We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel on our U.S adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Donatello to your Saves list
The Donatello
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #21 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel on our U.S adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

4 girls staying, great location, spacious room with all the amenities we needed and we never heard a noise coming from neighbouring rooms or lobby. Staff were more than helpful whenever required and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Abigail, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Steven McCabe, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    727
    111
    35
    16
See reviews for
481
1,016
97
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived an hour too early for check in and were directed to wait on the top floor area. We were greeted by Christopher (Concierge) who was quite chatty. My husband went down at check in time to be told roo. Wasn't ready and to check back in 15 mins, to which he asked them to ring up Andes us know. Thirty minutes we hadn't heard anything and my OH asked the concierge to ring down. He then said they had rang up but as he couldn't see us he didn't do anything!! Not a good start.

The room was ok but with a dreadful view of dirty back area. We also had noise from the outside AC power unit.

We stayed for four nights and every day something was 'missing' from housekeeping, towels, glasses, etc etc. Turn down service wears around 6.30 pm which was a little early to say the least.

No breakfast service here and we didn't eat on site for evening meals.

Location was good which was it's redeeming factor for us. Perhaps we would have been better in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on this information to the Club Donatello Management. Sincerely, Steven McCabe, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Donatello. Very comfortable and spacious room. The sofa sleeper was quite nice when I had friends join me in the city for my last night. Plenty of room for all of us. Everyone was very nice and courteous with the exception of the bartender at the on site restaurant. He seemed very "put out" when we stopped in to grab a glass of wine to take back up to the room with us. Other than that tiny issue, the stay was great. The location of the hotel is very good too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I will let the restaurant manger know of your comments about your experience. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was the best hotel during our visit to the US.
Everything about this place was just right- location, room and service.
It is right at the corner of Post St and Mason St.
Very conveniently located with the cable car stop just a block away.
Lots of eateries nearby.
Cafe Mason and Pine-crest are great for breakfast. Try Chabaa for a home style thai meal.
Some nice Japanese places also around the corner.
There is a huge Macy's at Union square and tons of other shopping down the road.
Fisherman's wharf is about 20 mins away by car.
The parking is expensive at 30 $ a night.
There is a car rental, Reliable, opposite to cafe Mason. They have free parking at their garage behind the hotel and cars are available at decent rates.
The room was spacious and well equipped with a microwave, fridge, cutlery and sink.
The front desk and bell boys are very helpful.
The service is good.
We had a perfect stay of 3 nights here. Would love to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. Thank you for the kind words about the front desk and bell staff! I will be sure to let them know. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Four of us enjoyed our stay at the Donetello in May (2014). The rooms were lovely and comfortable, the service was excellent, and we especially enjoyed the bar (terrific bartender!) We had a great dinner, and enjoyable snacks. The location right on Union Square allowed us to wander, and was close enough to transportation. We loved out stay. The only caveat about San Francisco, was our unfortunate experience at the Legion of Honor museum. We had our rental car broken into and our valuables stolen. Beware visitors! Leave nothing in your car.

Green Features: Very impressed with re-cycling and other Green practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. Sorry to hear about your misfortune at the museum. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I love this hotel. I spent a week there on my first trip to San Francisco. The rooms are spacious. The beds are really comfortable. The staff are all so friendly, especially the concierges. The location was perfect, near lots of stores and the cable car lines.
The only thing that might bother some people is the traffic noise. But I had ear plugs so it wasn't a problem.
I would definitely stay here again. It's great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I will let the Concierge staff know that you enjoyed your interactions with them. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great location, value and the staff are excellent. Spent a week at this hotel as part of a time share exchange. Welcome happy hour with a very brief introduction; complimentary coffee/tea daily in the Club. The exercise room is small but adequate-the spa is tiny and not recommended. On site Italian restaurant was a very good value and I recommend their happy hour menu. Parking was priced fairly for the area and also included valet parking with in and out privileges. The bus line is in front of the hotel; very convenient for attending SF Giants games. BART station was a five minute walk and one of the Cable car lines stopped around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back as rooms in front can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I'm glad to hear you took advantage of our complimentary amenities offered in our Club level. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.