We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USA Hostels San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added USA Hostels San Francisco to your Saves list
USA Hostels San Francisco
711 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My sister and i stayed in this hostel for a week in December 2012 - our first hostel experience. It is in a great location close to shops and public transport. The free breakfast was great to full up on for the day. We had no problems with the wifi and would highly recommend this hostel as a place to stay in SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    243
    55
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
84
175
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I gave this Hostel a below average score mostly due to its lack of cleanliness. When staying in accomodation, whether hotel/hostel, the most important feature for me is cleanliness.

THE GOOD:
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The Location was great, 10min walk from Union Square

THE NOT-SO-GOOD:
The WiFi wasn't great but it worked, but it worked at least.
The room was beyond cosy, it was tiny.
Very little privacy, our window overlooked another room, I could have touched them.

THE BAD:
The Breakfast is crap! They state free breakfast. However, you'll get half a banana and some bread. Oh and some dodgy coffee. Good luck on that lasting you the day walking the city.
The worst feature by far was the SMELL. There was a terrible smell of urine throughout the hostel, for the entire week we stayed. The only place that didn’t smell was our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hostel is a good price, and the staff are very nice and helpful. Having stayed in the USA Hostels in Hollywood and San Diego, I decided to stay here, but it didn't have the same feel. The guests were not as friendly in general, and the communal areas were not great. The noise was unbearable at night (I think it was the positioning of my room). It was a let down in comparison to the other USA Hostels I'd visited, but was decent enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Eventhough there is a communal area in the lobby, it doesnt feel very welcoming, its uncofortomable to sit or to meet people there.Also, I got the feeling during breakfast that many were not interested in making friends and were there only to sleep. I've learned later that indeed, because accommodation is so expensive in SF, people of all ages stay there if they are travelling for work/gatherings/courses. Thankfully, the do organise pub-crawls twice a week, which is a good way to meet people.
Also, I've noticed that there are a lot of drunk people hanging out outside the hostel. I've actually twice seen someone falling or passing out outside the entrance. However, you cant beat the location for that price. Its so close to the main shopping area, to the cable cars, metro etc. Also, the rooms are quiet nice, but nothing fancy ofcourse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here over new year and the hostel staff put on a great party with FREE wine and beer, then took us all down to watch the fireworks. The rooms were tidy, and very warm (a little too hot at time). I was in a budget room, and I didn't really notice any noise, and their was a bathroom right outside my room. The staff were extra friendly, and helped when ever I had a question for them. I was very happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in a private room with an ensuite for four nights in January. We didn't expect much for the price and neither of us had stayed in a hostel before so we didn't know what we were in for. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was modern & clean. Towels & linen were provided and our room was cleaned daily. Breakfast was included. Bagels, toast, fruit & coffee. You also had the option to cook pancakes if you liked. The room was smaller than the average hotel room, but that didn't bother us. The staff were all friendly and quite young. There were plenty of social things to do if you wished, but it wasn't at all forced or overwhelming. Lots of great places to eat around the area and the hotel is located only a short stroll from Union Square.

Great if your on a budget & only want a place to sleep & shower!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed two nights there. Too noisy in the night! Up to 3:00am there were people talking loudly in the lobby or somewhere! I nearly couldn't sleep during two nights!
Facilities are very old, very old elevator I had never seen before! And breakfast was poor!
I have lived hostels in Chicago, Seattle. I really had extremly bad experiences staying in this one!
Good things: price! And employees were friendly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Address: 711 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with free coffee/tea all day. The hostel hosts daily free activities and offers discounted tours. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USA Hostels San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.