We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Motel
Save
You added Star Motel to your Saves list
1727 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

If you are looking for a clean, safe, friendly front desk place at a great rate, this is the place to stay. We have stayed here numerous times and have never had a problem. Parking is free which is a $50 savings alone. Easy online reservations and close proximity to the the wharf area. Ballpark is a short cab ride away. Its no Fairmont but if a decent hotel at a dirt bottom price is your goal, this is it.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

easy friendly check in, paid about $90.00 + tax for the room which was very small but clean and updated.
My big mistake was not waiting for a room away from the street, the noise was terrible. These rooms should be sold at a discounted rate.
Free internet was nice as I was on a brief business trip and needed to spend time doing email before my meeting.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

We booked a room with king bed on their website. However, when we checked in, they gave us a queen bed. We went arguing with the person at the checkin counter, he said according to his computer, that's the room assigned to us. Even though the price shown in his computer is exactly the price for king bed on their website, he refused to change the room for us and told us if we want to change to king bed, we have to pay more. Since we don't want to pay more, we stay in the same room.

When we checked out, we said since we were staying in the queen bed room, we shall only pay the price for queen bed. Still, the person insisted that we have to pay the price shown on his computer (the price for king bed) and we have to call the manager for the adjustment when the manager come back a few days later.

So, please be careful. Their website is a cheat! And their personnel is not helpful.

  • Liked — very close to the shore and stores
  • Disliked — too close to a major road. noisy.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladensburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

This is a great location for the price, but be sure you're in shape to do some walking. Everything is close, if you consider 8-10 blocks of up and down close, but this is San Francisco.

There is some street noise in the front, which can be overcome by running the in-room fan.

Rooms were very clean, they have in-room coffee and donuts to get you started on your heavy walking.

WIFI was hit and miss.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — WIFI
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

You get what you pay for. Great reception, room OK - clean and tidy. Make sure you book a room near the back of the motel as the front could be noisy being on a busy road. Breakfast is pastry's (fresh) and orange juice which you go down to reception and eat sat on a chair in reception - but for the price this is a great way to start the day. Busy road. But Ok to get to tourist attractions.

  • Liked — Cheap and affordable
  • Disliked — Busy road
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room at the back - away from busy road
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

This little motel is modest and very clean. We stayed here for 5 days. The motel is located on Lombard Street, just 6 blocks away from the crooked part. You can walk to Fisherman's Wharf in about :15. Of the many positives, I would have to say that their BEST attraction is that they offer free parking to overnight guests. The majority of the hotels and motels we researched charged anywhere from $15-$30 a night just to park your car in their parking lot! With parking in San Francisco being difficult to find, we felt this was an amazing plus.
There are two great shopping districts within walking distance. One to the west of the motel and the other to the east. The area isn't ritzy and has a ton of motels, but if you're looking for low price with cleanliness this is your place. Also, the customer service was outstanding and the housekeepers did an EXCELLENT job at keeping our room extremely clean.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — neighborhood was slightly shady
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

We have stayed at the Star Motel on at least 6 different trips to San Francisco. It is located in a good neighborhood (felt safe walking around with young daughter at night). The staff is always friendly and helpful. Rooms are always clean & the shower feels like a nice massage after walking around all day.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Address: 1727 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Star Motel San Francisco
Star Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.