We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Donatello to your Saves list
The Donatello
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 15% Off
Ranked #18 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Spent a weekend in San Francisco on my way to Vegas. The Donatello is a great hotel very close to the Union Square. Nice decorated, well looking, large, clean rooms. No breakfast but that isn't an issue because you have plenty of choices just accross the street. Worth trying it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you visit us again on your next trip to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    691
    103
    31
    15
See reviews for
464
971
96
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here with the wife for a weekend getaway. We live just outside the city, but wanted to get out of the house and relax. The Jacuzzi was wonderful and the staff very accommodating. Friday night we heard a fair amount of noise from the traffic and sirens, etc., even on the high floor we were on, but it did not keep us awake for long.

The place has a historical feel and it is an older hotel, but we love it there.

Thanks again for another great stay--we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your positive comments about our Staff and amenities. We hope that you and your family spends many more "weekend getaway's" here with us at The Donatello!
Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Room: The room was really large with a sitting area, and a little kitchenette with a microwave, cutlery and crockery provided. The hotel is definitely older - we had a few problems with the room heating and electricity in the bathroom. But when told of the problems the hotel was very prompt in attending to it and fixing. You could hear every time next door would use their water or flush, which was a bit annoying. The bathroom was teeny and dated, but I guess the cool tv in the mirror made up for it!
One thing that really irked me about the room (and alot of other hotel rooms!) is the lack of lighting. There are lamps but no actual lights... Why?!?! The room is so dark even with every single lamp on, can get quite frustrating.
Service: i'm not sure whether they have changed their housekeeping policy (based on past reviews there's no housekeeping unless specifically asked and paid for) - we were expecting no housekeeping but every time we went out and came back to the room we had clean crockery, clean towels and the bed was made. They didnt necessarily clean the room but this was fine by me, maybe because I wasn't expecting it?
Hotel: it's in a great location, close to the cable cars and buses to most tourist attractions and shopping. When we checked in the man at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and every time we called them from our room they were lovely; however, it was odd when we would walk past the front desk when going out or coming back in they would just kind of look at us and not offer any greeting. In saying that I think it was actually just the one person who did that, but it happened a few times which I thought was a bit rude. The other staff were generally helpful and friendly (perhaps too helpful? One of the concierges wouldn't stop talking...) and like I said above, prompt in resolving any issues. One of the rooms on our floor had a very very loud party one night with lots of people and music - they sent up security to ask them to quieten down (which they did after an hour!). Someone in another room was actually smoking and could be smelt really strongly down the corridor and into our room which was a bit gross - we were told it was a nonsmoking hotel but I guess some people don't care!
All in all, a hotel I would recommend especially if you need some space and want it in a central location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad there were many things you enjoyed about the hotel including; location, housekeeping, and front desk staff. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will definitely look into your suggestion about the in-room lighting. Our housekeeping policy has recently been updated to a more “green” cleaning which includes a clean tidy as you received. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco!

Sincerely,

Chris Magsakay
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Location, service, amazing staff, beautiful surroundings, and friendly people make this hotel the best I have ever stayed in! Congratulations for keeping the 'old-age genteel feeling' while offering modern amenities and a fabulous vacation!

Room Tip: We were on an upper level on the quiet side. No view, but quiet and covenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Eileen,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind words like these from guests like you are what make our jobs more satisfying. We really can't thank you enough. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Let me start by saying that the location was good, the room clean and large and staff was friendly. However, after having cold to luke warm showers and a tub that did not drain, it seems to put a damper on everything else. I did call the front desk about the issues and maintance did come immediately. The drainage issue was fixed, but the hot water issue was not. I was told that the boilers would be checked and that I would be up-dated on the problem. I never heard from the staff again. Also tried to use the suana. Spent at least an hour waiting for it to heat up without success. No hot showers in the dressing room either. I was asked about my stay at check-out and I stated that I did not have hot water for my entire stay and all I got was "oh so sorry." Would comped parking fees be asking too much for the inconvenience?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear that you've experienced some hot water issues during your stay with us. We had some challenges with the boiler and were waiting on some parts to fix it. The Guest Services Agent who checked you out did mention to compensate you for the inconvenience but the reservation was already under the parking package program. I'd be more than happy to discuss the incident further so we can make it right for you.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay - Guest Services Manager
chris.magsakay@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The room was good size with up to date amenities. Even though our room was on the street, the street noise was mostly tolerable. If possible request a room off the street. Staff was kind and friendly. This hotel is part of a timeshare. We used this as part of our timeshare exchange. Good location and near many restaurants and Union Square. Well appointed room with updated TVs, robes and pillows.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This has become my favorite hotel to stay at in San Francisco. There are few hotels in the city that offer rooms that are a substantial size and with the service that the Donatello offers, for the price they charge, which this trip was under $200 a night. This hotel is great value. Not only are the rooms large, they are comfortable and have great amenities. The fridge, microwave, coffee maker and glasses, cups, plates, utensils are a nice touch if you get take-out or decide to breakfast in your room. This obviously saves money on eating every meal out, which can be expensive in San Fran. This time we asked for a high floor and were placed on the 9th floor on the quiet side of the hotel and there was no street noise. The bed, as usual, was great and so comfy. I love the set up of the room with the ample work space, the sitting area and the dressing area by the bathroom. We stayed for five nights this time and it was wonderful. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "quiet side" away from the main streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.