We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room at breakfast!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Sussex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No room at breakfast!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

It is extraordinary that a hotel that has hundreds of rooms only has seating for about
50 people at breakfast time. Each morning we had to queue before a table became
available. CRAZY. I felt very sorry for the poor lady who was checking people in each
day because she was getting so much grief from disgruntled customers every day.
Very goodo location and the beds were very cosy. I'm glad we picked up our car as
we left San Francisco - parking at this hotel is grossly expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Dear Lajoux, thank you for your recent review of our hotel and your 4-star rating for cleanliness and our location. I do apologize there were some delays getting seated for breakfast on the days you were with us, however we experienced an extraordinarily busy October where some in-house groups made the decision to not include catered breakfast in their seminar programs, adding to the queue for our breakfast cafe. This was out of the ordinary for us and since then our business levels have returned to normal with minimal waits. I was pleased you found our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed to be cosy and hope you will consider returning soon. Thanks again for your comments and best wishes for the upcomiing holiday season. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    1,139
    708
    249
    129
See reviews for
708
981
83
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The staff at the Sheraton were very friendly and helpful with information about leisure activities and tourist attractions. The room was well appointed, but a bit crowded for 2 double beds. Facilities were very good and the front office manager (Ricardo, I think) was obliging with a late check out. Had a wonderful time in SF and would definitely recommend the Sheraton.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Dear RaviR10, thank you for your recent review of our hotel and for the 4-star overall rating and 5-star review of our cleanliness, service and sleep quality. I was pleased to see you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful and we were able to assist with your late check-out request. Thanks again for visiting and we hope to see you soon. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

the sheraton s of my youth had class ; to serve coffe in stirofoam and serving a delicious chicken salad with plastic fork and knife and paper glass in bathroom does not show class
the goodthing about that hotel is their outside lobby with fire

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear Miclo, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I just wanted to clarify that we only package coffee and salads in to-go containers for menu selections purchased from our lobby kiosk as it is a grab-and-go operation. In our guest rooms we do offer paper coffee cups in addition to ceramic mugs as an envronmentally-friendly addition and in case our guests prefer to take their in-room coffee with them. Thank you for the 5-star rating on our hotel cleanliness and we hope you consider us again on your next trip to San Francisco. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

my husband and i stayed here for a long weekend over the canadian thanksgiving weekend. it was his birthday weekend, so we thought a nice getaway to the US would be nice. we usually go to vegas, so thought we would try somewhere else, and got a great deal on airfare from calgary. we booked three nights at the sheraton online on their website and got a great deal. matthew (the night manager) helped us arrange a car service to pick us up at the airport and take us back. this was great, and didnt cost us much more than a taxi would. this hotel is in a great location, a block from pier 39 and there is a safeway across the street!!

our flight got in at 8:30am, so we were at the hotel by about 9:30am, thinking we wouldnt get a room yet, but were suprised that they had one available! this was the thursday that fleet week started. so we got checked in, found our room on the 4th floor and got settled. the decor is great! the one downside, is yes, you can hear the street noise from outside, but it isn't terrible.

the lounge downstairs has a few nice food options, but is a little pricey. on thing that was very annoying was the fire pits outside. my husband and i waited around for an hour one night trying to get one (we tried other nights too, but one night we did wait an hour) and they were always occupied by the same people every night, and they were always sitting there smoking cigarette after cigarette. we thought it would be nice and romantic to sit out there and have a drink, but the smokers always for first dibs, and sat there for hours on end.

all in all, great hotel, amazing location and great service. would absolutely stay again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Dear AlmostMrsCook, thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. I was pleased to see you rated us 4-star overall and 5-star on our rooms, cleanliness and service. A very happy birthday to your husband and we are pleased you decided to stay with us over this very special occasion! I appreciate your kind comments. Come back often and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We had a road trip with a group of friends and had to stay two nights in Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We had luggage for four people in the car. When we arrived and started unloading the car, the doorman just looked at us and did not offer any help. After struggling for a few minutes we asked him to help us. He just looked at as and said that we can manage on our own. Finally we got a cart ,
put our luggage on it and went to reception to check in. While we waited for the rooms we stopped at the bar in the lobby to get drinks. The bar-woman was using her bare hands to put cherries and lime into the drinks. So we decided not to get drinks. When we finally got to the rooms the street noise was so loud that we could not hear the TV. We just moved out to Best Western accross the street where we had a vary pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear MyRoad, I was very distressed to read of your disappointment with your recent stay at our hotel. We take pride in the outstanding services we offer and I was alarmed to read your comments regarding your less than stellar arrival experience. We have already met with our staff to insure such an experience is never repeated. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention and we hope you will consider us again on your next visit to our fair city. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

A group of friends were celebrating our 40th anniversary with a motorcycle trip to California from Iowa. We flew into San Francisco on the Saturday of "fleet week"...people everywhere. I had made reservations back in May and misspelled some on my friends last names. The front desk and the manager (Matt I think) got everything straightened out by the time I got back from the airport with the second group of friends. They did a great job of making us feel comfortable and welcome.

I had not stayed at this Sheraton for a couple years; since the remodel. Everything is very nicely done in sort of a modern California chic, not my style but nice and newish. The outdoor seating area was appreciated by the smokers in the group. The area is by the drive through, it is sheltered from the wind and has gas fire pits. Every nice area to chat over a glass of wine. The hotel's location is great, just a couple of short blocks to the wharf and across the street from a Safeway grocery store.

Unfortunately we were not there long since we got in late and had to pick the motorcycles up early the next day. This hotel is a great location to enjoy the wharf and San Francisco from for a couple days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear Jim682, thank you for posting such kind comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to see we rated 5-star across the board and you enjoyed your time in San Francisco over this very special anniversary. Fleet Week is a great event for our city as is an opporunity to show off our picturesque bayside location. I will pass on your thanks to Matthew at our Front Desk for his assistance on your arrival. Best wishes for another 40 years, visit often and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We travelled from Australia to the US in March for our honeymoon. The service and hotels we stayed in - Santa Monica, Monterey and Vegas were without fault and had exceptional service. The Sheraton at Fisherman's Wharf was a completely different story. Our room had no air conditioning, street noise around the clock from a bus depot, very expensive food and beverage prices for ordinary offerings and staff that while pleasant didn't really want to help any customers. The car parking cost is also a rude suprise. We loved the location and loved San Fransisco. As a hotel manager myself in Australia and knowing Sheraton's reputation they should be ashamed of that hotel and of the manager in charge. For the money, the worst hotel I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear JasEm, my apologies we did not meet your expectations on your last visit to our hotel. All of our guest rooms have air conditioning units, however some rooms have the unit tucked away behind the windowside desk, so possibly it was missed?? So sorry that you found pricing in general to be expensive. Costs in San Francsico are high similar to New York which has a direct relationship to how services are priced. Regardless, I do hope you will consider staying with us again on a future visit. Safe travels and warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.