We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon Accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Donatello to your Saves list
The Donatello
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #21 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Honeymoon Accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Donatello during our honeymoon in July 2012. When we arrived we were upgraded to one of the rooms with a semi-private balcony area and given a bottle of wine. The rooms were contemporary and comfortable. Other than a strike going on down the road, it was not too noisy. The staff was very pleasant and helpful- we were happy they did not push a timeshare on us. The location is fantastic-within walking distance to many things, including all the main avenues of transportation. And best of all the price was very reasonable! We couldn't have asked for a better deal. It was perfect for us!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and had a balcony-it was the only floor that had them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    734
    111
    35
    17
See reviews for
482
1,024
97
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Our room was excellent, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location, just one block from Union Square is perfect as a base to see all of San Francisco. I would recommend this hotel highly

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I lost my bag at the airport and required help to retrieve it. The staff at the donatello went out of their way to help me retrieve it by making phone calls and E mailing the air line for me. Apart from the helpfulness of the staff, the accomodation was excellent. The bed was the largest and most comfortable we have ever slept in, the room was large and quiet, the kitchenette had a microwave and a fridge, and the location was one block from union square. We will stay here again next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the Donatello on Thanksgiving Weekend with two kids ages 14 and 16. The location is excellent and within walking distance to Van Ness, China Town, and North Beach.

The rooms are spacious and modern. The amenities are medium quality. This is not a luxury hotel and their is no room service. The lobby and elevator are in line with a 3-4 star property. I would recommend the hotel for families and those opting for great location. The price is right and we were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the street side and were given an odd numbered room. The room was well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel was just great: central location, wonderful (clean, modern facilities), great architectural design. LOVED the fact that there was a kitchenette as well as terrace. And very affordable. Definitely hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
544 helpful votes 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked the Donatello for four nights purely on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews. What a great decision! Hotel check in was friendly, professional and reassuring. On entering the room we were very pleased. It was spacious, modern and comfortable in all respects. The Donatello is not one of those high end over the top places but simply quality, comfort and in a brilliant location.
We were on the ninth floor at the far end away from the notorious nightclub. We did hear some noise between 2am and 3am on the Friday and Saturday nights but compared to the benefits, it was a small niggle.
A very comfortable bed, lots of storage space, spacious bathroom with built in TV, fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities all added to the comfort of our stay. The addition of a kettle would be beneficial but we used the microwave instead to boil water for our morning tea - very British!!
The Club Lounge for coffee, tea and hot chocolate was comfortable and easily accessible.
The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect being a few minutes walk from Union Square and a very short walk to the Cable Car to Fisherman's Wharf.
I booked well in advance through the hotel's website and got a reasonable rate and for what the Donatello offered we felt we had good value for money.
A few other points of note - I booked a 3 day Munipass (21 dollars a person) for transport in the city and it was great value, particularly if you want to ride the Cable cars regularly as we did.
Book an evening at Biscuit and Blues, literally 30 seconds from the hotel for a different dining experience and try to head to Sausalito to gain a great view of San Francisco from across the water.
I wouldn't hesitate in returning to the Donatello if visiting San Francisco again. it is highly recommended if you are after location, comfort and a great introduction to the City.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor and ask for a quiet room as far away from the night club as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.