We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Modern Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Donatello to your Saves list
The Donatello
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 15% Off
Ranked #18 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Modern Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when I had a meeting at The Westin next door. It was nicer than The Westin at about $75 less per night. It is also smaller which equates to a quiter hotel. I would request a corner room which gives you more square footage and a view of the city from both sides. The hotel is a stone throw from vibrant Union Square where you can catch a cable car or many other modes of public transit. If you do this but a day pass as cable cars are $6/stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    690
    104
    31
    15
See reviews for
464
972
97
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked this hotel for our 4 night stay in April . We have been to SF on numerous occasions and prefer to stay in union square area . Have previously stayed at Hotel Chancellor and would have retuned there except,we he our 17 year old daughter with us and need a larger room to accommodate the three of us which Chancellor dont do

Well we where so impressed with Donatellowe would return there without a doubt . Is round the corner from Chancellor hotel and yes I would give superior location to the Chancellor as its on Powell opposite union square with cable car stop right out front . However this is just around the corner a 1-2 minute walk and the amenities make up for that

The room is far superior . It's newer modern and with a small kitchenette area and a large sofa bed . I would say the room was twice the size of the room at Chancellor . We had plenty of room with all our bags and still plenty of space with the most comfy of comfy big king size beds . The bathroom was huge and two people could easily get ready at the same time . The chancellor bathroom is so small the vanity and mirror sits over the toilet !! Big difference

There is a great club lounge with all facilities on level 4 I believe
They have very helpful and friendly concierge
They have valet parking onsite under the hotel from memory I believe the Chancellor was an offsite garage ??
They have a good Italian Restuarant onsite and also offer room service
They offer complimentary wifi in the room and we bought some snacks and drinks from Walgreen and kept in the fridge

This was the perfect base for exploring the amazing city of San Francisco . The best hotel we have stayed t in the area and will return without a doubt

I can't fault this hotel and only suggest look no further book your SF stay hear and enjoy a wonderful experience !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile


We stayed at hotel Donatello for 6 days in May and it was a very good experience. Fast check in was appreciated as the jet lag had already kicked in after our 11 hour flight and our 3 year old had been sick all over the taxi. (Horrid!)
Room was very spacious and clean, (in front of the lifts but was still very quiet, only real noise is at 3 am from the club across the road, but it's nowhere loud enough to be a nuisance, I just noticed as we were awake due to jet lag!) we had the king bed room with the sofa bed, which wasn't the comfiest of beds, truth be told, but seemed to suit our 3 year old fine. Our king bed was very comfortable. You have mini bar where you can keep your own snacks and drinks if you want, coffee machine, full sized hair drier, full size iron board and iron, and the best of all for iPhone owners, the bedside alarm clock has an iPhone dock! So no going around finding the socket, the travel adaptor... Saying that, there are a few sockets on the desk, which are very handy for all the electronics.

The room service breakfast is an ok continental breakfast, which we ended up preferring than going out to one of the many diners around (we tried the seacrest, the honey honey and Loris diner, all very good but we are not used to such massive breakfasts, were more expensive and also our 3 year old just wanted cereal and toast!) Laundry service is good and fast, however a bit pricey. There is a club lounge and a gym but we didn't try them.

Everyone from the front desk, bell boys, concierges and staff were friendly and helpful. Nice size hotel as well, not too big or too small so you get to recognise the staff after a few days. They even organised our car for the airport, which was very convenient.
Only minor negative points are, the room service is just the quite expensive italian restaurant menu. I would have liked to have some basic sandwiches/burger type options, but I guess you can very easily get those from any of the 24 hour diners on the block. I would have liked some kind of area to sit down and eat breakfast at our room (the only option was the desk as the sofabed was open). And it would have been nice to have a little stool so our kid could reach the sink to brush her teeth.
Also, although not the hotel's fault, be warned there are a few beggars around this whole area at all times, I already knew this and it still surprised me how many of them they are around...
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would happily stay again next time I travel to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice hotel ideally located just a block from Union Square. Our room was big, very clean and had all the amenities. Staff was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Close to some very nice eateries, shopping, trolley cars, buses etc. Staff provided good guidance re places to visit, booking trips etc. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room with less noise - probably on higher floors. It was kind of noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is located just off Union Square, on public bus lines and near the cable cars. Check-in was quick and efficient and the entire staff was very helpful. Our room was on the 12th floor facing Post St, across from the JW Marriott. The room was a large hotel room with a king bed and a sleeper sofa, coffee maker, refrigerator and flat-screen TV with lots of channels including HBO and Showtime. The hotel provides nice robes for use in-room, daily newspaper and turn-down service in the evenings. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. There is a restaurant on-site but we didn't visit it; there's also a bar we didn't use. The top floor is the Club available from 7 am to 10:30 pm and it features a lounge and outside seating with a smoking area for those who need the nicotine. Club level also has a sauna and an exercise room. The concierge available there is very helpful and we got quite a bit of good info from Chris. On check-out, the bellman was quite helpful loading our car and helping us get out of the parking area and into traffic. Our stay at the Donatello capped a wonderful visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April for our first visit in San Francisco. The taxi ride from the airport was $50 and took about 45 Mins. Check in was easy, staff lovely and we were given a huge room on the 10th floor. The decor is older style but well maintained and clean. The downside for us was the noise and we had no sleep for 3 nights. I had read the reviews about noise but thought it would be a small compromise for being downtown and might not be too bad. Unfortunately it spoilt our trip and we would not return. The hotel itself was nice and was very central to downtown if that is what you want. Downtown was not nice with lots of beggars and really only shops to see during the day. We explored San Francisco and found some great districts and food that we will return to, rather than union square.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. large, clean, well equipped, modern rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Small but well equipped and fully working gym.Great location one block from union square and far enough from the tenderloin for comfort.
Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.