We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save
Ranked #71 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Hotel location is right in the middle of tons of things to do. If you are in town for pleasure or business this place will fit you. decor is updated but still old school...Employees are top-notch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear DBADCK:

I appreciate your comment!

Our location, decor and staff - you are absolutely right!

Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    669
    368
    145
    112
See reviews for
288
731
113
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MINNEAPOLIS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown SF right by Union Square. The decor is classic with a contemporary flair. Rooms are very comfortable too. But the staff is phenomenal! The employees made me feel like I was staying at a friend's house. They were super helpful and were sincerely engaged in my activities. I have never stayed at a hotel that made me feel so welcome. Make sure you take advantage of the vouchers that are given to be "green". And if you get up early enough, they have a few free bike rental vouchers that they can give you too!!!

Room Tip: There is a nightclub attached, so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Kim K:

As much as I enjoy the guest comments on our facility and location, it makes me proud to hear the comment on our staff!

I am glad to know that they made you feel warm and welcome.

Hope you'll visit us soon.

Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have stayed at many different hotels in San Francisco with this being one of the more beautiful ones. We love historic hotels with character and this one did not disappoint. And if you love old hotels, you know that the rooms will be small (Historic Queen). Bed was very comfortable. Booked through hotels.com which advised free wireless internet. We used the internet and ended up with a charge to our room, it was quickly corrected at the front desk without any issues. Location is great, close to many things. There is even a cable car stop directly outside the hotel. Only problem is trying to get on a cable car due to its popularity! Don't be shy of walking, the hills are a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear moovstr:

I'm glad to hear that our staff was able to adjust off your charge.

Yes, SF is known for its endless hills, but it is also very walk-able to most places you want to visit, especially from our hotel.

Hope you'll visit us soon.

Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile


Very nice hotel, wonderfull architecture inside. Friendly staff at reception. Loved the 'do not service room and get a 10$ voucher for use in the hotel' (don't forget to put the sign before 2am): this gets you a free glass of nice wine :-). Rooms can be very noisy because of neighbours (1st night we had a couple with a small child next door...). If your room includes breakfast, do not fall for the 'upgrade trap': the voucher equals 10$, but when taking anything else than the standard 2 choices of breakfast (that include coffee and orange juice) you end up paying for coffee and orange juice (an extra 7$) on your bill, which made the breakfast a bit hard to digest... Strange layout with the bathroom sink in the room and not in the bathroom. Next time I would stay here again, no problem!
Cannot really rate value as it was part of our whole package, but I would not pay the full price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Dany_C_71:

I appreciate your review!

Thanks for taking advantage of our "green" program by opting out the daily housekeeping service!

See you back at the Drake soon!

Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, it is refurbished in keeping the era it was built in, the lobby whilst sipping a Martini at "bar" makes you feel like Frank Sinatra might walk in , The Starlight Room Brunch and Show at the top of the hotel was exceptional , we ate in the Restaurant attached to our Hotel more than once , it was called Scala's., The food was Old Italian, Delicious ,Service was impeccable.
Location was great ,Cable car stopped outside " THe Drake"
Prefect Weather!

Room Tip: HIgher Floor if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Clarence B:

I appreciate your review. You are right, our complete renovation in 2011 added an unique charm to our historical building that was built in 1928!

Thank you for stopping by our restaurant, Scala's Bistro and a Sunday brunch at the Starlight Lounge!

Hope to welcome you back at the Drake in the near future!

Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ynys mon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for five nights, the room was clean with plenty of storage room. Having a safe in the room was very handy and the vouchers we received in place of room service is a nice touch. We used ours having an excellent breakfast in the restaurant. Coffee/tea in the foyer every morning made up for none in the room. Excellent location for the Bart from the airport and also for getting around S.F. All in all we had a good stay and would use this hotel again if we ever came back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Ollie65:

Thank you for staying with us!

Your review on tripadvisor is very much appreciated!

See you soon at the Drake.

Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for a few days with my wife for the Dreamforce conference. The hotel is beautiful as soon as you walk in onto the red carpet, with the rich splashes of cherry, black, gold and silver. The pictures on their website do it justice.

All of the staff were friendly and down to earth from the moment we arrived until we left. The doormen, front desk, concierge, bartenders - all were just very friendly and great to talk to.

I think we were in a "Classic" room with 2 full beds. The room was much bigger than what we expected based on the pictures on their website. There was lots of room to move around and lay our luggage out. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in! The room also had a large desk for working and a big full size mirror. The bathroom was small, but it was very clean and stylish. Our windows overlooked the roof and walls of the hotel so we did not have a good view.

We went to the bar in the lobby as well as the starlight room, which is a restaurant / nightclub. The bartenders in the lobby were very, very good and friendly. The starlight room was on the 21st floor and provided a stunning view of the city at night. It was a good nightclub scene for the young professional.

The location was walking distance to major shopping and dining, including Chinatown and Fisherman's Warf if you're up for a nice walk through the city. There were lots of good restaurants and major stores within 1 - 3 blocks.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear rycornell:

Thanks for posting a detailed review on your recent stay with us!

I'm glad to learn that you enjoyed our staff, service, the facility, not to mention sounds like you took a full advantage of our location!

Hope to see you back at the Drake soon!

Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.