We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Donatello to your Saves list
The Donatello
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off
Ranked #21 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and were very impressed with everything. nothing to complain about either, except 1 night sounded like someone was hoovering, but the hotel compensated us with $50 to spend in their restaurant, so generous too, would stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,
We thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We like to keep our guests happy and comfortable. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    727
    111
    35
    16
See reviews for
481
1,016
97
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went to California to drive down the coast from Napa to LA. San Francisco was a stop along the way. Booked this hotel based on previous reviews and was totally pleased. We had a large corner room, very comfortable including a wet bar, microwave and a small fridge. And as stated in a previous review, there was a TV in the bathroom! Location was good as we were able to do all we wanted utilizing public transportation or by foot. Staff was great and it was nice to have the club room available. We were approached upon registration about time share, but after stating an hard and fast "not interested" we were never bothered again. Did hear a little street noise, but no enough to really complain. Would stay here again if we ever get back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!
We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the staff, amenities, location and the TV in the bathroom. We appreciate the lovely review and we hope to serve you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We've stayed at the Donatello for 4 nights have been been pleased with the service of the hotel staff. As it's just one block away from Union square you'll reach all the sights easily.

Rooms are spacious, clean and provide everything expected and needed. Breakfast is available as room service (12/16USD for single or double). For hotel guests and club members a roof top terrace is available (free coffee).

When next time in San Francisco I'll return to the Donatello for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for posting a lovely review of the Donatello. We do appreciate the mention of our helpful staff and the convenient location. Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Donatello is a good mid-range hotel situated close to Union Square and all the activity. I was with my wife and daughter. Many hotels have issues with 3 people, but the Donatello rooms are large enough to handle even 4 people if need be. There is a concierge and fitness area - lounge on the top floor. The concierge people are very helpful and informative.
The only downside was the pesky Vacation Time Share sales people who descend upon you like a dog with a bone, even though you have just flown for 8 hours and not in the mood for a sales pitch

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,
We appreciate your kind words about the Donatello and our staff. We try our very best to provide a positive stay for all our guests. I apologize that your experience from our Sales department was less than satisfactory. We will share your review to our site leader to use as a training tool.
Thank you.

Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice, clean hotel close to Union Square. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooftop lounge was awesome. Only complaint is that the rooms were a little small and there was a little bit of street noise outside the hotel at about 4am.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad you've enjoyed your stay and appreciate the mention of our helpful staff. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I will stay here at the hotel in august. It lioks like a nice hotel with clean rooms. I will be staying at this hotel in the next few weeks . It looks like a nice hotel . It has room service and even a tv in the bathroom :) what other hotel has that ? I will be staying here for 2 days . I haven't been to san fransisco in a while . Do they offer free breakfast and free wifi here ?

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, November 30, 2014
Dear Guadalupe,
I hope that your stay was pleasant. We didn't get the chance to find out if everything was to your satisfaction but we sure hope that it did.
Thank you for sharing your experience and have a happy holidays.

Chris Magsakay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This traditional hotel has everything you need...friendly staff.. (Marianne and Lester at the club floor) comfy bed...clean room...wide screen Samsung TV..complimentary wifi..you named it.
My complimentary breakfast was for 7 days worth and the kitchen staff Raffael was trying his best to offer me a variety.
Incidentally while waiting at the lobby for my taxi to the airport, there was a fantastic singer performing at the upper floor which sounded heavenly. Will take time to listen to her performance if there is another chance in the future

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us. I will gladly share your kind words about Marianne, Raffy and Lester. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.