We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Donatello to your Saves list
The Donatello
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 15% Off
Ranked #18 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very pleasant. The staff were helpful and very friendly especially Jesus on reception. Big rooms and great location, bit noisy from the street at night but we stayed over a weekend so expected this. Would stay again and recommend for all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    691
    103
    31
    15
See reviews for
464
971
96
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect - very close to Union Square and its shops and tram and cable car stops. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room spacious and comfortable.
We never ate or drank in the hotel, as we considered the prices high. We did consider attending 'happy hour', but the noise of the piano/ jazz entertainers was overpowering.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear and it was quiet. Not so sure the ones on the two main roads would be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at the Donatello for 5 days and overall good basic hotel. The room was a little dated (ceiling to floor mirrors all by the door area??) but very spacious and comfortable. Annoying was the continual need to re-enter password for wifi daily but at least it's included in the cost. Breakfast was included but no one told us it was room service only so we went to the restaurant... Next day, room service arrived and it wasn't worth the effort - three very sugary pastries but good coffee. It was a nice touch but not for us.. Reception told us of a good diner - just a block away down the hill - Pinecrest.
Review doesn't sound good so far but it is a good hotel just not as good as all the previous reviews in my opinion. It's a good location a couple of blocks from Union Square and the cable cars and friendly staff. We didn't go to the restaurant as it did look a bit expensive and there was a jazz singer when we thought about it and we really don't like jazz so gave it a miss.
Didn't hear any road noise and we were to the front of the hotel but on the 12th floor (I think but can't remember as moved on to 3 places after this review) near the top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at The Donatello Hotel for 5 nights in April. This was a birthday holiday and booked as a surprise so I had no idea of where we were staying, and I wasn't disappointed! A lovely hotel in a great area for Union Square shops. The room was large and had a comfy sofa so no need to lounge on the bed just to watch TV. The room also had a sink area, fridge and microwave as well as plates and glasses. Very clean bathroom, but only discovered on trip adviser back home that the black square on the bathroom mirror was actually a TV!!

We didn't use the fitness centre so can't comment but the terrace lounge area was a great place to relax with hot drinks.

We ate out at the local diners for breakfast all good, but especially Lori's diner, which was really popular. The hotel was well placed for the local transport but we found it very easy to walk down to the harbour, probably about a half hours walk.

Great places to eat and drink but a special mention has to go to Lefty O'Douls, just off Union Square, which we frequented for drinks regularly (27 different ales)! The restaurant in the hotel was nice but expensive for what it was.

There was quite a bit of noise at the weekend during the night from the nightclub across the road but this isn't the hotel's fault.

Extremely helpful and friendly staff in all areas of the hotel.

All in all a great hotel, probably quite small by American standards, great value and should we return to San Francisco wouldn't hesitate to book the Donatello again.

Room Tip: I think that as this is a city hotel most of the rooms are going to experience some outside noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights while I attended a weekend conference at the Moscone Center. The hotel is one block from Union Square-so convenient. The modern king bed room was very spacious, especially by SF standards. In addition to a really comfortable bed, we had a sleeper sofa sitting area, a small kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, dishes and cutlery, a separate dressing area with a full size dresser bureau and a modern bathroom with a TV embedded in the mirror over the sink! And free wifi with a great signal.

The service was exceptional. From my phone calls preceding my stay to checkout. On our first night (Friday) we could hear a significant amount of noise from the nightclub across the street. It lasted probably until 3 am, and then around 5 am we could hear the sound of glass breaking as the staff cleaned up and put garbage on the sidewalk. I asked the night auditor if anything could be done and by 9:30 am, Jesus at the front desk informed us that he could move us down the hall away from the nightclub. He explained the various options for us (which sides were quieter etc) and made a great recommendation.

While we were out of the room, the bell staff (a different Jesus) moved all of our things to the new room 817. He moved our suitcases, our hanging clothes, and didn't forget to bring our refrigerated drinks!

I would recommend asking for an odd numbered room (they don't face the street) and the larger the number, the further they are from the nightclub. However, the nightclub only is bad on weekend nights so if you are visiting during the weekdays, it's not an issue.

The very top floor is the Club Floor which houses a roof terrace, health club, whirlpool, and serves coffee, tea and hot chocolate free most hours of the day. It is open to all guests at no charge. There is also an afternoon offering but we didn't go.

The Donatello is clean, modern, spacious, convenient and a great value! I got a great deal in their Black Friday sale but they offer other online specials as well. I had stayed here a few years ago and that's why I returned. And now I will return again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Donatello and it was a good stay. The hotel is in a good location and the rooms and facilities are good. We did get quite a bit of noise from the road outside at night, due to roadworks, but that's hardly the hotel's fault. The shower in our room didn't get very hot and we did have some issues at check-in related to the name on the booking (we still don't know how that happened) but we would stay here again, I'm sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has really everything, what you are looking for. The hotel room is very big with a great mirror, a sofa, hughe and confortable bed, nice tv, enough room space, hairdryer. Free wifi is also included. You are just 3 min. Away from the famous union square. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel, there are some very good restaurant around the hotel (vis à vis from jack in the box). Definitly recommend the hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.