We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired , expensive hotel in a great location. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tired , expensive hotel in a great location. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed there for a couple of days for a family vacation. The check in was a little awkward. Tried to make it like they were doing me a HUGE favor by letting me check in an hour early. They told me that we could have a cot in the room when we made the reservation. However, at check in we were told it was a fire hazard to have a cot in the room - which left my son sleeping in the floor. Which was made worse by the fact the carpet and bedding was stained and tired. Very cramped room. Plus - it was a good location for sight seeing. Walk to wharf, cable car, Alcatraz boat. Overall it was a very overpriced hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Vacation66,

Where we were glad that you found our location perfect to see all the sights, we regret that your reception experience left something to be desired. Please accept our apologies and assurances that we will make corrective actions to ensure no further issues.

Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    1,120
    699
    247
    128
See reviews for
692
967
83
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our room was overbooked and given to another party, had to wait almost two hours to be transported to another hotel. Rafael needs to be trained in customer service, you do not threaten an upset customer with arrest, you assure him that you are working to rectify the situation. Will not be staying here the next time we travel to the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Location, location!! A nice easy walk to almost everything, bus line, wharf, safeway grocery, trader joe's, etc. The staff was friendly and most helpful giving suggestions and directions. The hotel is indeed dated, but adequate, getting ice is a little jog down the hallway. The place is clean and neat, I felt like we got what we paid for. Sure would have been nice if everything was new and current, but that would have been more $$. We did not find the beds that comfortable, in fact our first bed/room was very uncomfortable, but it was nearest to the check in, up 1/2 flight of stairs. We figured this is a popular and heavily used room, we were moved with out question and very willingly. That bed was slightly more comfortable, but these are queen beds and perhaps the mattresses need to be changed more frequently. Overall, we were pleased enough to go back, while not enough to rave about, except for the location and kind staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear 212463,

Thanks for the 4 star rating and nice comments about your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We are happy that you found our location and staff convenient and accommodating.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location of this Sheraton to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghiradelli Square is great.
Everything is a short walk.
Rooms are well equipped with a coffee maker, hair dryer, flat screen tv and are pretty spacious.
The beds are extremely comfortable.
Lobby can get busy and hectic at times, but had no problems with checking in or out.
We were on the top floor (4th) and every morning were woken up by the street noise down below.....horns, buses...even people talking and shouting. Surprised we were able to so clearly hear these 4 stories up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Anne,

We really appreciated the kind review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. Thanks for pointing out our great location, well equipped and comfortable rooms and efficient front desk staff. Sounds like a good trip here.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. The room was very comfortable and the bed was amazing. I slept like a baby all three nights. The hotel is close to Ghiradelli Square and Pier 39. The decor of the hotel is extremely outdated, but to be honest, I could care less about how the hotel looks as long as it is clean, comfortable, and convenient which this hotel is. The hotel rooms are spread out since it is a large building. You may have a short walk to your room. My room was inside away from the street and very quiet. The biggest down fall is that there was no free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Marshall,

You were very nice to point out how much you enjoyed your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. Thanks for pointing out the clean, comfortable and convenient of our hotel. It is nice to know your stay was great.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have been on a tiring business trip throughout the US and used SFO as a Rest and recoup location at the start & end of our trip. This hotel lacks in so much.
There are no fridges in the rooms
You get exactly 2 bath towels and one hand towel (I use two smaller towels as I have long hair)
The cups in the room are plastic
The walls are paper thin
Our room was incredibly noisy with horns and loud people talking at the arrival zone of the hotel and it echoing up into the room
Apparently children have little decorum here- they all scream run and stomp up and down the corridors
There is no shower gel in the room
The toilet paper is like sand paper
No minibar in the room and the coffee is broken (no tea available either!)
There's no shelf in the bathroom to put your toiletries
The handle on the drawer is bent
There's large scuff marks and paint chips on the bathroom doors

Worst of all I have just found that the bed sheets on our king bed don't even fit the bed! They are not long enough at the foot end and the mattress & mattress protector are showing! Who else's feet have been in this bed like this!

I am an intercontinental member and this was recommended by our travel agent on special but for $300 per night I am absolutely disgusted. Everything is scarce and I don't think that's good enough at that price.


Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are sorry that your stay did not go as expected. We regret that we were not given the opportunity to rectify these issues during your stay. We strive to satisfy all of our Guests and will redouble our efforts now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We booked the first and last night of our trip to Monterey Bay at the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. The location is excellent as there is plenty to keep you occupied in the area. Upon arrival the bellman was at our taxi immediately our luggage was brought inside. The check in process was easy and we were taken to our room. Our room for our first night was tucked up a few stairs from the lobby and sort of looked like it was a last minute addition since things might have been left over from furnishing the rest of the rooms. There were mismatched pieces of art and furniture all over the floors and wall. It was not a good impression. But, the room was clean. The hotel has a modern design and a nice bar area with free wi-fi in the lobby/bar area.

When we checked in, they had two reservations for the same night. But, they told us that they changed the second one to the correct date for our return night a week later. When we arrived the following week, the second room had been booked for August instead of our July date that we had asked for the previous week. But, the front desk agent quickly took care of this with the manager and we were on our way to our room.

I would have given this review a three star rating had it not been for the surprise of being upgraded to a much nicer and much lager room. My four star rating comes from three things: the surprise of the upgrade and the wine and cheese plate that was sent to the room later. But, above all that, there is Stephanie that works at the Bell Desk. When we were tossed across the street by the surly Concierge that refused to help us with a car rental and sent us across the way having felt like we were spanked for asking for his assistance. No car was available, so we were trying to figure out what to do. We had the fortunate good luck of having Stephanie at the Bell Desk assist us with our luggage. She asked if we needed transportation and within five minutes, she called another car company down the street and we not only got a reservation, but she got us upgraded to a convertible too! Thank you Stephanie. Also, there was also another employee at the Bell Desk. A very nice young man that when out of his way to get our bags to our room quickly on our return visit and smiled the entire time. The Concierge staff at this hotel could take lessons from these two exceptional employees. Would, I return, yes. And, I would recommend this hotel. Just double check your check in dates before arrival and do your own homework. I wouldn't rely on the guy at the Concierge desk for any assistance. For management...we checked in around 7pm on the July 22. The guy working the Concierge desk was working with another young woman.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear KeithMay,

It was wonderful of you to share you experiences here about your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We were thrilled to hear that Stephanie from our bell desk took such great extra care of you - as she has for all our Guests for the past 34 years!

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.