We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, only a block from Union Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Donatello Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Donatello Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #16 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, only a block from Union Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at The Donatello in February 2013, my 11-year old daughter and I arrived in the evening of the celebrations of the Chinese New Year, lots of happenings in town, parade was just outside the hotel. The location of The Donatello is superb, everything is right on your doorstep; shops, restaurants, coffee places, it's only a minute walk and you are on Powell street, where the cable cars are running, as well as public buses.
Union Square is just a block away.
We loved our spacious and comfortable room, very comfy bed, and fun to see a TV in our bathroom! Great to have a small kitchenette, too, with both a fridge and a microwave.
On the Club-floor/top-floor, we enjoyed making hot chocolate/coffee, and the Concierge Team up there are really friendly&helpful, with lots of knowledge and expertise about SF and surroundings!
It's nice to be able to relax in the Club-lounge on the Top Floor, in front of the cosy fire, with daily newspapers or a good book.
It was also nice to always feel welcomed with a smile, whenever we returned back to the hotel.
Although I think the person who checked us in, perhaps didn't have a great day, however, it didn't spoil anything for us.
The Bell Team in the lobbyarea was also so helpful upon check-out, and reacted promptly when our prebooked airport-pickup never arrived. They made some calls and helped us so that we would arrive the airport well in time.
I would definitely return to The Donatello on my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,118
    659
    95
    29
    14
See reviews for
449
922
91
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent 4 nights here and was very pleased with the service , size of room and most important ,,,location.
Check in was a breeze, and desk staff were helpful with directions and recommendations.Room with king size bed was spacious with plenty of room for luggage and tv in bathroom a bonus. The location was 10-15min walk to Union square (check out Cheese Cake Factory above Macy`s) and there were plenty of places to eat nearby.
As a smaller boutique hotel I would recommend. At under $200 a night we were very happy!

Room Tip: Ask for room high floor , some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We live fairly close to San Francisco but wanted to spend a night in the city and see some tourist attractions with our kids. We arrived around noon and were pleased to find that our room was ready. Our room had a king size bed and a sectional sofa that they made up into a (queen size?) bed. I liked that there were outlets in the middle of the bed/couch, perfect for charging phones/electronics. There was a small kitchen area with a sink, fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was a huge hit as there is a TV built into the mirror (the other TV is a flat screen built into the wall in the bedroom area). The room was spacious, and I liked the dresser and bench in the entry area. There is also a large floor length mirror with a plug below it; someone obviously understands the need for two people to get ready at the same time.

The two biggest downsides were the shower--the lever you pull up to take a shower was extremely hard to use and the spigot was loose, so obviously this has been a problem for other people. The other issue was the lack of sound proofing--both my daughter and I were woken up multiple times by someone sorting glass bottles and other noises that sounded like a window was wide open (there was no opening at all).

The location is great and just a block from Union Square, with plenty of shopping and eating nearby. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 12 days in San Francisco in January and stayed at the Donatello, it was absolutely fantastic. The location was brilliant, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms on Mason rather than Post Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo,CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent two nights February 24th and 25th 2013 at the Club Donatello and was very surprised and pleased with the hotel in the following areas.
LOCATION: 501 Post Street at Mason 2 blocks from Union Square. Many choices for locally excellent restaurants for dinner, with Farallon just down the streeet. Also great choices for breakfast, including Sears, not the department store, but a well know local insitution that takes breakfast seriously. You even get the chance to pull the slot machine lever for a free meal.
PARKING: Located within the hotel property at $28 overnite fee. Cheaper than most anyone else. Easy in and easy out.
ROOMS: Knig bed rooms on the upper floors are very neat with lots of room and turn down service. For a Sunday and Monday night I had a rate of $200/night.
FACILITIES: Club Donatello has a restaurant for lunch and dinner but I did not eat there so can't say anything about it. On the top floor(14) is the club lounge and exercise room. Very nice
Extremely helpful and accomodating staff.
OVERALL: A lot of value for the money. There are many small boutique hotels in the area. I would consider this before others.

Room Tip: Request the upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed two nights here before moving to another hotel in the area. The bed was comfortable... but the room just didn't feel "clean". And the bathroom had mold on the sink.

Also, we ate in the restaurant one night and the server was extremely rude. Like we were beneath him and his time. It was frustrating. However, we did complain and received a gc to the restaurant, which was nice. And there was a check in girl who was hilariously over nice. She was so friendly and ready to take care of your ever need. I've never seen a customer service person as energetic as her. She was awesome!

Oh and when we first got there, it didn't seem like it was in a good area. However, a few blocks over is a very nice area.... Union Square and the trolley turn around. Just get past that first block!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We were really pleased with the size of our room, the little kitchen space makes a nice extra too. The room was comfortable, spacious, modern and clean. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is well located and in a short walk or trolley/cable car ride of all attractions. I live in a very quiet location so was concerned that the central location of the hotel may mean I found it noisy outside but had no issues at all. Fully recommend you stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donatello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello Hotel

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Donatello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco
The Donatello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.