We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Donatello Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Donatello Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our room was very nicely designed. Though an older bathroom, it was updated very well. The kitchenette was well stocked with basic utensils/dishes/microwave for basic meals from Whole Foods, etc. The concierge, Poldi, at this hotel is fantastic. One block from Union Square, you can get anywhere easily. Best room in the house? 4th floor with terrace. With curtains open, the room feels huge, and the terrace is a great space to kick back.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor with terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad there were many things you enjoyed about the hotel including; location, your unit , and our concierge staff. I will be sure to pass on teh nice words to Poldi. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,134
    657
    96
    29
    13
See reviews for
432
914
91
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here one night while in San Francisco for a show. The hotel was perfectly located for our needs, about two blocks from our show at the Hotel Nikko. I also discovered this is the perfect location for seeing a show at the Curran Theatre; the theatre is literally right around the block. The Westfield Centre (a wonderful shopping mall) is also a few short blocks away with great shopping and an incredible food court. My daughter loves the pizza there!

We stayed in a very spacious studio room which had a king bed as well as a sofa bed. The room had a mini-fridge and microwave in its own wet-bar area. The bathroom was also very nice with a flat-screen tv built into the mirror along with a telephone. I didn't use either of these, but some might find them convenient! I thought I read this was an older hotel, but the rooms are very clean and updated. Our room was right across from the elevator, but any noise was barely noticeable.

The Saturday night we stayed, there was live music above the lobby area. We didn't look, but it sounded like there may be a small bar or restaurant upstairs. Sounded very nice. The front desk and concierge staff were also very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers valet parking at a pretty reasonable rate for San Francisco.

The only negative I have to add is that the area was a bit noisy. Our rooms were on the 7th floor and even after midnight, it sounded as if there was a band practicing outside. Luckily it quieted down before I had to put my earplugs in.

Overall, our short stay was fantastic; I would not hesitate to stay at The Donatello again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad there were many things you enjoyed about the hotel including; location, size of our units, and helpful staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip into San Francisco for the theater! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights with out two teenaged sons. Our room was huge and had plenty of space for all our luggage, a perfect kitchenette and excellent TV and wifi services. The Club on the top floor is a great bonus for relaxing and grabbing a cup of coffee or tea. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and very helpful - the service couldn't have been better. The location is superb for accessing all of San Francisco's attractions and sights with the cable car and MUNI only meters away. Would recommend this place to anyone, and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Wow! Hats off to a great hotel and service was tremendous. Thanks to Pam, Jesus,
Chris, and Poldi! Not one complaint only praise to you all! Thank you for our perfect first time visit to windy San Francisco. ....we will be back... Sonia

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sonia, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. Thank you for the kind words about Jesus, Pam, Chris, and Poldi! I will be sure to let them know. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for four nights. I had concerns in advance about noise and asked for a room in a quiet location. We ended up on the 9th floor away from the street and heard very little outside noise. The hotel location was fantastic - only a block from Union Square and also handy to public transport. The kitchenette facilities were pretty basic (a fridge, microwave and sink) but met our needs. The room was a good size. We also found the Club on the top floor a bonus. Service was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the location and size of your room. We hope that you visit us again on your next trip to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed at the Donatello for 6 nights. We searched long and hard for a hotel in San Francisco that would provide some sort of value for money and a good downtown location - the Donatello was the perfect choice! We arrived at 9am having taken an 18 hour train ride from Portland, OR and went straight to the hotel hoping that we'd just be able to leave our bags there before checking in in the afternoon - however, we were able to check in and go to our room straight away which was hugely welcome having been on the train overnight. The hotel has a lovely lounge on the top floor with newspapers, free coffee/tea/hot chocolate and on Friday's there is a wine reception. The lounge also has a roof terrace with great views of downtown, and on the top floor there is also a gym. The room was huge, and extremely comfortable - the TV in the bathroom was a novelty. The kitchenette was extremely handy and extra crockery and cutlery was provided without any problem. Everything was clean, and if anything the housekeeping team were too keen to come into the room every morning. The location of the hotel is fantastic - 1 block from union square where, among other things, you can catch the cable car, or visit Macy's! There are also plenty of bus stops near by, and on the same block as the hotel there is a stop for the buses which take you down to the CalTrain station. The hotel is on the very edge of a bit of a dodgy area, but as long as you head in the direction of union square every day you'll be fine. On the Friday night we were disturbed during the night by noise from the club opposite the hotel, but otherwise didn't have any problems with noise. A great hotel in San Francisco, and somewhere we'd definitely consider returning to!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate it. I'm glad we were able to accomodate your early arrival and that enjoyed our rooms and location.
Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just left, after a week there. The staff are all very efficient and attentive. I would rate the service as A+. There was one slight problem in our bathroom; the repairman was there to fix it in a couple of minutes. We enjoyed the wine and cheese party when we checked in on Friday afternoon. The room was very nice and spacious. As some reviewers have mentioned, you do hear a lot of noise from the street, even if you are high up, but it didn't bother us at all. The only complaint I had was about the ghastly wifi service. [also mentioned by recent reviewers] I've had better service in roach motels, and the Donatello needs to fix this problem, pronto. But beyond this, it was a very enjoyable stay, and I would certainly like to stay there again. We didn't have a car; everyone in our group got a muni pass, and rode the delightful cable cars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your positive comments about our Front Desk Staff, we’re sorry to hear that the WIFI fell below your expectations. We are always looking to improve and these reviews are very helpful. I hope the WIFI is up to your standards on your next stay with us in San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Donatello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello Hotel

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Donatello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco
The Donatello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.