We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel in the heart of San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Donatello Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Donatello Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel in the heart of San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early November 2012. From the word go we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Up on the rooftop, there is a room offering free tea and coffee. This is a very cosy place to retire to after a hard day's sightseeing. All in all, no complaints whatsoever about what I think is an excellent hotel located just one block from Union Square and the cable cars. It is a $10 taxi ride from the Ferry building where many tours start from. There is also a 24 hour diner a block down Mason Street called the Pinecrest where the food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Can't help you there. I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,107
    647
    95
    29
    13
See reviews for
435
917
91
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights recently at the Donatello. We walked the few blocks to Union Square and then over to the indoor mall, which we found impressive. There were a great selection of small restaurants there. Our room was spacious and overlooked the street. We heard some loud noise from what was apparently a trash truck in the middle of the night and noticeable street noise began about 6 am. The curtains did a good job of blocking the ilght. The room was well equipped as others have noted and the bed was very comfortable. The heating/air conditioning system was quiet and efficient. The staff were helpful. We enjoyed hot chocolate from a machine up on the top floor, where there is a lounge, an exit to the outside with partial views of the city, and a fitness center. I thought the $28 daily parking fee was excessive. The desk clerk told me the hotel did not own the parking structure, which appears physically attached to the hotel. You can call in advance to have your car brought down when leaving; otherwise there may be a wait.

Room Tip: On leaving I was told that one can ask in advance for a room away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at the Club Donatello with a friend in June when I went to San Francisco for a conference. Having arrived for some time, I felt that the pictures on Booking.com didn't do it justice. I was so sorry I missed the Friday Cocktail which is organized for occupants as I left the very morning. My friend attended and she just kept going on and on about how lovely it was and how many nice people she met.The rooms are very spacious and very well kept.
I especially loved the division between the room and coffee/tea deck.
It is within walking distance of Union Square, China Town and many shops.
I absolutely loved my stay at Club Donatello.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed for six nights. Requested upper floor, away from elevator and ice machine and were allocated exactly that - rm 10008. One of the largest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, with an extremely comfortable bed and linens, sofa and footstools, desk and chair, plenty of floor space, plus a wet bar area with fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink, granite countertop and shelving space. Dishware was supplied, along with cutlery, carving knife, wine-bottle opener and dishtowels. At my request, they sent up a toaster to use during our stay.

Made a trip to the Bay St, Trader Joe's our first evening (did it by cable car from Powell, one block from hotel) and stocked up on enough food and booze to take care of breakfasts, snacks and drinks for the week! All liquor and small grocery stores near the hotel are SUPER expensive!

Bathroom was adequate, with good shower pressure and powerful hair-dryer. Small toiletries supplied. No make-up mirror, which would be a welcome addition..........

Heating system with personal temp control, a welcome addition as SF turned rainy and cool during our stay (26th Nov - 2nd Dec).

Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. There was a welcome get-together on the club level on Friday between 4pm-5pm, where the hotel provided cheese and wine and a comedian! (NO time-share spiel) Nice to meet with fellow travellers. Didn't use the restaurant or bar or any of the club level facilities, except for coffee. This hotel was a well-located base for exploring SF.

Only con for me, was the "thin" door with a gap at the bottom - could hear all noise in the corridor at all hours.........other guests plus hotel staff. It's in the centre of the city, so one expects street noise, but that wasn't really a problem, except some sirens in the wee hours.....

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Happy travels! Mags

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Donatello Hotel as part of an Interval exchange over Thanksgiving week. It is just two blocks from Union Square on Post Street. I grew up in SF and the Donatello reminds me of one of the lovely hotels back 'in the day.' It is charming, with an excellent staff who are always trying to provide that little bit of extra assistance. Our accommodations were newly remodeled and very urbanesque. I was surprised at the generous size of the room. For you exchangers out there, this hotel provides daily light housekeeping; something not generally found and very welcome. We had no difficulty finding great restaurants in the area for all meals. We did not eat at the hotel because the menu was not enticing for us. We felt safe in the area at night; however, remember that this is a large metropolitan city and you should always be cautious. Because the area backs up to the Tenderloin, you will definitely get your ration of homeless and other nuisance panhandlers. As a woman, a simple but firm "NO, back up" works just fine. Do try this hotel you will be pleased.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Mason Street where a local nightclub is located (Ruby Skye) and gets very noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Donatello during our honeymoon in July 2012. When we arrived we were upgraded to one of the rooms with a semi-private balcony area and given a bottle of wine. The rooms were contemporary and comfortable. Other than a strike going on down the road, it was not too noisy. The staff was very pleasant and helpful- we were happy they did not push a timeshare on us. The location is fantastic-within walking distance to many things, including all the main avenues of transportation. And best of all the price was very reasonable! We couldn't have asked for a better deal. It was perfect for us!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and had a balcony-it was the only floor that had them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Donatello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello Hotel

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Donatello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco
The Donatello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.