We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #109 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
home
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

No clue how this was rated as a 4 star.........more like a Days Inn

Needed to change my dates and was on hold over 1 hr and 45 minutes. Called the hotel from another line, put through to voice mail, called back and finally reached a person who was very helpful for the date changes. Ended up reserving one additional night online and when I called to have the two reservations merged they said they only had a handicapped room, which I said was fine.

Unfortunately, it overlooked a bus parking lot and had a sliding barn type door on the bathroom, which offered no privacy or storage for hygiene items. A lame photo was the only decoration (beds only covered in white sheets/duvet). I felt like I was suffering from visual deprivation. The only thing worse was looking out the window at the buses.

When calling the front desk (from in or out of the hotel) the staff can't hear you because of the excessive noise in the lobby. I suggest calling after 11pm. The concierge tried to be helpful.

I couldn't check out fast enough......had to wait an extra day - ended up at the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental on Nob Hill (surprisingly was less $$) with a great view and lovely room. Nob Hill is not as convenient a location to Fisherman's Wharf, as I was traveling with two teenage girls. I figured if I was going to change rooms, I may as well change to a better hotel. In my experiences I feel the Westin St Francis and Mark Hopkins Intercontinental to be 4 stars and Hyatt Union Square a 3 star.

I had stayed here once before about 15 years ago and remembered it being equally as disappointing, but I thought with two teenagers accompanying me this time that it would be a good idea - WRONG. Some things just don't change.

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the bus parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear travelwmn,

We regret that you did not find our hotel up to your standards. We will redouble our efforts to ensure that each and every Guest is satisfied.

We wish you continued safe and happy travels.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    1,005
    628
    220
    106
See reviews for
629
860
73
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Thanks Sheraton for our one-night stay in Fishermans Wharf. It was exactly what we needed coming from the coast. They helped us book a airport shuttle, get a bite to eat and point us in the right direction. Can't miss the short walk to everything on the piers and great crab and clam chowder. Rooms were good and bed was great. I'd probably compare the room to an upper 3 star hotel but the location and service pushes it to 4 star.

Room Tip: Don't bring a car if you can help it. Heard the parking is quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Nick,

Thanks so much for the excellent review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We were excited that your visit was enjoyable and our rooms and staff made it extra special.

We look forward to your next trip. With so much to see and do in San Francisco, why not plan a littel extra time here?

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of June, bit disappointed in the hotel as looked a bit tired but was clean. Excellent location for fisherman's wharf, only a couple of minutes walk to the front.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sandra,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the cleanliness and location. We are working on several projects here which I am sure you will appreciate.

Come back to see us.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here at the start of a road trip down the Californian Coast. The Sheraton was in a fantastic location near the piers of Fisherman's Wharf with tonnes of restaurants nearby (good as there is no restaurant in the hotel). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with all queries. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The only two downsides for us were that WiFi was only complimentary in the lobby area (leading to a very congested lobby) and that the hotel buffet breakfast was quite expensive (although the quality and choice was good). Would highly recommend for anyone visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Adam,

Thanks so much for the 4 star rating of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. It was nice of you to point out our convenient location, helpful & friendly staff and clean accommodations.

Sounds like a good trip. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

2 adults and 1 9 year old stayed 3 nights.
Room a little small. Decor a little tired. Pool on the small side.
Now the positives - location fantastic. 5 minutes by crutches to the water. Tram, cable car and ferry all 5/10 mins walk.
Staff very kind and knowledgable. They make the place seem better than it probably is.
Recommend for 2/3 nights. Too small for longer.
Thanks to all that work here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear trecynon,

Thanks so much for the 4 star rating and nice comments about your stay with us. It was kind of you to point out our great location and helpful staff.

We eagerly await your next visit to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf, is in the perfect location.

We stayed here after driving from LA. We arrived very late and the staff were very prompt with getting us all checked in and they were very bubbly and welcoming. This was very appreciated as we had just driven through a storm.

We checked into our room and found we had twin beds (oh no), we called down and they organised for us to be moved to a different room with a King bed the next night. Again great service.

What I really loved about this hotel is how close it is to the Wharf. We walked everywhere. It is close enough to be able to walk to the shops on the Wharf and the hotel has some great features with outdoor fire places. This was great when we were waiting for our transfer.

We could have spent much more time in San Fran as it is an amazing city and it is extremely likely we will return to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf.

Oh yes they also sent up a bottle of bubbles and some chocolates to celebrate our engagement.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Nici,

Thanks for the wonderfully nice review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We appreciate you choosing us to celebrate your engagement. It is great to know that it was a fantastic stay and will be back.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is at the core of the fisherman's wharf and you can go to a lot of places on foot.
The room is nice, big and clean.
There is free wifi at the lobby and a swimming pool available(I could use it due to the weather).
Simple, but neat and cozy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Aninha,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. Thanks for pointing out our great location, comfortable rooms and the pool.

Sounds like a nice visit to San Francisco. Please come back soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.