the course of 20 years) and the Hotel Manager is also the same, it’s nice to see familiar names and faces.

We would like to get to the City more often but due to other types of vacations that we take now that our daughter is college age, it’s less frequent, but when we do come back we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for sharing your experience on your return visit at the Donatello.
We are glad that after some time that you were able to stay with us again. It's always nice when we see return guests. We appreciate your review on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The location was only a couple blocks walk to Powell St to catch the Cable Car. Westfield shopping mall at the bottom of Powell with a great food hall and neat ready to eat supermarket. Walgreens in two directions only 1 block over, lots of other shops and restaurants from the moment you step out the hotel doors. Our Bellman Mark was superfriendly and gave us tips for wandering the area and how to get around. The room was very clean and had a TV built into the bathroom mirror - that was a first for us! Had a sink and microwave and fridge for storing your own food etc. Big comfy bed and a couch, footstool and dining table. All in all a great room.
A slight negative is the fact that we got a sales pitch on arrival to attend a time-share presentation breakfast. When stating that we were not interested the concierge got a little weird and pushy. As long as you are aware that this will happen then be prepared to say no.

Room Tip: So close to everything, shops, restaurants and transportation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Traveler,
We appreciate you taking the time in sharing your stay experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and appreciate the mention of the close proximity of the property to convenient stores, shopping on Union Square, the TV in the bathroom and of course, our helpful Bellman, Mark. I will make sure to pass the news to him.
Thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My family a group of 7 booked two rooms at The Donatello hotel. It is in the heart of San Francisco, closed to the shopping mall and restaurants. The cable car is right down the block and will take you to Fisherman's Wharf. The room is very spacious consider the location is central of SF. It is like a studio, with a queen size bed and a queen size couch. I am a Shell owner so was offer to go to an owners update. That was a lousy experience that i ever had with a timeshare presentation. I was totally misinformed and pressured to buy more points. Which i don't nee to because i am an elite member already, totally unnecessary to coerce owners to buy something that we don't need. I though it was just an update and informative presentation that we were supposed to attend. The only good thing was for coming to the presentation they gave us 3 nights of free parking voucher. The property itself is wonderful in all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for being Signature members and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your review and delighted to read that you liked the location and the spacious rooms at the Donatello. We apologize that we fell short on our approach to you to attend an Owner's update. I have contacted the proper department leaders to improve how we communicate with our Owners and Guests in this area.
Again, we thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. We hope to have you again soon at the Donatello!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

You couldn't wish for a better location in San Francisco. This hotel is right in the heart of the city.

We received a very welcoming experience by the Reservations Manager and a chatty welcome to the 'Club' upstairs by the concierge too. I think we looked too much like travellers to be soft sold a time share deal but I was armed and ready from the previous posts!

Modern clean room with plenty of space. Single glazed windows made for an uncomfortable stay for the light sleeper in the party (me) so do ask for a room away from the road if this will bother you. Though the hotel couldn't have done anything about streetworks at 1am!

Enjoy San Francisco, it's a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as the windows are single glazed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Our towels were changed daily despite us leaving them on the rack as directed to avoid them being changed. The policy is great if its enforced.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the tips posted for other Trip Advisor visitors as well. We look forward to having you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Ok...so this hotel is far from horrendous but we had a problem with the air conditioning that took 3 complaints to get some action, the cleaner came in and didn't take the rubbish but took a paper and articles we were keeping off the unit (not in the bin or anywhere appropriate to take). But to make it worse we never had one apology from the hotel. We were awake at 4.30 am one night with noise from the air conditioning and they sent a security guard who didn't listen to the noise and there was no excise for the paper. Small things but when you expect high quality all important

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Traveler,
I apologize that we couldn't give you a positive experience during your stay. We tried researching for any records of air conditioning issues from guests but we couldn't find any from our logs. We are responsive when the Air Conditioning is not working properly because your comfort is very important to us. I also informed our Housekeeping Manager regarding the trash that wasn't picked up in your room. We will utilize these as training examples for our Associates. Again, I apologize that we didn't take better care of you while staying with us.
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.