We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of USA Hostels San Francisco

Save Saved
You added USA Hostels San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
USA Hostels San Francisco
711 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hostel after two friends recommended it to me. I wasn't disappointed. It was very clean, small dorm with only four people so quiet at night. Nice breakfast. Got upgraded for free to an ensuite dorm:) Clean dorm with big lockers and I liked the little "wall" on each bed with a little led light and two plugs. Good bathroom too. Good wifi, nice and helpfull staff and excellent location 5' walk from Union Square. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer as the hostel was booked out!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet dorm and was given one at the end of a small corridor. It was rather quiet at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    203
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
74
146
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here many times. This time, I believe, was the best. Price is right. Many free activities offered. Centrally located to Union square and public transportation. I felt safe. Place is clean. Staff is very helpful. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is very nice. Every day they have an idea for you: Pub Crawl, Karaoke night.
The location is perfect: really near from Union Square and all the public transportation.
I really recomend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and prompt. The breakfast was pretty good especially for the price per night. San Fran is just expensive and this hostel is a nice place to save money and is comfortable. It was secure and seemed safe and clean. They supply bed linens, pillow, and a towel. It was somewhat noisy the first night, but the second night I only woke up once because the roomie was talking on the phone for less than a min in the middle of the night. But they were very nice and respectful and apologized for waking me up. Heck, i've stayed at nice hotels and had to deal with noisy neighbors in the hall and through the walls. The staff supplies ear plugs that help especially if you are not used to a hostel experience as I am. Overall, only for the value, location, price, and quality... I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are quieter. You can select NON economy and that is apparently a less noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I slept in a quiet 4 person dorm and find the accommodations quite suitable for the price. The location is fantastic. For those worrying about the sketchiness of the neighborhood: only a few blocks south really had problems. During my stay I never felt unsafe, though other travelers may be more squeamish.

The daily activities were nice. A free walking tour and nightly drinks/ activities were unexpected and great fun to meet new people.

The process/breakfast/layout of the building was confusing at first as they did not give much orientation, but it was figured out quickly. Breakfast is nothing special, but they have everything you need. It is better than one would expect at a motel.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel for anybody who wants to be located in the city center for a good price and wants to meet new people. My roommates were very nice (though they did wake me up a few times).

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice staff. Clean room. Clever beds with privacy pod and charging points in locker and bed area. Polite and helpful staff. Good hostel... if a little expensive (but I think that's just San Fran). Good location too.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the central atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean hostel, good location, lots of organised events. The bunk beds were comfy and felt like you had a lot more privacy as they are slightly enclosed. The room was quite noisy as it was on the main street, which made it slightly more difficult bro get to sleep, but the hostel itself was not noisy. The dorm had a hairdryer and sink which was handy, as well as good sized lockers with power outlets inside. Breakfast in the morning was also very good, and you were able to make your own pancakes

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Address: 711 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with free coffee/tea all day. The hostel hosts daily free activities and offers discounted tours. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USA Hostels San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.